Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 35 mm f/1.8G Lens: Lens

Reviews of Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 35 mm f/1.8G Lens

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 198 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
01 Apr 2012
A must have lens for your DSLR

This is an excellent prime lens and a must have in your kitty of lenses. I would even recommend this as the only lens for your camera. Once you have experienced the awesome quality sharp and crisp pictures from this lens, other lenses will pale in comparison.

I have a Nikon D5000. This 35mm prime lens has replaced the 18-55mm kit lens as the default lens. Now, I use only this 35mm prime lens for everything.

Pictures from this lens are sharp, colourful and very lively. The bokeh effect is also satisfactory.
I like this lens a lot for it's ability to get great quality pictures in low light. This is especially evident when shooting indoors. Many a times, with the 18-55mm kit lens, I have had real difficulties shooting indoors. Flash spoils the naturalness of the photo and without it, the shutter speed needs to be so slow that unless you have a tripod, you won't capture good photos. But the 35mm prime lens works wonders in these situations. It gathers more light and allows you to shoot at higher shutter speeds. This means better, blur-free photos..

Don't even think twice about this lens. It is an absolute must have. Once you get this, you might find all your other lenses redundant. :-)

Some people might be confused with 35mm vs 50mm prime lens. If you have a 18-55mm kit lens, set the focal lengths to both 35 and 50mm and then see how much area is covered. You'll get to know the difference. The 50mm will have a more zoomed in view as compared to 35mm. For outdoor shots, this won't make a difference. For indoor photography, this makes a lot of difference as you may not have too much space to step quite far away from the subject(s) to frame the photo correctly. I find that 35mm is perfect for both indoor and outdoor photography.

If your camera has an inbuilt auto-focus motor (D90/D7000 and above), then you better go for the other 50mm lens (Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.8D lens) which costs about Rs.6100. That model does not have auto-focus motor built into the lens, but since your camera has it, you will save quite a bit of money..
For cameras like D40/D3000/D3100/D5000/D5100 which do not have built in auto focus motor in the camera, this particular lens (Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8G lens) is the best.

This lens will truly make you a better photographer.

100% of 65 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
02 Oct 2011
Take a picture using f/2.8 view as big as you can, you will be spoilt for life

First of all this is a single focal length (no Zoom), small size, larger aperture lens. They are usually very sharp 9way better than zoom), easy to carry, cheaper than zoom and excellent for low light condition. No vibration reduction but with this you hardly need. I use it with my D3100 at aperture priority mode at f2.8 and carry in my backpack always. Except that tiny bird on a far away tree branch or an ant on a flower petal or 20 people inside a tiny room, it captures everything beautifully. Technically, it has metal mount, rubber gasket to prevent dust, close focus ~1 feet and rounded blades for good out of focus objects (bokeh). With this at 1600ISO setting, nights are photographable with a quality you never thought possible. 50mm f1.8 is similarly good but meant for Full frame Nikon. Angle of view of 50mm f1.8 with D3100 (APS-C format) is lower and thus does not cover many type of photo. As I said in the title this will spoil you and you will find every other lens are not sharp enough, too heavy and too costly for their image quality.

95% of 40 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
17 Oct 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
It will make you a better photographer!!

I mean it. This lens will truly make you a better photographer. Its a simple prime lens(no zoom) and takes pictures with astonishing clarity. Its one of those lenses that almost all professional photographers have in their kit. After reading a lot of reviews I went for this, and now I understand why they have it.
At larger apertures(f/1.8,f/2) you get amazing bokeh effects, almost like the ones you see in magazines. Also, I'd strongly recommend this for low light photography.

(35mm vs 50mm)
Many folks are confused between these 2. Both are equally great lens. I chose 35mm since it gives a slightly wider viewing angle. For outdoor photography the difference is almost negligible. For indoors, with the 50mm you might have to step back quite a bit from the subject.

94% of 31 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
03 Oct 2011
You will never regret your purchase

When I ordered mine, I never thought this lens would turn out to be one of my favorites. It exceeded my expectations on all grounds. I use a DX camera body (D7000) and I needed a lens with effective focal length of 50mm for street and home function photography. This lens is light, superb sharp, silent and dot on focus with great accuracy. Manual over-ride is a boon in some situations. For night shots, you will never thank any lens more in this price range. I call it an Owl's eye.

Go ahead and pick this lens, you will never regret your purchase.
~Akash

95% of 21 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
04 Oct 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
The Best Cheap Nikkor Autofocus Standard G lens for the Nikon DX Body

Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G Lens (Standard Lens)

The literature about this lens fascinated me to the extent that I was tempted to experience it. My appreciations to all who wrote about this lens here and elsewhere.

