Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Google Nexus 4: Mobile

Reviews of Google Nexus 4

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 792 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
21 May 2013
A complete planned phone

Hi friends

I bought this phone not from Flipkart but my info should help you decide making the right choice.

Cons:
No in built FM
12.3 Gb is all you to get to play around with your files
No micro sd slot
Hard to read under Indian Sunlight
Non user-replaceable battery
Low Light Camera is 6/10

Pros:
10/10 First to get Google updates (Mother of all pros)
10/10 Extreemly fair Pricing
10/10 Excellent Display
10/10 Classy Design
10/10 Very good call quality
10/10 Catches wifi Signal even at relatively long distances
9/10 Battery Backup lasts for a complete day
10/10 Speaker Output
9/10 Music Quality
10/10 Hassle free stream of 1080p HD Movies
10/10 No lags on HD Games
9/10 Voice dialing works without internet/data and understands neutral Indian Accents flawlessly
10/10 Micro USB to HDMI using Slim port TV output is excellent
9/10 360 degrees photo-shot and 180 degrees Panaroma shot very decent
10/10 Swipe keypad for texting..you will love this if you are frequent sms player

You don't need a film star to promote this phone.
People who use it will recommend this to their friends and family.

95% of 160 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
25 May 2013
Worth Every Penny!!

I have been using the Nexus 4 for almost 3 months now, had a cousin buy it in the UK and bring it over and I guess the experience qualifies me to write a review for all potential buyers of this phone. First off, I’d like to say that this phone is EXEMPLARY considering the price you’re getting it at.

Software: The phone has Jelly Bean 4.2.2 which is the latest version of Android, and carries the promise of quick future updates of the succeeding versions (Key Lime Pie 5.0 for example). This is one of its best and most important features, you’ll be at the cutting edge of mobile software (albeit stock), and Google is taking it seriously. This becomes apparent as you use the phone, everything is quite intuitive and the lag that Android used to be blamed for earlier has vanished since the implementation of Project Butter. The user interface looks and feels good in stock mode, and one always has the option to tinker with launchers (I’d suggest Nova Launcher Prime). I have to add some extra bits about the user interface now.

1. Google Now: Excellent concept, but it’s not really efficient in India (as compared to US and UK), nor is it completely responsive to our accent. It’s much better than Siri though in that regard. As more and more information gets based online, this will become better.

2. Keyboard: Google has released its version of the Swype keyboard (it comes inbuilt, you can turn it off if you don’t like it), and it’s WONDERFUL! The prediction software it uses is second to none, it’s almost like the phone reads your mind. You can still type normally with the swipe function turned on, comes in handy when one wants to type in Hindi or any other language.

Engine: The phone comes with a Quad-core 1.5 GHz Krait CPU, 2GB RAM, Adreno 320 GPU and Qualcomm’s Snapdragon S4 Pro chipset. Now this was the benchmark on devices released towards the end of last year, it has since been overtaken by HTC One and Samsung S4 among others. Although the spec sheet looks good on paper, the phone has been known to trail phones like the Samsung S3 and HTC One X+ on certain benchmarks but this has been attributed to those apps not having received updates to utilise Jelly Bean effectively and the fact that Jelly Bean is more taxing on the processor than ICS. But based on usage, this phone functions perfectly and unless you’re into heavy gaming, it will not disappoint you. Hanged once for me while playing F18 Carrier Landing, and that could have been due to some unfixed bug in that game.

Design: Although it’s not exceptionally designed, this is a phone that is pleasing to the eyes and hands. Build quality is really good, much better than Samsung, but not Apple or HTC level. The shiny design on the back is nice, but beware, its glass, and prone to scratches and cracks. The phone has Gorilla Glass 2 up front but a screen guard is advisable. As is a polycarbonate cover for the back, Amzer seems to provide a few choices in India (I’d suggest Spigen or Rearth but I’m not sure if they’re available in India yet, I use a Rearth Rinke Slim, got it from the US).

Camera: The camera I must admit was a bit disappointing. After having used the cameras on iPhone 5 and HTC One X, I was left wanting by the Nexus. True, it has an 8MP camera, but the way it performs could have been better. There is a lag before the picture is taken, unlike the Apple and HTC phones. Don’t get me wrong, the phone takes good pictures (as long as you hold it still and the object you’re clicking stays still). It takes good HDR pictures too. It’s just that it doesn’t live up to its competition.

