Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Nokia N8-00: Mobile

Reviews of Nokia N8-00

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 46 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
04 Feb 2012
A Cameraphone beyond comparision

In many ways, Nokia N8 was keen on making a difference when it was announced back in 2010. It had to usher a new dawn for touchscreen Nokia smartphones. More importantly, it had to beat compact cameras in their own game. Almost 2 years have passed, the dawn never came. Symbian ^3 even in its new avatar was much unpolished, and failed to bring Symbian into reckoning. But we have not found a more capable camera phone either. And yes, Nokia N8 did sell well.

As Symbian Belle knocks at the door today, which is by some distance, the best Symbian OS ever, there is also a painful realization that the N8 hardware is rather outdated. Well, save the camera module. With the advent of SuperAMOLED plus HD screens and dual-core processors, N8??????s 3.5?????? AMOLED of nHD resolution and 256 MB ram do seem modest. Rumors suggest Belle will be the last update to the phone. Does one buy it? On the flip side, you have a true wonder of a camera, capable of putting even dedicated cameras to shame. Symbian OS makes sure the hardware is still enough to enable you play HD games. The aluminum unibody is a pleasure to handle. And finally what squares the deal is that the price has come down too. Still, does one buy it?

Pros:
1. A true gem of a camera. The 1/1.83?????? camera sensor is still the biggest on any smartphone. It is ably aided by an almost perfect Carl Zeiss lens capable of shooting 12MP photos and a powerful xenon flash. Numbers aside, the camera produces images of stunning quality. Resolved detail remains downright impressive across all situations, more so in less lighted conditions, where the huge sensor comes in handy. There is not much purple fringing, or any other lens distortion for that matter. In other words, humbling achievement by a mobile phone.
2. The aluminum unibody feels sturdy and as if is built to last.
3. Humungous 16 GB on board storage which can be further expanded by a memory card.
4. 3.5?????? AMOLED screen of nHD resolution provides nice colors, good brightness and decent sunlight legibility.
5. Video recording is stuck at 720p, but the output is rather nice. With continuous autofocus and best-in-class dynamic range, it actually produces better videos than many 1080p camcorder phones out there.
6. All round retail package with a lot of goodies.

Cons:
1. 680 MHz ARM 11 CPU and Broadcom BCM2727 GPU give an impression of an outdated phone. There have even been Symbian phones with more processing power. 256mb RAM doesn??????t help either.
2. Symbian browser lacks behind the competition.
3. Relatively lesser applications compared to Android or iOS.

Competition:
If you are bullish on having a good camera-smart phone, apple iPhone 4s comes closest to N8??????s imaging skills. It also comes with an out-of-the-world UI, fast processor, the most advance GPU and ups the video recording capabilities.
Comparing prices, Sony Ericsson Ray offers a very capable 8 mp camera with latest android (planned upgrade to ICS). The Sony Bravia display is among the best in LCDs. Resolutions is high as well, although screen estate is small (3.3??????). Sony Ericsson Neo V offers a similar package with a downgraded 5 mp camera but a 3.7 inch screen.

There is very slight chance of you reading this review and yet not having a thing for cameras. The N8 is head and shoulders above all competing phones when it comes to taking pictures. And this is exactly why N8 has gained immense popularity. It will probably go down as a legendary phone. A true imaging king, a pioneer of Symbian ^3, and more importantly, a tribute to the N-series.

83% of 48 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
16 Feb 2012
Awesomeness!!

Bought this phone in jan 2011. at the time it was a choice between Nokia N8 (arnd twenty three grand) and Samsung Galaxy S (arnd twenty eight grand)and I went for N8 for its Superb camera and better build quality and chk the current prices of n8 and Galaxy S. which one lost its value faster. Of course the Android phone. though it has a slower processor compared to some Android phones but Symbian is a more efficient OS that really utilizes the seemingly limited processor and Ram much better. Most of the people dont know that Symbian is the Only mobile OS that can use its GPU not only for playing games but also for other functions which makes all the difference by giving better battery life as well as performance.
after using it for more than 1 year I would like to make some observations that I feel are really Important:
1) Best camera on a phone. no contest at all! I mean the quality has to be seen to be believed. stills are the best in the business and 720p HD video recording is better than most 1080p videos shot on other phones. Reason- Biggest camera sensor on a phone - Bigger the sensor, greater the amount of light entering the camera therefore greater the amount of detail.

