Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Asus X55C-SX161D Laptop (3rd Gen PDC/ 2GB/ 500GB/ DOS): Computer

Reviews of Asus X55C-SX161D Laptop (3rd Gen PDC/ 2GB/ 500GB/ DOS)

Have you used this product?

Rate it now.
'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
14 Jun 2013
first to review
Better than 078D for normal use.

I havent bought from flipkart(though i m fan of it) as local store offered same price with EMI offer without credit card..

but this review is for fellow buyers

WHY ASUS?
* cost to feature efficiency
* As old as dell(only 5 years younger, 1989 estb).So good service availability.
* Alltech Lansing speakers which provide high sound with good clarity. No need to buy USB portable speakers.

ABOUT LAPTOP:-
* Glossy finish. clear Display clarity just like HP and samsung and Dell
* Smart gesture keypad
* HD camera. video recording at 640*480 which is good for HQ video calling
* Comparitively slim(only 15.6" models) than other brands in this price range.
* Instant ON in 5 seconds.
** Good battery backup in windows 8. 7 hours on normal office work with minimal brightness. 3-4 hrs on avg brightness watchinng 720p movie.
* No heating issue even after gaming for 3 hours.
* Also installed UBUNTU 13.04. runing v smooth and got 8 hrs back up.
*I run antivirus deep scan (bitdefender), watched 720P video in vlc, 480P youtube video, blogging simutaneously without lagging (Thanx to power gear technology).

SX078D vs SX161D?
* Power efficent than 078D. so goood battery backup.
* 3rd generation dual core.
* But 078D won in gaming. It runs lastest gaming in 720P better than SX161D
* Google search sandybridge vs Ivy bridge and 2nd gen vs 3rd gen for more detailed differences

CONS:-
* Poor gaming. unable to play farcry3 at 720P but smooth in v low resolutions.But played games up to 2010 at 720P smooth.
* Speakers are below.So you have to place lappy so that there should be some space between it and ground.
* Only 2 USB ports, which are adjacent. so unable to manage both USB data card and USB mouse/ pendrive simultaneously. So better buy a slim pendrive along with this lappy.

Conclusion: If you want for all rounder, want good battery backup and not a hardcore gaming fan, blindly go for SX161D. If you are student who plays all the lastest games like CODMW3, FARCRY3,etc @720P go for SX078D. I strongly recommend asus than any other brand in this price range.

Hope my review helpfull

100% of 12 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
09 Aug 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Overly satisfied with the laptop as a tech guy - Explaining reasons

I am using this product for about a month or over.

I would like to mention first that any laptop (Especially, Pentium lower ranges) will perform a lot better if you provide 4GB RAM.

Now,
PROS:

1) 3rd gen PDC, which in this price range is NOT available (3rd gen cpu are having better thermal usages, faster processors and better graphic advantages than 2nd Gen. So if you want to buy post Jul 13, at least buy 3rd Gen as the 4th Gen is already arriving and 2nd will be obsoleted by maximum a year).

2) DDR3 1600 MHz RAM, which you could not found in many other lap till 30K. Most of them provides 1333MHz.

3) Good screen size and resolution, display is better than HP laptop (I own a HP also).

4) Bigger Touch-pad for very ease of use. I haven't seen this much bigger touch-pad in this ranges laptop.

5) Presence of NUMPAD is a big advantage, especially to me who uses numeric keys at 20% times.

6) Speakers are reasonable and louder than usual, audible at quite places or headphone is best.

7) Icecool technology really works, I have used it 7 hrs at a stretch at no heating component I felt.

CONS:

1) The biggest and may be a deal breaker that this has got ONLY ONE RAM SLOT. So, if you want too, you can't put an additional ram but you have to remove the stock one and put a whole 4GB again as new. (1 Star less for this one)

Overall, it's a fantastic deal at 22K. Put a RAM and/or SSD if you want to make it a superfast laptop, otherwise, just deal with it since it's more than a VFM at 22K.

Note: It won't provide any freebies or backpack, but that's ok when you saw the build quality. Also, the glossy surface/fingertip attraction seems no issue to people since I don't fancy it as tab or so.

Thnx for reading, do research a lot before buying, no matter what model you are buying.