Battery: This could be a sore point for those of us who’re on 3G plans. On decent to heavy usage, my phone lasts between 6-8 hours on a full charge. But if you switch to using only 2G networks and use it minimally, it can go up to 15 hours on a full charge. When you check your battery status you’ll see that the screen takes up a lot of juice. One way to combat this is to set your brightness low, or put it on Auto. The battery cannot be replaced, and LG claims it has a life of 800 charge cycles.

Other Points:
1. Heating: The phone heats up on sustained usage of intensive apps, towards its top on the back. It does the same on phone calls lasting more than half an hour, can get uncomfortable sometimes.
2. Integration of Google Apps: Maps & Gmail are a breeze to use (sustained use of Navigation will drain your battery though).
3. Memory: You get 12.72 GB of usable space, pretty decent unless you have a huge music collection you have to carry around or if you’re into heavy gaming. You can use Dropbox and Google Drive too.
4. Has replaced my computer for almost all browsing purposes.

Overall, I’m very impressed with this phone and I’d recommend it without blinking an eyelid, because although this phone is not perfect, for that price, this is as close to perfection as it gets!!

94% of 72 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
15 May 2013
first to review
It has warranty - Not fake! Think a little! :/

It has warranty because LG is planning to launch it and its sort of a preorder here! Its LG India warranty dear ignorants!
And as far as the phone is concerned, well it got the awesomeness of AOSP bunched with the best in class processor+GPU and 2GB RAM. Apart from storage, there actually is nothing one can ask from this phone!

77% of 44 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
21 May 2013
Guys this phone is a monster in its category.

Hey fellas,

I've had this phone for a couple of months as i got it from the US. I'm happy that its now available in India (officially :)

Frankly I'm a Apple Loyalist & love my iPhone. But this fone is really really a great buy.

Benefits :

1. The specs that it carries can be easily compared to Samsung's GS3 (which still sells for 28K approx). You can buy this phone without a second thought.

2. As it has pure Android, no layer of custom skin, this fone will be getting all the software updates that Google releases.

3. Screen is 4.7" which is not too big for small hands or not too small for big hands :) It just fits right in your hand.

4. The 8MP rear Cam that it boasts, does really well even in low light conditions (though it has a LED flash). It also has a SphereCamera feature which helps you take 360degree photos. Its pretty addicitve. Trust Me. :)

5. Sound quality is decent as well.

Cons:

There are only two things that pinched me in my heart:

1. No SD Card slot, so not memory extension available. But hey 16Gigs is pretty much large space.

2. You don't get any headphones in the box, so you have to buy it separately. There are decent headphones available on flipkart you may wish to check their listing.

Other than these two, I dont find any flaw. So guys go for it. ;)

Regards,
Vineet S.

81% of 21 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
05 Nov 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Completely misleading offer - Shipped with substandard quality headphones

This was advertised to be shipped with headphones.
Now, Nexus 4 in Inda (Or US or UK) ships without headphones, so I though this will be shipped with separate original Nexus headphones.
Guess what, this model is imported from Korea (never mentioned in product listing!).
Headphones in the box had L shapped 3.5 mm jack instead of straight 3.5mm jack as shown in the product picture. (Also, original nexus headphones have straight 3.5mm jack!)
Headphones are ordinary LG headphones and very very substandard quality.
They are not fitting on phone after putting on original nexus 4 bumper!

By purchasing original headphones my total cost went up drastically! More than I would have spent purchasing phone and headphones separately.

Weird and completely misleading!
How can Flipkart not verify before listing.

91% of 11 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
30 May 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Kills Galaxy SIII by all means!

This is specifically for all Galaxy SIII Fanboys who don't know the true power of nexus -

Whenever you are buying an Android phone with this price band, make sure you understand what is essential for getting the best performance out of the devcie and what make a device future proof.

1. Display pixel density
Galaxy SIII - 306 ppi
Nexus 4 - 318 ppi

Also, with Gorilla Glass 2 on it, LG has integrated display touch sensors to outer layers of glass, giving you a much better experience!

2. Software
Nexus 4 - Always updated with latest Google Android version
Galaxy SIII - will have to wait for a release from Samsung every time a new Android version comes!

