Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Inheritance (English): Book

Book Reviews of Inheritance (English)

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 102 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
15 Nov 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
And as the Shurutgal has grown...

Inheritance (The Vault of Souls) has been an absolutely phenomenal read!! I finished it in less than a week and it was definitely the crowning glory of the series!

You can tell while reading that Paolini's style has changed and the writing itself is refined and more fluid a read. He has definitely rectified all his previous blunders.

A problem that I think many of us faced with Eldest was that it was slightly draggy and the series is, officially, draggy no more. Each chapter is action packed and super eventful!

As with Brisingr, where the switching of narration between Eragon and Roran was too frequent and often, Roran's parts seemed boring as well. Now, with each chapter that ends in a cliffhanger, you feel a twinge of disappointment as the narrative switches but, by the end of each chapter you're wishing it continued. So, for keeping all the narratives equally gripping and enthralling, kudos!

I don't want this review to contain any spoilers, so I'm not going to say much about what actually happens but, I will say that the plot is creative and positively engaging, if only to end a little predictably.

As for the characters, I've left Inheritance feeling much more connected to Eragon, Saphira, Roran, Katrina, Arya, Murtagh, Thorn, Glaedr, Orik, Elva and even Galbatorix. Finally, we learn more about our protagonists and their personalities, we see flaws in our heroes that make them seem human and we see why this oath-breaking tyrant was able to impose his rule on the empire for so long. It is very satisfying, even though Angela, the herbalist remains an ambiguous enigma.

All in all, it's been a really great read and a really great experience.
It moves you and leaves you emotional and with some pretty important life lessons to ponder upon.

And as the Shurtugal has grown... so has his author.

84% of 25 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
Pratik Shah
08 Nov 2011
first to review
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Amazing Service Flipkart

Perfect on time delivery by flipkart, even while the book webiste says that it is still to be released in the USA. The book is amazing. The Final installment to the Inheritance series, Christopher Paolini outdid himself, Again! Much awaited, much speculated, in the same rung as losrd of the rings and the wheel of time. Spectacular.

61% of 33 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
11 Nov 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Star wars, LOTR and now ghost rider?

First i wd like to say what a commendable job the flipkart team is doing, i got the book in the afternoon of the day it was released and with a 30% discount.

Now about the book, waited three years for it and kept wondering what the role of the green dragon will be and how will eragon defeat voldermort err i mean gallabotorix but more than that i wanted to know about the witch angela, she was the most compelling and interesting character in the series for me. The book did not disappoint on the first expectation, we get a good storyline with enough things happening to keep the page turning, i think people will understand the meaning of my review's title if they have read the book, i cant explain it without spoilers so i dont want to spoil anyone's fun.

on the second expectation about angela i was a bit disappointed so i hope maybe the author will start another series with her as a protagonist. overall a good end, a book that doesn't just suddenly end but gives closure with respect to the characters like lord of the rings, which is the highest compliment i can give.

Good artists copy and great artists steal, there is very little originality in the series but its not forgettable.

73% of 11 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
08 Nov 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
A full cycle!!

The world of Alagaesia and Eragon's life comes a full circle with this final book! Remarkable delivery time by Flipkart and excellent packaging to prevent any damage to the book.Keep up the good work!

As for the book, a must read for all the cycle. 10/10.

Atra estern?? ono thelduin. Mor'ranr l??fa unin hjarta onr. Un du evar??nya ono varda.

73% of 11 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
08 Nov 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
One of my fav book

The trilogy remains among my all time favs. Seems like ages when i read Brisingr. Finally the last installment is here. No doubt its going to be as great as other books of the trilogy. Flipkart bettered all its record of previous service by delivering the book on the first day of the release. Thanx Flipkart!!

6 of 8 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
08 Dec 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Inebriated in Alagaesian spirits

I love this book, and the rest of the series, for the wonderful and magical description of this prehistric land called Alagaesia more than anything else. It is a dreamer's paradise, this, far more pleasant and enchanting than JRR Tolkien's world in LOTR. Inheritance stays true to the previous books and although siege after siege of city after city in the first half doesn't do much to build the tempo till the D-Day, it gives us an insight into the cities that have only been names until now and cements the Helgrind-Dras Leona vengeance held by Eragon.
I do agree that the book becomes too obvious in many places...

SPOILER ALERT(igore this paragraph)

...such as whom the green dragon hatches for(really now, come on!!!) and the Rock of Kuthian's secret being so fiercely guarded it comes as a surprise that they are able to locate it so easily.