5 of 5 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
01 Jul 2013
Good Laptop for the price

Got it from local dealer a week back.
the specifications are
intel HM76 express chipset
DDR3 1600Mhz RAM 2GB
Hitachi hard drive( Travelstar z5k500)
LG DVD writer(HL DT ST GT70N)

I wanted a laptop for programming, browsing and very little gaming, felt this one is perfect.

pros
1.very less heating
2.longer battery life(4 hrs browsing)
3.decent graphics(ok for 720p/1080p playback)

I have installed ubuntu 12.04 LTS

cons
speakers(altec lansing) are not impressive.
hd write speed is less, I'm getting only 40MBps
had to do lot of searching for drivers(linux only)
default lan,wireless,bluetooth drivers provided by ubuntu didn't work

I think this is only laptop around 22000 INR with 1600MHz RAM.
definetly having a better experience with this laptop than my 6yr old pc
if you are not a gamer, this laptop will not disappoint you.

5 of 5 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
09 Sep 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Great in this budget, some minor problems.

I am using this product for more that 2 weeks now. Its works greatly. Here are some points.

Pros.
+ Great build quality for this budget, you wont feel this as a 21k machine.
+ Big touch pad, great for windows 8 as there are many gesture support
+ Screen is good
+ New high graphics games will run smoothly if you turn off anti aliasing and run in medium setting, though fps will not very high, but will not also be very low
+ Battery life is good, it can give you 4 hr backup for normal tasks
+ 1600 MHz RAM with CL 11-11-11-28
+ Laptop stays very cool

Cons.
- Speaker sound is really really low as they are at the bottom
- When using for long time, due to some reason the touchpad sometimes behaves abnormally, when you touch the touchpad, the mouse pointer may jump randomly ar vibrate in its position
- The 2GB RAM is SOLDERED, so you only can use a 1600MHz RAM eith CL 11-11-11-28 with this one. If you want to use different specification RAM that may create problem. I have deducted one star only for this reason. Otherwise its worthy of five star.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
16 Aug 2013
Purchased a Asus X55C-SX161D Laptop (3rd Gen PDC/ 2GB/ 500GB/ DOS)

The laptop is nice, good looks, features are good. But from the second day on the touch pad is not working. I feel there was no quality check.
I will not be able to recommend to any of my friends.
Sorry! But a bad experience.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
19 Jun 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Working fine as of now

Excellent service by flipkart as usual.....

Glossy finish. clear Display clarity...
good features include.....
* HD camera. video recording at 640*480 which is good for HQ video calling
* Comparatively slim
* Instant ON in 5 seconds.
* Good battery backup
* No heating issue at all....

only 2 USB ports provided...but then you can use a USB BUS to meet your needs...

The only problem that i am facing presently is the touchpad has stopped functioning.....not sure if i changed any settings....but i use a wireless mouse generally....

1 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
22 May 2014
Value for Money

I bought this laptop for 19.5k in Sept13. After using it for more than 8 months, I deduce that the laptop is a steal at sub 20k price point.

Pros:
1. The display is great
2. The speakers are loud and clear. Though they are placed at the bottom, they perform best when kept on flat surface.
3. Battery: Lasts 8 hours in ubuntu and less than that on windows8. Though i run it w/o a battery on my desk.
4. Feels sturdy as well
5. Never got overheated even when it ran at full load (two simulators running together)

Cons:

1. Weight might be an issue for travellers.
2. Ram is just 2 gb. I think of upgrading it to 4gb. 6gb would be an overkill.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
21 May 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Extremely good; outstanding!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Very gOOD PRODUCT IN THIS PRICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
05 May 2014
Windows 7

Is windows 7 compatible with this model? If not can u suggest the which will be compatible.... Thanks

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
09 Mar 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Value for money..

I have purchased this laptop from Flipkart. Got the product before time. I ordered different color but i received a different color, which I am fine. battery backup is 4 hours. Its a good laptop within a range of 19000.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page12Next Page
20 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
     Asus X55C-SX161D Laptop (3rd Gen PDC/ 2GB/ 500GB/ DOS) (Black) Price in India: Rs. 22737
Were these reviews helpful?
Yes
No
Thanks for your vote!
Please write your feedback before submitting.

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...