Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
BlackBerry Bold 9900: Mobile

Reviews of BlackBerry Bold 9900

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
12 Jan 2012
Not AS good as it sounds

For someone who's previous phone was the Bold 9780, this is a definite let down. That said, the touch and type is great, the feel of the phone is great too, however the short coming are terribly hard to over look.

1. The battery life is literally non-existent. It last for abt 4-5 hours max on a full charge, I've been reduced to having to charge my phone 3 times a day (The Bold 9780 on the other hand lasted for more than a day on full charge).

2. The Bold 9900 hangs, it doesn't just lag, it just shuts down, you have to actually pull the battery out and stick it back in twice for it to work. The issue isn't the new operating system(My mom has a Curve OS7) it is I think down to the fact that RIM hadn't really considered the way it(the OS) would function with the new Bold.

3. If you do want to buy this phone, wait and hope that BlackBerry rectifies it's glaring errors and short-comings.

93% of 15 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
19 Sep 2011
Definitely packs a punch and a kick too!!

Note-In my family of 4 there is an HTC Desire S, LG optimus black, I-phone 4 n i use a BB bold 9780 along with an ipad-1 n i touch 4th gen.

The point is that I have thouroughly used the best of what each of the top 3 OS out in the market offer.

And i wouldn't sat that BB beats all, but if u remove the usage of game apps from all, then BB humiliates all. Hence I personally use cheaper apple alternatives (i-touch) for all the app drama n also save on a lot of battery which neither android nor ios offers.

Coming to bold 4, it is by far the smartest and the fastest BB in use. Please do not go for older BB bolds any more, as there are lags n pauses which tend to irritate the user.

This beauty offers everything, I wouldn't say camera is top notch, but then again it's a phone and camera is a secondary feature.(PS-it is good enough for putting up DP's all around)

e-mail and security are as good as ever, touch is brilliant and display is excellent, probably coz of the smaller screen size. Pinch & zoom is awesome, not that it's a new thing, but does make it feel smooth. Battery life is a good 14hrs easy and then it'll be down to some 30%, which is another 3-4hrs depending on usage.

I feel a keyboard makes life much easier and Bold 4 keyboard is creamy. Also the lights around the trackpad is nice addition, adding to the glamour quotient. And as a whole the phone is extremely comfortable to hold and operate.

I would give this phone a 4.5/5, only coz of the weak camera and probably a bit expensive by around 5000rs.

And finally guys BlackBerry is a fashion n style statement, if kept on the table besides u, will tend to attract attention. And then there is the evergreen BBM, without which life is impossible.

With this u will surely love what u do and do what u love!!

Go buy it!! ;)

63% of 65 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
21 Nov 2011
Built with trade-offs

Its certainly "the best" smart-phone in the market with a "keypad" on it,... the touch-screen adds to the magic... the form factor is simply awesome...you'll really feel great in holding the phone and you'll feel even better when typing with it...

However, within a month of constant usage you'll start missing the apps or the lack of it..especially if you are used to them in your previous smart-phone(s)... the constant news about RIM going down the drain will depress you even further on why you had to choose this phone and wonder if it has any future at all... you might have to console yourself by just looking at the keyboard and how brilliantly it has been built....

If you have really made up your mind on it, buy it asap... the sooner it is, the lesser your regrets will be(as everyday, there is either a news about a better smartphone or something on RIM falling apart)... all the more, RIM has released a few apps for free download to compensate its customer base on the recent 3-day outage and they will be free only until the end of December...

My personal rating;
OS - 6.5/10
Apps - 3/10
H/W specs - 8.5/10
Keyboard and Form-Factor - 10/10
Price - 4/10 (exorbitantly priced for Indian market)

73% of 15 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
25 Sep 2011
Worst Phone in the Market

This is the worst phone in the market in 30K plus price range. Reasons:
1. The battery sucks: doesn't last more than 4hours on continuous use after a full charge.
2. Creepy OS: Blackberry OS 7 is a 'biiig' flop. It's highly user unfriendly with even simplest controls hidden in layers.
3. Not a smartphone at all: Doesn't suggest last called numbers as u punch numbers in. No 'select all' feature for deleting
media files and documents.My 6000 bucks Samsung star is hell lot smarter than this blackberry crap.
4. No support for Flash: So no online games for you. Time RIM come out of illusion that they are Apple
5. Pathetic Blackberry store: No themes available. NO advance music player is there. No E books exist for this phone.
And for games, Only dinosaur's age Arcade games are there.
6. Erratic trackball (tested that on 4 models)

Verdict: If this phone was priced rs 10K,it'd been a market killer. But at 32K it's the buyer's murderer and plunderer.
I was fool enough to buy this junk, but strongly suggest you to stay away from it. Go for iPhone 4, HTC sensation,
Galaxy S2, -heck even for Nokia, but avoid this trash.