While these are flaws, they in essence contribute to the beauty and make it look realistic. After all, you can't expect all fantasies to be who-knocked-my-door mysteries.
And yes, Paolini has indicated that this may be the end of the cycle but a PREQUEL or Book 5, totally unrelated to the Cycle may be on the cards. If so then I am looking forward to Angela's story, the story of Selena, Morzan and Galbatorix with the Old Riders. And of course what lies ahead for Eragon and Saphira.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
09 Aug 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
The Cycle Cycles Without Center . . .

Note: Please Read The Other Sequels Before Buying This

Well friends, if you are Eragon fan and you love cinematic endings , don't read this book's last chapter's last pages. I really regret it.

Star 1 : This is a book every imaginative child would love
Star 2 : A book that fulfills the sequel very well with all the explanations
Star 3 : The story line from the part 1 to this part 4; the detailed description of the battles pulls us into a most intuitive vision of the story, high visualization, imagination etc.
Star 4 : I Love Eragon and Saphira Magic Capabilities.

Star 5 : I din't give this because, as I told you, there is a cycle but there are questions:
1 : Why Arya cannot be with Eragon even if she is queen
2 : Why Eragon has to get out of the map to breed dragons and school dragon riders
3 : Whats problem with the current nation
4 : Name of Names can't save them from the enemies?

and other questions too.

If you read the book's last chapter's last few pages you will be asking the same questions to yourself.

Still I don't want to spoil your curiosity. And the Cycle is pretty much cycles but without a proper center :)

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
28 Dec 2011
Inheritence:The End of a Journey

Inheritance truly was the icing on the cake which was the inheritance cycle.Throughout the series the reader has a first hand experience of the growth of Eragon,Saphira and that of the book's author.Inheritance was a spellbinding book that almost brought tears to my eyes as I finished reading it.Eragon at the beginning was just another fantasy book for me but as the story progressed and as Christopher Paolini made everything fall into place, admittedly with a few twists and turns,the series as a whole became something of a "Dream come true" for me.Most kids dream of dragons and stuff but the way Paolini has tailored the relationship of a Shur'tugal truly made me feel a longing for my own dragon.Although coming down to the let downs as with all the other books "Inheritance" was albeit free of flaws given the exception of how somethings were left unanswered and how some characters were left seemingly in the dark but hey! one must always keep open the possibilities for future plots no?.Regardless of Inheritance's seemingly predictable ending albeit with a nice twist,The very formation of "Algaesia" is a trully commendable feat.Thus I end this "review" of the inheritance cycle by tipping my hat to Christopher Paolini.

Kudos,For Christopher has done fantasy lovers a favor with Inheritance.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
27 Jun 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Utterly sad & disappointing ending

After following Eragon through his first three adventures & waiting YEARS for his last & final adventure,I can't help but feel disappointed at how things ended.The book starts off slow but it picks up towards the middle & from therein its just a roller coaster ride with emotional ups & downs till the end.This part i.e. from the beginning till just before the end is just brilliant.Paolini's improved & matured writing style really shines through.
The end,however,spoils everything the book-no,the whole cycle-built up.All those complex relationships,characters,EVERYTHING just goes down the drain.The ending of the book felt forced,as if Paolini desparately wanted to tie-up all the loose ends & just end the story.Thus,he ended up creating more questions than answers.Overall,the book was a good read,had it not been for the depressing ending,this book would've become really memorable.I hope Christopher will keep his fans' thoughts in mind while writing his next book.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
23 Apr 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Inheritance

okay, where do I even start?
First and foremost, I must mention Flipkart and their exceptional delivery service. I ordered this 2 months in advance and I got it on the day of the worldwide release at 10.30 AM which is great in my book.

Now getting to the book:
Well, if you've soldiered on and read 3 books, then no matter what I say, you are going to read book 4. But if you get a chance to borrow it, do so. This book is not worth your money.

I have had many many bones to pick with Paolini. A trilogy consists of 3 books. Okay, being a first time writer, he did not have the gauge of the development of his characters, and hence he had to extend to book 4. However, if you are extending, why not extend a bit more and provide the characters and the story and the subplots the proper growth and reading time they deserve.

Spoiler alert:
I would've liked it if we provided more coverage to Galbatorix and his ascent. Maybe a little more POV. A little more intricate end with more details as to how eragon managed what he did.

These are only small complaints. But yes, I bought all the books in the series and read them all, mostly for closure. I loved Eragon and Eldest and Brisingr. I was simply let down by the abrupt way in which Paolini tried to wrap things up in one book hurriedly. I am a loyal reader. I would've bought more books if it meant logical endings and proper character development.

I'll give this 3 stars simply because Flipkart is awesome and I'm a little disappointed with Paolini.

0 of 1 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page1234567Next Page
102 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
    Book: Inheritance (English) by Christopher Paolini
    ISBN Number: 0385616503, 9780385616508, 978-0385616508

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...