Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
MECHANICAL ENGG GATE 2013 (English) 1st  Edition: Book

Book Reviews of MECHANICAL ENGG GATE 2013 (English) 1st Edition

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
08 Jul 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Mistakes

I have purchased this book after reading its previous reviews,but I don't find it that up to the notch book. There are several errors in the questions and its answers,even the hints that are given after answers are printed randomly. I don't think that the author has given a serious effort to publish this book or may be the publishing has spilled the beans.Theory given in the front is nice but questions are not clear in sense and some of their answers are wrong.As mentioned earlier,hints are printed randomly, so at last I recommend all, not to buy this book for its question/answers

87% of 15 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
11 Sep 2012
BEST FOR THEORY

i have purchased this book and find it best for theory.. even if u not much familiar with ur topics or chapter even though this book ll gv u good idea about the topics..
as far as problems are concerned book is good in that but not best and many questions are there for practice...mistakes are there but you can find out the mistakes easily so not a problem becz if student is preparing for GATE thn it means he knws something about the topics..
FRIENDS IF U NEED BEST PROBLEMS BOOKS WITH TOPIC WISE THEN SURELY TRY THESE BOOKS
1.practice book for ME GATE 2013 BY MADE EASY
2.MECHANICAL ENGG. BY R.S KHURMI

4 of 4 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
24 Aug 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
A good reference for revision. It may be helpful to use reference books for subjects' in-depth study.

Overall, I found it to be a decent buy. It covers most of the GATE syllabus. It may help if you also refer to a book dedicated to past years' solved GATE papers, as this one has only solved papers of 2011 and 2012.

I studied engineering mathematics, engg. mechanics, SoM, ToM, mech. vibrations, machine design, fluid mechanics and machinery, and some thermal sciences from it and secured marks of + 48.33 on scale of - 32 to + 100 in GATE 2013, with All India rank 2295. That was 98.6 percentile.

Some warnings, though:
1. Laplace transforms is not covered in the mathematics section.
2. The chapter of "Linear Algebra" is supposed to cover eigenvalues and eigenvectors according to the syllabus, but it does not.
3. "Engineering Mechanics" chapter (longest, of 76 pages) covers an extra topic of gravitation that is not even part of GATE syllabus.
4. Chapters of "Complex Variables", "Probability and Statistics" and "Numerical Methods" are just 9, 9 and 7 pages long, respectively. You may need to refer to math textbooks if you need more practice.

Chapter of "Theory of Machines" has topics of governors, cam and follower, and balancing that are not mentioned in the syllabus. But it may be helpful to review them.

I did not study much the chapters in section II (covering manufacturing and industrial engineering part of syllabus), so I can't comment much on them.

Each chapter has several questions from the author in the end, but many of these do not seem to be of GATE quality, level or type. I would recommend preparation using only questions from past years' GATE question papers. Some past GATE questions are given at the end of each chapter in this book.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
24 Mar 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Not Recommendable for Exams

I appeared for GATE this year. I was looking for a complete and comprehensive textbook for the preparation. Before buying this book I ran through its reviews and found the mild criticism of book for its errors and mistakes. But when I personally used it, I got to know that its way below the mark. I am writing below both the pros and cons of this book.

Cons:
1. Book has lost its credibility over minute errors, there's always a feeling at the back of mind to check facts, process parameters, formulas, etc. against the standard references.

2. Author has tried his best to give lengthy exercise at the end of each chapter but the questions are too silly, sometimes you will just don't believe on the answer key. Most of the questions are self made and are mostly repetitive and not clear in their objective.

3. The book is not in the best shape according to the syllabus just focusing on GATE. It includes the topics which are no longer the part of syllabus ans the presented text are too shallow or primitive.

4. "Points to Remember" part of any chapter is not designed to have a cursory look or for look up of tables, formulas, etc.

5. Book is containing some topics on General Aptitude just for the sake of completeness. There's no real effort from the author to keep it near the GATE standards.

Only Pro:
Book is containing previous years GATE questions, but the solutions to hard problems are missing.

My recommendation: There is no error-proof book in the market for good preparation. Better to buy different books and share among your group.

P.S: I studied with my friend who had "Arihant GATE tutor". It was good mixture of content to prepare and we both secured decently good ranks in the GATE.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
13 Aug 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
excellent contents and recovery of all topics in a nutshell

the book contains all the topics of engineering in a nutshell and covers each and every point of all our books in a nutshell in just one book.excellent book to crack gate.
however it requires good preparation and revesion of topics at last minutes.important formulaes are designed in a separate content which is very helpful for last months.there are some mistakes but such mistakes are a printing mistakes .not logical mistakes.so can be compromised against the features of the book.however features are mindblowing and skillfully explained and also method given to remember the contents in a lucid way

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
06 Feb 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Full of mistakes

This book even though it covers most of the content needed for GATE, contains a lot of mistakes.
The mistakes are there in formulas, theories, problems, answers to problems and in the solutions as well ( basically everywhere).
So one wouldn't know whether he is on the right track or not.

But I would say its a decent book if one wants to quickly go through the theory of a topic.

The questions given in the book are many a times not related to theory after which the problems are given. Many a times that part is not at all covered in the book still the question is asked. This is annoying.

My Advice: Don't buy this book go for some other book...

-Paris, BITS-Pilani

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
04 Jan 2013
Lot of errors and not upto mark for GATE preparation

Hi,

# first of all there are numerous errors many of which are easily visible . There are also mistakes that you may not find if you are just revising the topics after a long time. For the examination like GATE which has a vast syllabus, you rely on the theory given in these preparation books for quick revision. It is expected that material given be correct.

# I bought this book because it appeared thinner than other available books and expected that it would include complete syllabus of GATE . I found that several important topics and their theory has not been covered in this book.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
25 Oct 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Excellent for last time readers - I mean Genius

Its a complete reference book for GATE and is very detailed. Very useful for last time readers. People who read before some 1 month or even before 3 weeks should buy this book.

As far as the previous comments are concern, I also wanna say that those Question Answers and model question paper solutions contains little errors.

I hope last time readers wont need those Q/A. Never mind.
go for it. Good Book for a refreshing GATE preparation.

2 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
28 Dec 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
COMPLETE MECHanical CONCEPT in Single BOOK

First of All:
Thanks for Delivery Through Courier
.
.
Nice book having all the fundamental concepts of mechanical engineering, As the Publisher itself we may conclude that it is a worthful book for all of the mechanical engineering students.
.
Nice book for preparing and recalling all the things at the last time of Exam preparation.
.
.
Spelling mistakes are ther, But it can be managed by ourself. The mistakes doesn't Affects the main concept of What they coming to say?
.
.
But, Practice book is necessary.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
17 Nov 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
PLEASE DON'T BUY THIS BOOK

I read the review of the book here and i went ahead to buy it. But it's not a worthy book. It has some serious flaws and mistakes and I am done with mechanics now. The questions are of very poor quality and are not sufficient to practice. The theory doesn't contain all the key points. The solutions have some obviously wrong methods. It's an utter rubbish. Even though I am giving one star... I don't think it deserves any stars. Please dont buy this book. Instead go for GK publications... atleast it has right questions!

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page1234Next Page
31 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
    Book: MECHANICAL ENGG GATE 2013 (English) 1st Edition by SLARIYA
    ISBN Number: 1259027244, 9781259027246, 978-1259027246

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...