Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Kahaani: Av Media

Reviews of Kahaani

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
08 May 2012
first to review
Simply Breathtaking...........

Coming on the heels of back to back flops like Alladin and Home Delivery, Sujoy Ghosh,the director, delivers a knock-out punch with this superhit film of his. Full of intrigue, mystery and suspense, the film opens with a pregnant Vidya Balan, arriving in Kolkata, in the search of her missing husband. Aided by a young police officer, played by Parambrata Chatterjee, she goes about in the quest of her husband, amidst several dangers that stalk her on the way. The end of the film keeps you on the edge of your seat as the story takes an unusual and unpredictable turn!
Vidya Balan carries of the role of a pregnant woman with great dexterity and is ably supported by Parambrata Chatterjee. Saswata Chatterjee's portrayal of Bob Biswas, the hired contract killer, is superb and spine-chilling! The script, the screenplay and the editing all stand out. Setu, the cinematographer of the film, has done a wonderful job in capturing the vibrancy and the differnt moods of the city of Kolkata.
An excellent film on all counts and a must watch for all film lovers. Don't miss this film!

5 of 6 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
21 May 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Manufacturing Defect :: Disc skips and freezes - does not play properly

An extremely good movie, but an unfortunate home viewing experience -- all spoiled by a badly manufactured DVD. My disc of Kahaani does not play properly -- it keeps skipping and freezing.

It's sad that DVD Replication (DVD Manufacturing including Transfer of Film) is still not upto the mark in a country fascinated by films!

If you have bought the Kahaani DVD, check its back cover. You will see the names of the companies/ organizations that have replicated the DVD for Shemaroo -- there are 2 names: (1) Some DVDs have been manufactured/ replicated by SONY DADC MUMBAI and (2) other DVDs of Kahaani have been manufactured/ replicated by FUTURISTIC CONCEPTS MUMBAI.

My experience with DVDs manufactured/ replicated by JET SPEED and FUTURISTIC CONCEPTS has been bad -- their discs do not play properly on some DVD players, and also, sometimes, stop playing after you have played them a couple of times.

I am hoping to lay my hands on the Kahaani DVD manufactured by Sony DADC which are definitely better.

5 of 7 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
10 May 2012
A POWERFUL STORY, FIVE STAR THRILLER

After having played as Silk, every movie lover would expect Vidya to continue with meaningful roles with feminism at the best. She has not only done justice to this idea, but has come even more brave and heroic. Kahaani as a movie is a serious manifestation of a woman's journey to get justice with her on hands. Vidya has performed so well that I am expecting a second consecutive Filmfare for her. This movie deserves all the critics' awards and certainly, the popular awards too.

I missed watching this thriller on silver screen but my home theater helped me relive the dark sides of a big city like Kolkata and what it means to be a ordinary person.

Watch this movie and experience a classic in the modern times.

Kudos to the director, the music makers, cinematographer, all the lead actors and thank you Amitabh Sir for singing Ekla Cholo Re.

Watch it before Vidya gets readied with another stunner.

POWERFULLY RECOMMENDED.

3 of 6 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
16 May 2012
Amazing movie !!

KAHANI is the best film i've seen in recent times. It grips you till the last minute. Vidya is simply amazing. The heartbeat of Kolkata is so beautifully brought out by the director. Buy this movie. WATCH IT !! Its 200% value for your money !!

3 of 4 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
24 May 2012
Spectacular movie!!

Spectacular acting by Vidya Balan. Undoubtedly, she is the best contemporary actress of our times. There are simply no words to describe her performance. And the story line is good with a twist in the end, completely unimaginable.Intelligent direction. Remarkable acting. A fresh movie. Very different from the routine, boring and mindless flicks we are so used to now days. go for it!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
16 Jun 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Best movie of the year so far

Superb thriller (despite the obvious plot-holes that require suspension of disbelief from time-to-time), unbelievable acting, and a climax that is literally jaw-dropping! The only sad thing about this particular DVD is its glitches, that cause it to stop at the very beginning, just after an advertisement. I hope flipkart brings the matter to the notice of the manufacturers. Otherwise, 5 stars all the way!

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
19 Aug 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Kahaani - Awesome

This movie I first saw in Fame Hiland Park Kolkata and was absolutely amazed to find out that it was such a fabulously made piece of cinema. The movie itself was an exclamation of how good it was and it ringed and chimed through all the theatres it ran in. This print is the best you will find in the market and offers bonus celebration party videos of the movie.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
25 Jun 2012
Good movie, but ending confusing

Kahaani is an awesome movie with stellar performance by Vidya Balan. She effortlessly plays the role of a pregnant woman who is out to search her husband in the crowded city of Calcutta. The narration is tight, the build-up superb. With guerilla-style filmmaking, the director brings out the flavour of Calcutta like no one else. The movie coasted along fine till the ending when it was discovered that Vidya was carrying a prosthetic belly to fake her pregnancy. The way the director to chose to explain her revenge seemed a little contrived. I guess the director could have fleshed it out much better. But overally a griping movie with fine performances by Naujawaan and Parambrata.

0 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
14 May 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Blu-ray Review

Great movie and amazing performance by Vidya Balan. Who says good movies need big budget? This is a movie worth watching. The blu-ray is authored very well. Good picture quality and it does contain some bonus material(on the same disk). The one thing I do not like about this Shemaroo blu-ray is the disk case, it's too big. Not sure why they cannot follow the industry standard! Also, the video has "Shemaroo' watermark.

1 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
29 May 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
EXCELLENT

Excellent movie - one of the best of this year & one of the best thrillers i have ever seen, Everybody rocked in this movie - DVD cover packaging were good, extra featurettes were nothing to boast of, also think Shemaroo priced the product a bit high; in 250 range i would have rated 5/5

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page12Next Page
11 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
    Movie: Kahaani
Directed by: Sujoy Ghosh
Cast: Nawazuddin Siddiqui, Parambrata Chatterjee, Dhritiman Chatterjee, Vidya Balan

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...