3. CPU
Galaxy SIII - Exynos 4212 Cortex-A9 1.4 GHz Quad Core
Nexus 4 - Qualcomm APQ8064 Snapdragon Krait 1.5 GHz Quad Core

Clearly Nexus 4 is faster, amd also the CPU is one generation above than what Samsung is giving in SIII

4. RAM
Galaxy SIII - 1GB
Nexus 4 - 2GB

This is the most important factor in Android phones. The Android OS with the custom UI (like in SIII) will eat up approx 600-700 MB of RAM with very less to spare for Games and apps. Result - The phone will be lagging most of the time, and you will have to constantly close running apps from task manager.
Also, if you upgrade to future versions of Android - 5.0 etc, 1GB of ram will make it more weak!

Although Nexus is missing some features - FM, SD card Slot

But it has some additional features - Wireless Charging

With the price band and the build quality - Nexus beats LG any day without any doubt!

82% of 11 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
23 May 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Nice product : Price confusion explained

This review, i am writing for the persons who is concern about the price of the product .
I was also confused about the price.
Google is showing 349 $ for the 16gb version that is around 20k.So i decided to buy this from google play store and arranged some logistic via a friend. when i reached the payment page total comes out $392 = 21842.24 rs(at date may 23rd 2013).After that i have to pay some FC exchange charges and some other charges in credit card bill. So it was going to near 24k , no warranty and of course some pain for the person (friend's friend of mine) and other involved in transfer .
So finally, decided to order from flipkart, a trusted vender .At the time of writing (just 7-8 hrs after ordering) , i have no nexus .tsw i am not writing about the device. I think for many this review will be helpful to remove confusion.

82% of 11 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
13 Jun 2013
People who criticize this phone

Guys don't complain about the user interface, it's the simplest interface any phone has ever got. This phone has got what is needed.
This phone is for those people who know what they need, who know what their expectations are.
Don't compare it to Samsung Grand or any Samsung phones for god sake. If you love the extra stuff Samsung putting in just to allure its product, go buy that shit, but THIS is for true android fans.
Try swiping the home screens in Samsung phones & in this, you will see the difference.
No extra stuff, not any jumbles. It's pure Android experience. It's a true beast.

8 of 9 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
21 May 2013
VFM product

One of the best value for money product in the market.I did not buy it from flipkart/india since it wasnt available earlier. But for the price i paid i feel buying it here would have been the best option since it comes with warranty.

Now, i've been using this phone for just last 2months and it stands better when i compare with S3 and lumia 920.

(-)s
--Phone heats up when you run any resource intensive app like games with high graphics etc. But you w'd be able to live with it as its not a big problem
--There is a small rattling noise that comes from inside the phone when you shake. This is not at all an issue for the phone as such but this appears in many pieces. Google for this and you will get more info.
--Screen appearance at full brightness isnt that great when you step out and see it directly under the sun, but still you would be able to make things out.
--You wont get a headphone in the box :)
--A little lag when you scroll and reach the last page if you have more than 6 pages of apps. NOTE: This is only if you have 6 pages of app which is more than 150 applications.Its not a (-) but still just putting down what i found when i compare with others.
--Takes just "Okay" images. not that great and not that bad.

(+)s
--sleek ,elegent and beautiful design
--Great performance. It has never crashed or lagged when running the best games available.
--360 deg panorama and swipe keyboard with jelly bean is a cool thing :)
--Nice sound in external speaker
--best hardware benchmark.2GB RAM and quadquore, makes sure you are ready for future android updates for atleast next 2-3 releases.
--Bettery is okay
--Size is optimal.light weight.
--good build. Solid feeling in hands unlike samsungs.But has a glassy back so should be careful not to drop it :).
--16GB inbuilt -decent enough.
--Good display,not as good as S3 but you wont notice untill you hold both of them in hand and compare.

Finally for the price the phone is a very good value for money. No doubt about that and you dont need to have a second thought on buying this.:) Absolutely recomment it.

7 of 8 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
29 May 2013
Nexus 4 price Comparison U.S. vs India(Almost Equal)

WTF!!!! guys complaining Google or LG selling the device with much higher price in India than U.S. .
If you sum up the whole pricing in google play,then there is hardly any difference.
16GB variant - $349
Shipping Cost - $14
State Tax of NewYork - $32(New York has the lowest state tax,leaving 5 states which have zero ;) ).
Total = $395 = Rs 22,167.
Yeah difference hardly of Rs 4,000 isn't very much, besides in India it is being sold by LG not Google. PERIOD. :)

8 of 10 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page1234567Next Page
792 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
     Google Nexus 4 (White) Price in India: Rs. 23391

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...