Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Life of Pi (English): Book

Book Reviews of Life of Pi (English)

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 48 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
22 Sep 2012
Get ready for the adventure.....

After i get to know about the movie which is being made by Ang Lee i couldn't resist myself form buying this novel.
If you love to read something new with adventure, twists and turns , hope ....then this is the novel for you.

Go and grab it and fall into a dreamland.
Its one of the best novels i have read till date.

4 of 4 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
08 Mar 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Smart. Intelligent. Fresh

a story of survival like never before. break the story down into 3-4 substories and you'll like all of them. wont disclose much but would just say "read chapter 90 very carefully" :D

hats off to this amazing tale of life !

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
03 Oct 2011
Belief is what bonds you with the Life of Pi!

Even though the Life of Pi is a fiction, somewhere in the first quarter of the book, Yann Martel makes you believe that it is a biography of someone (Pi) who was born in Pondicherry, India, grew up till his teens, with a zoo in his backyard, and with the political scene in India becoming unstable (1977), the family along with a few animals that remained behind, after selling off most of the zoo inhabitants, boards a Japanese cargo ship to Canada. And after this act of making you believe, all the action takes place in the 227 days that runs between the days Pi gets into the sea as a castaway in a 27-feet lifeboat with a 450 pound Bengal Tiger and till the day he lands in Mexico. It is this belief that makes you cling to the novel and move forward catching hold of the link one after another, but at a slow pace, and when there are times just when you think the links are falling apart (losing interest), belief bonds you together with the story. But at certain places, you get the idea that a few facts about the South-Indian culture are a bit incoherent (just 2% of the entire story telling). Altogether, a great read, no doubt about it!!

4 of 5 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
31 Aug 2012
Amazing Amazing Amazing. And more amazing.

Filled with depth, wonder, and astonishing clarity, Yann Martel has weaved an unbelievable tale. His imagination is expansive, narration brilliant, characterization beyond words. Too good. Too great. Must read. Raw, original, awesome.
Read it, please.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
22 Jul 2012
indeed a story that will make you believe in God

Truly worth Man Booker prize...

What a story.. I cant think anyone could write so many chapter about life on a lifeboat..

It has a perfect blend of a book, at least for me. It has story, it has its spiritual content, it has the interesting aspect about it, and it has - a very impressive part - of facts and knowledge... At the moment, I think I can tame a tiger, if I am stranded with it on a lifeboat surrounded by ocean... If not tame a tiger, I am pretty sure I can live off land, on the water, in a lifeboat!!

And I also think, no person, after reading this book, will ever give up his will to live, what may be the situation...

Goes to my favorite books shlef..

It is indeed a story that will make you believe in God (you will understand, if you've read the author's note of the book)...

3 of 5 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
12 Aug 2012
Thank you Richard Parker

Life of Pi is simply complex only in the thought process.It is a personal favorite as this book has a life changing effect on you.Your perspective of things change quite visibly.
Unlike what the Book says it does little in restoring my faith in God,
but does in restoring my faith in people.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
14 Jun 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Not really

I started reading this novel with great enthusiasm but almost dragged myself to finish it. Huge disappointment from a 'Man Booker' winner. The book dragged like the length of the sea. No climatic end to summon up the misery I went through to reach it.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
15 Dec 2012
A blot on booker

Yann Martel is a master list maker. Throughout the book you find him listing various unrelated things and themes whether you are interested to read them or not, because he had painstakingly collected those information and had to include them in his book to increase its girth; the story had hardly enough substance to make for a decent volume.Its a fantasy story no doubt but you need even more mastery on writing to make a fantasy interesting to adult readers, which Mr Martel sadly lacks. Its an impossible rambling story without any rhyme or reason and you need the grim determination of Pi Patel for survival, to read the whole book.

Average book, but the worst Booker winning book I have read.

3 of 6 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
26 Jul 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
A huge task for Anglee

Life of pi should be listed in the category of spiritual and not fiction because it is all about keeping the human spirit alive which is always adventurous in the contemporary world.Lets wait and see whether Ang Lee will surmount the task of visually narrating the story.Pi always pins his hopes to the horizon beyond which a life in the form of ship awaits him.In that way this book might remind you how superficial are our whining about not leading a content life. The Bengal tiger Richard Parker could have been a valid reason for pi to give up and perish in the sea.But he chose the co-existence which points to the overlooked harmony and order in the universe and the incomprehensible fountainhead of creation..GOD

2 of 4 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
15 Mar 2012
A blot on booker

Yann Martel is a master list maker.Throughout the book you find him listing various unrelated things and themes whether you are interested to read them or not, because he had painstakingly collected those information and had to include them in his book to increase its girth; the story had hardly enough substance to make for a decent volume.Its a fantasy story no doubt but you need even more mastery on writing to make a fantasy interesting to adult readers, which Mr Martel sadly lacks.Its an impossible rambling story without any rhyme or reason and you need the grim determination of Pi Patel for survival, to read the whole book.Worst Booker winning book I have read.

3 of 8 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page12345Next Page
48 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
    Book: Life of Pi (English) by
    ISBN Number: 0143028480, 9780143028482, 978-0143028482

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...