Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Dell Vostro 1540 Ci3/2 GB/500 GB/Linux: Computer

Reviews of Dell Vostro 1540 Ci3/2 GB/500 GB/Linux

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
09 Jun 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Excellent budget laptop

This laptop is a recommended buy for those looking for a entry level budget laptop from Dell.

The laptop came with Ubuntu OS. Not being a big fan, I installed Windows 7 Ultimate right away. Finding the drivers on dell.com/support/drivers/in/en/inbsd1/DriversHome/NeedProductSelection was effortless (another reason to stick around with Dell) and didn't take more than an hour.

The battery back up is decent - 2.5 hours when running on full brightness and playing content on the DVD drive.
The 15.6" screen has excellent viewing angles and the colors look true. The viewing experience as a whole is excellent.

The keyboard and track pad feel very responsive. Some might need the numeric keypad, considering the large screen, but I don't need one. Also, no numeric keypad translates to widely spaced keys, which works great for me.

Plenty of USB slots: 3 ports to connect a USB mouse / pen drive / data card all at once

The first generation i3 processor (380M, 2.54 Ghz) effortlessly meets my daily multitasking requirements. I have Word, Excel, VLC player, Firefox and Chrome open all the time and never faced any performance lag.

The speakers are good and are loud enough.

Here is the Windows Experience Index. The laptop scores fine in all areas, except Graphics where it takes a hit :

Processor : 6.7
Memory : 5.5
Graphics : 3.8
Gaming graphics : 5.1
Primary hard disk : 5.9

This laptop is not for those looking to play high end games. Counter Strike works like a charm, but I wouldn't push it into running Battlefield 3 and expect wonders.

The build quality/feel are alright, but for those who are rather particular about looks, one can get the Inspiron 14R for a few more thousand (but with a smaller screen, of course).
For 27k, one also gets a Dell backpack and 1 year complete cover and onsite service, making the Vostro 1540 the best buy among the lot.

4 of 5 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
08 Apr 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
DELL VOSTRO

Always with Dell so tried VOSTRO. First thing the delivery was just the next day. Installed WIN 7 and then other SW and the system was working great.
Hard Drive size is good. Top cover is good to if one wants to avoid scratches on it from regular usage. Complete Cover warranty is an added advantage.
This is good machine which was bought for in-laws and now may get it for a cousin.

Thanks to flipkart will be with you always for anything i need.

2 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
20 Sep 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Not at all good product.

I purchased this product from Flipkart with complete warranty.But with in one week its right speaker stopped functioning and now both stopped.I called Dell customer care and they informed me that it is because of VLC media player which allows you to play more than 100% volume and they are not ready to replace speakers in warranty period.After checking in Dell community forum I found that this problem is not only faced by me there are some more customers who are facing it.I suggest you to don't go for this product.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
15 Aug 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
You would be contempt

For laptop in range of 25k -29k, this is a good choice.
Bought this one on 11th August and it got delivered on 13th so this does say that the delivery speed is awesome and the way Flipkart wrapped it up was too good! Nice Handle with Care policy!!!
About the laptop

Pros
- The heat vent is at the side so helps by not hurting your lap.
- HD movies play really smooth and look???s cool too!
- Antiglare screen scores as watching movie during the day experience are pleasant. +The Widescreen gives a good experience while watching movie.
- Games like Counter Strike and NFS played smoothly but other games with good Graphics?? Don't even imagine!!
- Comes with Ubuntu 10.10 even though they say DOS
- Web Cam is too cool! 1.3MP makes the images better looking even in low light but for using Skype make sure you have a good Broadband.
- Easy to upgrade RAM to 4 GB with additional slot

Cons
- DVD-R, no dual layer support
- No USB3.0 Port
- Looks are moderate not worth flaunting
- No separate buttons for Wi-Fi

But still I believe that the cons are minor considering the pros!!!
Suggest this for Office goers who at the end of the day want to use a laptop for movie, surfing or playing moderate games like counter strike with friends on Wi-Fi.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
11 Jul 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
A Complete Value for Money

Value for money. A very good configuration for this price. Did a lot of research on which laptop to buy. 3 Choices finally decided on this laptop. Everything about this laptop is good. Good Battery backup. RAM is Ok for the kind of work i do. Lots of space. It comes with Ubantu Installed. Overall a 4.5 out of 5. i would recommend this laptop for a medium user.