My background.
I started clicking in 1973 with Agfa Click III. Had used many - Olympus OM 40 P with Olympus Zuiko 55mm f1.2. & 85mm f2 lenses. Zenith with Helios lenses, etc. Now using Nikon D3200.

Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G Lens
This is a fixed focal length (not a zoom lens) with a super silent AF motor built inside the lens. Its filter thread size is 52mm.

The lens lacks an aperture ring. But the following aperture settings are possible on the Aperture Priority mode from the camera body 22, 20, 18, 16, 14, 13, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7.1, 6.3, 5.6, 5, 4.5, 4, 3.5, 3.2, 2.8, 2.5, 2.2, 2 and1.8.

It has a focus ring and you can manually fine adjust the focus if you desire so. Fine focusing is fantastic. But the focus ring is narrow and appears inconvenient to me.
The package comes with a black plastic lens hood and a lens pouch. It also has a manual & warranty card.

Nikon had packed the lens inside the carton such that the lens stays 2 cms above the bottom of the pack; 1.5 cms inside from the sides of the pack and more than 6 cms deep from the top of the pack – exemplary packing. No fear of reasonable impact damage from top bottom or sides. The Nikon carton is factory sealed.
It comes with a 2 year service warranty.

Flipkart (WS Retail) had used an air bubble packing to safely pack the Nikon carton. So no possibility of damage due to reasonable impacts during handling and transit.

35 mm DX is equivalent to 52.5 mm lens in DX format D 3200 body

The Nikon 50 mm f 1.8 D, which is around Rs 6000/-, is also cheaper, sharper and crisper, but will not auto focus in D 3200 body, since D 3200 body doesn’t have an auto focus motor incorporated into it.

The Nikon 50 mm f 1.8 G will auto focus and is almost the similar price of this lens. But 50 mm lens in a DX body is not standard; it is equivalent to 75 mm lens (or 80 mm lens) and becomes a portrait lens.

This lens is a G lens where as the 50 mm f 1.8 D costing Rs 6000 is a D lens. The G lens produces images with beautiful backdrops and splendid bokehs than D lens. Of course G is costlier than D.

One drawback is, this lens lacks VR (vibration reduction) wrt 18-105mm lens; so you need a tripod or at least a monopod for very low light situations.
Since it is equivalent to 52.5 mm lens (35 x 1.5 = 52.5) it is a standard lens; and presence of VR would have been an added advantage for handheld photography in low light situations. Another positive side of the same coin is absence of VR makes the lens rugged inside its housing.
I feel that a wide lens that DOESN'T need VR would be 23.33mm (35 ÷ 1.5 = 23.33) or wider ones. But it is Nikon R&D team to think about this.

When compared with Nikon 18-105 lens, this Nikon 35 mm f 1.8 G is producing brighter, sharper, crisper and colourful images and definitely superior to kit lens at 35 mm in bokeh effect.
For night shots and low light shots without flash this is superb lens w.r.t. (w.r.t. = with respect to) to kit lens. It produces splendid images in low ambient (natural) light. I prefer ambient light to flash since it produces natural images.

At ISO 6400 and Hi1 settings, this lens renders night shots with stunning image quality.

At f 5.6 and smaller apertures, this 35 mm Nikkor glass gives exemplary sharpness at this price
As the lens gets wider, naturally light enters the camera from a wider area, and the image gets brighter w.r.t. tele lens.
More light falling on the sensor translates into a faster shutter speed and blur free pictures.
More light on a more Megapixel (24 MP) sensor further translates into stunning image quality and better cropping possibility.

My other choice was a Nikon AF-S DX Micro NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G Lens. Reviews say that you have to get more close to the subject which is a disadvantage for general purpose photography. Mover over I can buy a 52 mm close up lens filter or reverse lens adapter and get the same purpose done. But if get a lot of spare money I will definitely buy this lens because I love close up shots. But, not for now.

Above all this 35 mm lens is lighter in weight.

My purpose is general photography, family shots, outdoor vacation photography and indoor shots like meeting, family function, etc without flash.

So I opted for 35 mm f 1.8 G as the prime standard lens for my DX format camera. It also has an angle of vision almost near to the older 50 mm lens of Film SLR camera (same for FX format DSLR) which I am used to, since 1980's.

This lens is MADE IN CHINA & imported by Nikon India Pvt Ltd in Aug 2013.

Flipkart (WS Retail) was perfect in receiving, processing and dispatching this order.

Blue Dart handled this shipment with professional standards.

Cost Rs.12440. Ordered on 29.09.2013 Delivered on 02.10.2013

100% of 18 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
04 Sep 2011
first to review
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Good Service and the product is awesome

Was awaiting the release of 50mm 1.8G, But couldn't resist the urge to own the fast lens. The product reached me well and securely packed within the promised time. The discount is better that the local store near y house and that's why I opted. Also I can keep the warranty card clean.

