Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
AKG K403 Wired Headphones: Headphone

Reviews of AKG K403 Wired Headphones

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 35 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
05 Nov 2011
first to review
Best in Class- even better

I got my new pair of AKG K 403 day before yesterday and they are better than i expected. Alongwith being portable they provide a great sound output too.

I being a rock music fan, these work great on the genre. The bass id deep which i needed the most. Listening to a Creed or Alterbridge song on it is a must. The experience is really good.

I considered Sennheiser PX 100 II against this product and let me assure you this beats it anyday.

Comfort may be a concern to some, but, to me they are comfortable enough. I spend 1.5-2 hrs in the metro with these headphones on and they are good to me.

Pros- Deep bass, good frequency range, portable, nice sound output, incredible value for money.

Cons- sound leakage(i am fine with it and dont mind sharing my music with others :P)

8 of 10 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
05 Feb 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Great headphones in this price range!

Almost well balanced sound. You'll love these headphones if you prefer flat frequency response while listening to music. (I do, as I'm very much used to listening music on my Sennheiser HD 280 headphones)

Great highs. Lows are heard pretty well and clear, but do not expect bass boom or bass heavy sound. You'll know that lows are there, but they are not overpowering. Mids are decent, and could have been better, especially the low-mids range. But this doesn't break this awesome deal. For the price of INR 850, its got a quite good frequency response. Also these headphones present a great stereo image while listening, which makes for a great listening experience. AKG has put in a good amount of effort in making them sound good. Well done AKG for that! They do live up to the AKG brand name when it comes to sound quality.

They will have a quite different sound from those of in-ear headphones. Do not expect exceptional noise cancellation from the AKG K403. You'll hear quite a good amount of external sounds while listening in a noisy surrounding, unless you crank up the volume to maximum (which is not recommend). But for listening at the desk at home or office or anywhere indoors, the K403 is a great headphone.

And since these have an open back design, quite a good amount of sound leaks out to the person sitting next to you. At near maximum listening levels, the person sitting next to you might easily be able to identify the song you're listening to. Now, this issue of sound leakage is again an individual preference depending on your personal choice or your most common listening environment.

Moreover, I personally like the look of these headphones very much. They might appear a bit flimsy in the first look, but they hold up quite well with rough use. They can be easily folded up and carried around. No carry cover/pouch is included in the box with these, but thats not a big issue in my opinion.

I'll agree that these are definitely the best headphones when it comes to sound quality and a flat frequency response, but for this price (INR 850), its a steal!

As always the product was delivered timely and in a good condition. Great service by Flipkart, yet again.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
28 Jan 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
AKG K403 headphones

Was on lookout for a decent pair of headphones for general use with laptop/mobiles in the Rs1-2K range. Considering over the ear models like Sennheiser HD180, 201, and some IEMs like Senn CX200, Klipsh, JBL, etc. Had to mostly go by customer reviews. Then came across this model listed for about Rs 850.. AKG is reputed headphones brand and reviews were also positive - so decided to just go for it.

Have ordered from Flipkart before, and predictably everything from placing order to delivery went through without a glitch. Scores 5 stars on this front!

After listening to headphones for about a week (require some burn-in) I must say sound quality is fantastic for phones on this side of 1K. Very good instrumental and vocal clarity, decent sound stage, tight bass (but not for bass heads). Tad on brighter side, some may find fatiguing after prolonged use. Comfortable to use at home/outside, but watch out as with any open design headphones - sound is quite audible outside.

I am accustomed to listening to hifi stereo (have a Marantz and MS Aviano setup at home) and don't miss it when listening to these hooked up to my PC.. Would highly recommend this model for those looking for excellent sound quality on a budget.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
03 Jan 2014
AKG K403 Review: 2 Words.. Buy it

It is very hard to find a headphone with this sonic quality at the current price (Rs. 849). I own and use many high end head/earphones including ATH M50, ATH A900x, Fostex T50rp, AKG K240 Sextett. And I am more than happy to recommend the AKG K403.

Pros:
1. Very lightweight and easily transportable.

2. The sound
Lows (Bass): Bass is present, although this is not a bass monster. There is good depth and feel of the drums.

Mids: Vocal sound very nice and clear with very good placement.

Highs: Detailed highs, havent heard any sibilance as yet.

The soundspace is average, although positioning is very good. The headphone handled low bitrate sounds well enough.. loved old Bappi Lahiri numbers through this one.

Cons:
There are very few cons for this headphone.
1. The earpads heat up after listening for a while and might need adjustment to let some air in. The foam cover is the suspect here.

2. The headband can press on the head and make it painful. I managed to extend out the head band and take it through a longer loop to reduce the force of the metal + plastic press on the head.

3. Not really a con (considering the price level).. but I would have liked a pouch to carry the headphones, but considering the quality of the sound, I will not consider this as a con.

Please do get this one if u want to enjoy near Audiophile sound for a very very cheap price. (Equally impressive are the Philips SHE3970/3980 series.) . 5 stars for the quality and price.. Must buy!

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
26 Dec 2013
Listen the way it's intented

Just got my AKG K403 delivered.
Packaging was very good.
Thumbs up flipkart

First thing you will notice is the packing in which the headphone come
The packaging will tell you the premium quality AKG brings with the headphone and why its one of the world renowned company in audio industry.
I had another old AKG K403 which i had bought three years ago for Rs.2999.
Saw the product on flipkart for Rs.849,
i was like buy them all now.