Flipkart deliverd this laptop in 2 days and i hats off to their service. Well packed and the bag is apt for this laptop

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
19 Sep 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Awesome laptop!!! Highly recommended for grads who dont want to load there parents pockets much.

Pros:
-Cost
-Anti Glare Screen
-core i3 processor
-15.6 inch screen with super sound system

Cons:
-Low quality keyboard
-no inbuilt mike.
-hard to find wi-fi and graphics driver for win7

I was looking for a good feature laptop below 30000rs range. I had checked for samsung or dell and i finally made my mind for vostro. Flipkart delivery was awesome as usualy within just one day i had my product in hand.

I use to have dell inspiron before and compared to that it had much awesome looks, well impressed with the antiglare screen and it runs all my high end software developement applications without any trouble.Although it just has 2GB, it never hangs up for any reason. Processor speed is way above expectations.
In my opinion this laptop is what an average college guy requires which does load your parents pockets.

I just wished it has some better keyboard quality . Seriously gamers this laptop definately not for you. and a mike to chat.but if u keep these 2 things aside rest all is good... you will never regret have this thats for sure

1 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
24 May 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
great buy

After thorough research , i found this laptop and no wonder its the best on the list and in the range .I am not a heavy user and use laptop for general purpose (browsing ,documentation work and watching movies etc.) and i am pretty much satisfied with its performance and whats better about this range of vostro is its pre-loaded with LINUX based UBUNTU 10.10 and that enhances the performance as compared with the windows based OS.
Pros: -Loaded with UBUNTU Operating System.
-Awesome display
-Customer Support by DELL is the best.

Cons: -Windows Users will certainly get a hit switching from Windows to Linux based platform( but trust me it will be worth investing in after u get acquainted with it)
-Looks aint that great (Vostro has never been known for its looks.)

Rest everything works absolutely fine.

1 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
26 Mar 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
GOOD LAPTOP

I GOT THIS VOSTRO LAPTOP...
I WANTED TO BUY VAIO BUT BOUGHT THIS ONE.. and satisfied..
ITS NICE , SPEEDY , FRONT PANEL IS NICE , RUBBERISH FEEL WHICH PROTECTS IT FROM SCRATCHES..NICE BAG..

BATTERY BACKUP IS ALSO GOOD WITH ABOVE 2.5 HRS

i thought dell should add numeric pad also in this laptop..as its 15.6 screen...

ITS A VERY NICE CONFIGURATION IN VERY VERY GOOD PRICE LEVEL WITH DELL COMPLETE COVER ACCIDENTAL WARRANTY...

1 of 4 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
20 Mar 2012
first to review
Very Nice Product

Got this Laptop in 2 days after placing my order.
I got Linux pre installed in it, although I installed windows 7 ultimate when I received.Got a Nice and Tough dell bag for laptop.

Laptop is pretty fast and has nice battery backup,big hard disk.
This is my first laptop.

1 of 5 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
24 Oct 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Dell Vostro 1540 Ci3/2 GB/500 GB/Linux

Its really amazing experience wid Dell Vostro 1540 Ci3/2 GB/500 GB/Linux its large capacity of hard disk i.e500GB gives more space option to hard disk partition as well as about dell's onsite service is facility,, i really dont have words...............................
Its really amazing product guys.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page123Next Page
24 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
     Dell Vostro 1540 Ci3/2 GB/500 GB/Linux (Grayish Black) Price in India: Rs. 34500

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...