56% of 108 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
16 Nov 2012
Blackberry Bold 9900

If there is anyone who doesnt vouch for this product , he probably doesnt know what a smartphone is all about . I am a user who would endorse this phone , aftr using the cream in the market comaparing it with IPHONE 5 down wards . The battery def needs a check for which I have ordered myself a 3000 mah SEIDIO from he net . I have no regrets now . Blackberry def is coming of age and the company is trying to keep themselves alive . They will be back with a bang and I am sure about it .
One cannot compare the quality that RIM standsby once they make a phone > I have heard people complaining a lot about this phone but i seriously feel u need to take care of a product for it to last on u. MAybe I have become old and have gotten used to this produsct past 6 months but tere is nothing in the market that beats this . All other devices are pure multimedia outlets .

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
03 Sep 2011
Still BB lacking these facility

you cannot send Business Card or Recieve. It does not have call recording facility. Cannot be used for Video Calls. Cost 32K, too much.

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
22 Dec 2012
Worstest Phone and BB Futureless

I have seen a lot of phones. I think BB guys didnt come out of last gen to price this phone a 30K plus. Nokia Ahsa for mere 6000 Rs much better phone than this phone. A total crap phone. What those BB guys were thinking?
A 30K phone at this stage should have minimum Dual core processor and 1 GB RAM and 2000 ma battery. People please open your eyes and see what value you get in return for your 30K before blindly buying. Not hurting anyone'sentiments.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
06 Jul 2012
Hands down, the best BlackBerry ever!

Have owned this mobile for over 1 week now. This is not only the best, but also the sexiest looking BB ever! When BB started with Bold (9000), they made a statement. Large form factor, beautiful keyboard, large screen, it was simply... 'BOLD'. They got awry with the 97xx and 98xx models, but with 9900 they have again made a phone worthy of it's name 'BOLD'.

Where do I begin? The sleek design? Sexy colors? Amazing screen? The best keyboard on any phone yet? Best internet browsing experience on any BB yet? 8GB of internal storage? 768 MB of RAM? The reasons are galore!

The only flipside? Well, the battery lasts only a day of heavy usage on 3G connection.

Although many people feel its a flipside that the camera doesnt have autofocus (RIM had to give up this feature in order to keep the phone thin). Autofocus makes camera slow. For me, its a plus that the camera is without focus. For serious photography I have my Nikon Full Frame camera.

This is indeed priced on the higher side. Fans of Blackberry who want simply the very best, this is your phone!

2 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
24 Dec 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Strictly avoid

Being a big blackberry fan i brought this phone when it was newly launched, this phone was and is the flagship blackberry device. My experience with the phone has been terrible.

Cons:
Terrible battery-life 5-6 hrs
Software Lags (lesser than older model though) - Not expected from a 33k phone!
Overpriced

Pros:
Great touchscreen -Very responsive
Good keyboard - Best in class

This phone has a inherently flawed hardware/software which will brick your phone if you ever happen to forget to charge it, it will give you the dreaded red blinking light and then die a slow death. This means you need to take it to a service center. (My third time in 6 mths). Blackberry really needs to get its act together.

Final thought: While the phone works well when it does, once you hit low battery issues, you will be a frequent visitor to BB Service center's. Link : Google dead blackberry 9900 , its a well known issue now. . .

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
29 Jul 2012
Blackberrybold-9900

I bought this in Aug 2011, and suddenly had a problem with its handset speaker after 10months of use. Can hear only thru speakerphone. And for service had to go to a place 300km away!! No collection point elsewhere. My advice is dont go for this handset paying 30k.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page123Next Page
29 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
     BlackBerry Bold 9900 (Charcoal Black) Price in India: Rs. 11000
Were these reviews helpful?
Yes
No
Thanks for your vote!
Please write your feedback before submitting.

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...