Coming to the product

I had jbl roxy 250,Sennheiser HD 419,and AKG K 518 LE
so i have pretty good reference to headphones in this range.
I have been using K403 for about three years till now and can tell you one thing i haven't heard better in any headphone in my life.

Treble 10/10 :P
mid 9/10
BASS 9/10 (i recommend you to change the stock bushes with less denser one's
then this baby can beat any bass monster )
Comfort 9/10 (because of its light weight design you can wear this for hours )
Durability:(among the headphones i mentioned above it's the last man standing )
Impossible price

Best Bang for Buck
Grab it before stock goes out (i wonder why haven't it caused a havoc)

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
01 Jan 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Near Audiophiles Experience at just Rs. 849/-

I am Lazy...As a result I do not write reviews on Flipkart.
However, these Cans are so good that I had to uncover myself from the blanket and write a review.
Few Audiophile headphones are available in India at low prices...and this is one of them.
At Rs. 849/- you get a near audiophile experience from a brand renowned for its neutral sounding headphones. Lets hear it!!

Pros:
1. Its not Bass Heavy and is a very neutral sounding headphone.
Bass is Tight, Mids and Highs are accurate and Treble has a sparkle to it. Wide Soundstage and good instrument separation.

2. Construction is great!

3. AKG written in BOLD for brand conscious people out there!

4. Wires do not tangle easily and are thick.

5. Fold-able design.

6. PRICE......OMG!!!!

Cons:
1. Being a Open Design, these do leak. I don't care :)

2. The metal band is tight. I have read that they could become uncomfortable after 2-3 hours of continuous listening. I have above average head, to me they seem comfortable.

"Flip" Mates...do yourself some favor in buying these as they are a definite Value for Money at just Rs. 849/-.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
12 Jan 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Strange why these headphones are not so widely available

I usually do not spend time writing these reviews but i just had to type this one. I recently bought an iphone 5s and did lot like the earpods that come with it for music purpose. (Your ears start paining after a while and sound clarity is not rich by my standards) I then started looking out for branded headphones, tried many including Sennheiser (sub 5k range), JBL 88i(specifically designed for apple, Aerial7, Sony XB series (upto their 900 version). Trust me, all of them did everything but impress me. Ok, Sennheiser's voice clarity was good in all models but what about volume??? U cant hear vocals, there's just no volume. Sony's and JBL's are meant only for bass lovers, sound clarity is sub-standard. Then I came across AKG (I did not even know about this brand before but then I read and found out its one of the most respected brands in acoustics) I then found these headphones on flipkart at an unimaginable discount and my experience has been out of this world thus far. Sound clarity, Sound clarity and Sound clarity, expected very well balanced sound from these. Unless you are too fond of extra bass, no other headphone can give this kind of clarity at this price.. Guaranteed!!

The only downside is you don't get a case with the package and because they don't cover your ears, there will be sound leakage. But I really don't care much about that!
Sound clarity boss! Sound clarity!

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
21 Jan 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
The AKG K403 review

After about a week of listening to music on it, I am ambivalent on how to rate this set.
The bass lacks depth and there's not much of a soundstage to speak of. The sound signature is definitely not what i would call exciting but you cannot expect much at this price point. There is a significant amount of sound leakage.

The good news.. This is a pair that you can afford to throw around and not worry about breaking them. They fold up pretty well too and is great in terms of portability. No carrying pouch is included though.

Comfort wise i would rate it 3/5. Wearing it on your ears is not uncomfortable and the metal band expands for a good fit but its not very comfortable left hanging on your neck when you are not listening.

The long and short of it..
If you want better sound quality at roughly the same price and don't mind IEMs, get a pair of EP-630s from Creative.
If you want better sounding on ear headphones, be prepared to pay a couple of grands more.
If you want a pair of headphones for travelling and want it cheap you can't do much worse than this pair.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
20 Apr 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Tight sounds

I was a cheap headphone user before I bought this. The last one broke so I was looking at some other cheap ones and a friend recommended this. I'm glad I chose these. Each and every sound this thing makes, makes you realise what you have been missing all these years with your cheap headphones. There are sounds you never would have heard if you didn't buy these. Aren't really that expensive(999Rs when I bought it). They're worth more than that. The build quality is good. Very compact, I can fold it and it fits in my shorts' pockets. Wires are nice and thick, not too thick. They are uncomfortable if I wear them tightly, hugging my skull, but loosen them a little and I can go on for hours without thinking I have anything on my head.
But the sound is the most important feature. It is just awesome! At this price range it is beyond expectation. I'm not much of an audiophile but I could hear the difference with the first listen.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
27 Nov 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
this is a pricier and premium product available here for an IMPOSSIBLE price !!

I am using it for 1.5 years......actually this headphones used to cost $49 to $75 (around Rs 2200 to 2700 appx) when firstly launched two years ago....after two years the price is now reduced to 999 or 1300 whatever....
Coming to the product---
It delivers Typical AKG ACOUSTICS sound and is Super Clear with neutral BASS
BASS-heads go away becoz u guys do not know what music is called... this is for a true Music lover.... Best performance can be got for Metal,Heavymetals and TRANCE musics.....
Mids are super rich with SPARKLED treble and Very HIGH vocal Fidelity ....\

Treble 9.75/10 (even u can say 10/10 :P)
mid 9/10
BASS 8.5/10 (actually u don't need any more bass with this set ups)
Comfort 7.5/10 (do not fit it tightly...rather loose the adjuster for longer comfortable use)

BUY out guys before it becomes sold out :P

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page1234Next Page
35 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
     AKG K403 Wired Headphones (Black, Over the Head) Price in India: Rs. 1099

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...