Excellent service flipkart team!!! keep it up

7 of 8 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
12 Mar 2013
This is the best lens for a DX Camera

This is the best lens you can buy for your DX camera in a budget, and believe me you got to have it in your lens kit. 1.8 f stop produce awesome picture with clear depth of field.

Are you getting confused between 35mm G and 50mm G ?
-----------------------------------------------------------------
If you are getting confuse between getting 50mm or 35mm (both are price almost same) you should buy 35mm, because the 50mm is FX format camera lens (read the difference between dx and fx format if you don't know it) so the magnification of 35mm lens on DX camera is same what will a 50mm will give on FX camera, hence both will work same on the camera they are designed for but 50mm will give more magnification(zoom) on dx format, and in my experience, it is easy to go closer to subject rather than going far for closer shots, and 50mm on dx camera will prove worth less in indoor photography.

5 of 5 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
28 Feb 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Superb lens for DX

I have a 50mm f/1.8D which I love to bits. It is small, light and performs very well for the price. The issue is that it gives a focal length of 75mm on my DX cameras. When I am into an aimless shooting schedule, I end up having to carry two cameras and the 50mm finds my way onto my FX camera. However there are times when I go out only with my DX camera for general photography and the 50mm becomes limiting as it is not wide enough.

This is the situation I am trying to remedy with this lens. On my DX cameras, the effective focal length now becomes a healthy 53mm which is good enough. Which means that in a one camera situation I have the standard focal length.

This is my feedback on the lens:
+ve Sharp
+ve Lightweight
+ve Silent
+ve Lovely bokkeh for the price
+ve Even though it does not affect me, this lens will autofocus on all Nikon DSLRs
+ve Not tested in low light, but this is some seriously fast glass
-ve Build feels flimsy, specially the hood
-ve I might be nitpicking, but I like to have the aperture ring so that, maybe I can use the lens on a film camera
-ve Why only DX, Nikon? When are we going to have good alternatives for FX that do not force us to break the bank? The 35mm f/2 is a very old design and the other is very expensive.

In my opinion, the lens' positives far outweigh the negatives. Go ahead and buy this instead of the 50mm lenses if you plan to stick to the DX format for some time.

On Flipkart - superb experience with the delivery of this product.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
25 Jan 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
One of the best primes out there

I'm using this lens with my Nikon D5100. This 100% is one of those purchases made that I do not regret one bit. The out of focus areas are smoothed out like butter, with light sources taking that coveted round shape...beautiful !!!

And about the subject in focus...I simply cannot describe in words how sharp this lens is, but hope this helps: I took photos of some hanging chains(from a pump) that were partially rusted, with light source falling from behind me at an angle, against an open background. Every single crack and creak, every single detail that is there on the rusted links came out in the picture; even some tiny, fraction-of-a-millimeter thin old spider webs that was in one of the links, nothing missed !!! I just wish I could upload some of the pics taken by me here, to show the capability of this piece of gem.

All-in-all, this is one of best examples of optical precision of Nikkor lenses. Trust me guys, after using this you won't even look at your 18-55 mm kit lens. Its still there in my bag, and I use it only at 18mm end for some tight, wide angle shots. For everything else that I see and want to capture, I have this faithful soldier in my bag ready to pounce into action and to my delight, deliver every single time :) A highly recommended prime for DX format cameras from Nikon.

EDIT: Here is the picture on viewbug:-
http://www.viewbug.com/photo/11405261

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
16 Nov 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Tack sharp at f/5.6

This is not a product review but my experience using it. You will find plenty of reviews here and elsewhere which are much more technically informative.

I am using this lens with my Nikon D7100. The images are tack sharp at f/5.6. After using the kit lens 18-105mm, this lens feels virtually weightless. The autofocus is quite fast and smooth.

The Field of View is little restrictive for indoor group photography or when taking building/monument photo at a close distance. Otherwise it's a great general purpose lens.

For close-up shots, f/1.8 is not so useful as the images are not that sharp and the bokeh is little nervous (out of focus circles appear oval in shape). There is a lot of Chromatic Abberation too. But for non-close up shots, anything above f/2.8 is practically of the same sharpness.

I don't know whether this is a camera issue or the particular lens I have received, when I use any off-center AF point in my camera, the focus sometimes is off by a minute amount that is not evident in the viewfinder. It is a random phenomena and I come to know it only when I view the picture on my PC monitor at full zoom.

Overall the ratio of Image Quality to Price is the highest compared to any other Nikon DX lens.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page1234567Next Page
198 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
     Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 35 mm f/1.8G Lens (Standard Lens) Price in India: Rs. 8423

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...