2) some of the most useful features like:
I) USB on the Go- directly connect a pen drive or even external hard disk to phone.
II)expandable memory upto 48 GB. 16GB inbuilt + 32 GB through Micro SD card
III) FM transmitter. I travel a lot and usually rent a car to travel around.there I can use FM transmitter to play my phones music collection via the car's speakers without any cables through car's radio.
IV) free lifetime navigation and offline maps. Again very useful while travelling. dont have to wait for network connection for loading the maps and best part is not using data while roaming. I know google maps is also free but it doesnt let you download maps beforehand and always needs a working data connection.
V) HDMI out with Digital Dolby Sound. this one is truly awesome. You can play videos and watch pics or play games on your tv by connecting with your phone. I have played NFS shift HD ,Angry Birds and Tom Clancy HAWX( fighter plane HD game) on my TV and the phone becomes the steering wheel or the controller! And Nokia has included the HDMI cable in the box as well.
VI) WiFI hotspot: use phone's 3g connection on laptop through WIFI. phone acts as a wireless router!
DLNA support: play videos from phone on TV through Wi-Fi.

3) Battery life: I have continuous updates going on facebook and twitter + some RSS feeds and 4 email accounts syncing always. Plus radio for around 1 hour everyday and net browsing for around 1 hour and ocassionally games as well. I would consider this as moderate to heavy usage and I get around 1- 1.5 days on a single charge. This too when this phone is more than an year old!
dropped it atleast 10 times on the floor and not even a scratch due to the aluminium body and gorilla glass screen!
and most importantly it works as a phone as well. being a nokia means it has the best signal reception and sound clarity.

92% of 12 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
13 Mar 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
The Best Nokia Till date under 20k

Hi,

I was looking for a good Multimedia Handset under 20km and had almost zeroed on Samsung Galaxy R as it packed a dual core and was ICS supported but due to its unavailability and high price if found made me cancel that. Under 20k the N8 is a master piece with good old Symbian and now Nokia Belle which has added more value to a handset launched a while back. The androids available under 20k are simply not good enough.

Pros-
Super Camera. My Sony cyber shot is simply resting without any use.
Xenon flash
Nokia belle
Battery Back up of 2-2.5 days
FM transmitter or Play via radio
3.5" amazing AMOLED Screen
superb web browser
nokia store has all relevant apps which are of use
Nokia Quality
wifi 3.5g
usb charging suppport
16gb internal + 32 gb expandable card
sealed battery
awesome build quality
SIM card slot outside saves u cumbersome way of accessing Slot
HDMI
all necessary cables within the box
usb on the go
the list is endless simply

Cons:
have to really nitpick then sim card slot is not hotswap and ntfs format not supported while using usb on the go.

Rest it's a legend just because Nokia supported it really well.
and finally kudos to flipkart for maintaining their awesome service levels.

7 of 7 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
10 Jul 2012
Nokia N8... The best ever smartphone

i have bought this phone from UAE for 1150AED. The phone came in a kit including charger, headphone, hdmi cable,usb on the go cable, data cable.

Build:
The phone is metallic so a little heavy. The build quality is very high and the screen is scratch resistant corning gorilla glass.

Software:
The phone is running on Symbian Belle OS which runs smoothly without any lag.The touch screen is perfectly smooth and qwerty is spacious enough in landscape mode.In symbian belle you can have QWERTY in portrait mode also.Swype is also available.

Camera:
The camera is 12MP with xenon flash. This catches every picture with high detail. The pictures are awesome and the video recording is HD 720p. WHICH ANDROID HAS A CAMERA ABOVE 8mp??????? AND THAT TOO FOR THIS PRICE.

Applications:
There are many applications available with the phone in ovi store. Includes whatsapp, swype, office, pdf reader, opera mini etc. I run upto 4/5 applications at a time and there is no lag.Nobody can say that its jst 680Mhz. All android users may say that android is better. But I'll surely say symbian is better bcoz this OS perfectly utilizes the limited processor and RAM. NO LAGGING LIKE ANDROIDS.

Memory:
The phone has 16GB inbuilt memory and a memorycard slot which supports upto 32GB cards. 16GB IS MORE THAN ENOUGH FOR THE WHOLE LIFE I PRESUME.

CONNECTIVITY;
WIFI/3G/2G FOR INTERNET.
HDMI CABLE FOR CONNECTING WITH YOUR TV
A USB ON THE GO CABLE WHICH LETS YOU CONNECT A FLASH DRIVE OR EVEN A PORTABLE HDD WITH THE PHONE(UNBELIEVABLE RIGHT!!!!)

NAVIGATION:
NAVIGATION IS FREE FOR LIFE USING NOKIA MAPS ONLY AVAILABLE IN N8 & E7.
NO DATA CONNECTION REQUIRED FOR NAVIGATION.
USES DIRECT GPS CONNECTION
IN ANDROID U NEED DATA CONNECTION FOR USING GOOGLE MAPS.

BATTERY:
MY BATTERY STANDS FOR A DAY AND A HALF AND ITS MORE THAN ENOUGH FOR A SMART PHONE. AN ANDROID'S BATTERY STAYS HARDLY A DAY.

OVERALL:
***** 5/5 100% satisfaction of mind guaranteed.

MY WORD:

NO ANDROID PHONE GIVES YOU THIS MUCH FEATURES FOR THIS PRICE?????????

Whatever android users say... don't care...

GO FOR SYMBIAN...

5 of 5 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
21 Feb 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Great phone with some great features

.. I bought this phone for its stunning looks and great camera. Its aluminium body makes it even more unique and often reminds me the U.S. military gadgets. Its not just a phone but a asset worth keeping as long as possible. Yes its processor is only 680mhz but it handles symbian anna and belle quite well and one can easily forget that it does't have 1Ghz processor. Not recommended for tech freaks but a good buy for others...

5 of 5 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
21 Oct 2012
i want u ...n8

it is my fav mobile ..
i've seen such ever with so many features n cost less than other lumia's(hate them)....i daily visit this website wether the phone is in stock or not...i'm gonna buy this phone but cant this year...hoping for next year to come...i luv u n8...pls be in stock n donot disappear pls pls pls

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
29 Jan 2012
Best phone

This is the best phone I ever used. I have been using this from last 6 months, feel like a jewel in hand. OS is not very fancy but a real workhorse. I heard the new Belle is on the way which still uses less than 256MB RAM. What is the use of dual core and 1 gig ram which drains battery, are we going to run Photoshop in a phone? I love the maps with voice navigation, 12 MP camera and solid feel with aluminum and gorilla glass in hand.

One should not compare this beauty with one of those Samsung plastic stuffs; plastics in hand feel very cheap. Well easier to copy into plastics :) lasts not even three months. They have nothing their own everything is copied and around the world they have been sued. If you still want to go with Android go with HTC at least they are true to talk-time and standby-time what they quote in specification.

6 of 8 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
15 Feb 2013
Nokia N8 the BEST smartphone in the world!

I am using Nokia N8 for the past 2 yearsWhy Nokia N8 is better than anyother smartphone in the world?1) Cost effective [cheaper]2) Nokia suite is the best PC suite ever - you can sync multimedia and can SEND SMS from your PC..Manage contacts easily.3) It has FM tranmitter you can play FM radio, Internet Radio, Music player and transmit via FM sothat you can tune into any FM radio nearby and listen. Very useful when travelling by car. You dont need any wires to listen to your favourite songs.[ Even Nokia's windows' phones dont have it!]4) Excellent flash ..You can shoot short distance night shots5) Terrific 12 MP camera... HD video recording is awesome.6) HDMI adapter cable supplied along with the phone enables watching directly on HDTV7)Can transfer data directly from Pendrives using the micro usb adapter[ supplied with the phone]Share on your walls... Let the world know about this wonderful device!!

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
19 Aug 2012
GO FOR IT if you're a nokia fan

me and my family are nokia loyalist, this phone infact is the BEST phone ever made by Nokia. I own a N* myself, though not purchased from flipkart. The reason I bought this phone was simply because of the camera. This Monster of a camera puts een the digicams to shame. the only competitor seems to be the Apple I phone 4S but the price difference is huge.
Now comes the part of nokia sturdiness, the phone slipped off my shorts while driving the bike at around 55kmph on a bombay road, with my heart in my mouth, i retreated to pick up my phone, the phone had got dents and scratches on it, but nothin beats NOKIA... it was still working with the screen being as good it was.
So if you're looking for a smart phone with not many apps, decent processor, great camera and music with amazing battery life ( my phone easily lasts 1.5 to 2 days with limited multimedia usage) with the sturdiness that no one else promises,
CLOSE YOUR EYES AND JUST GO FOR IT...
YOU WON'T REGRET...!!!
Konark

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
21 Jul 2012
Best Purchase

If you want to buy a phone which should have 3G, godd camera, FM transmitter, social networking like Facebook and Twitter, and maps which show where you took this or that picture, HD games, what features I could ...... If anyone OWNS N8 ASK HIM WHAT N8 IS!!!

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page12345Next Page
46 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
     Nokia N8-00 (Dark Grey) Price in India: Rs. 18899

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...