Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Norwegian Wood (English): Book

Book Reviews of Norwegian Wood (English)

Have you used this product?

Rate it now.
'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
20 Jan 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Awsome

I got introduced to Haruki through a friend of mine who absolutely swears by his books. Norwegian Wood is the second book that i read of this author. Savoured this book lil by lil so as not to finish it too soon. But the final part of the book was the best one. At the end of the book, I felt like I have experienced "life" in its entirety through this book. The various fallacies of human nature, the contradictions that are constant in our minds are brilliantly portrayed in this book. Though what you get out of this book is entirely personal and relative and depends how you can relate to your experiences in life.
Reading such a novel is an experience that no one should deny oneself.

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
04 Nov 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Soulful

This is one of Murakami's best works. It was profoundly deep and touching. I could relate to every emotion described, and the feelings of every character was intense.
There was the usual Murakami's Metophoric touch to it. The book leaves you with lingering thoughts which just becomes a part of you.

A must read!

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
26 Apr 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
A captivating capsule of adolescence !

i started reading this book , after a few pages i stopped reading,
instead , ended up living the book.

the protagonist's character is one which everyone could relate to.
the varying degrees to which the three main characters , take life seriously , is beautifully etched.

the magical metaphors used , metamorphose into stunning and seductive scenes in your mind.
there's something in this book for everyone and everything in this book makes you think of that special someone !

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
26 Nov 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Stunning

This was my first book by Haruki Murakami, and I loved it through and through. It's awesome, evocative, fabulous, beautiful, ... I'll fall short of words in praising the book. In short it's one of the best books I've read.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
09 May 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
norwegian wood: an unforgettable story

i bought this book from flipkart and read it within few days but for some reason i didn't like this book, i checked out it's reviews and they indicated that the book is wonderful,funny etc. but i just can't beleive it. so i decided to read this book again and i was amazed, i was able to understand every part of this book clearly, i can understand the feelings of pratogonists and i found it funny too, when i read this book for first time, my mistake was that i mistook toru watanabe's love as lust and i didn't understand what this book was trying to make me understand. it's a beautiful book and i love it's story a lot, many people say that they can't enjoy it because of it's metaphors and it's dark but i read this book 2 times and i am going to read it again. it's one of the best works of haruki murakami and he is the world's greatest author.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
21 Feb 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
One of the best books I've read

I have read at least four to five books of Murakami before Norwegian Wood. I can say without any exaggeration that this is Murakami at his finest. Reading any of Murakami's books simulate your mind and soul, this one maybe more than the others.. There are so many quirky, poignant and wonderfully relatable moments in this book.. All written in the simplest prose.. You would not regret this buy!

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
03 Jan 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Excellent dealing with human realtionship

This is the second book from Murakami, which I read. I'm simply amazed with the flow of the story. Murakami has great strength in visualizing us with his narration. I 'm able to relate to the places , the underground eateries, bar and so on. The contradiction within self and the different relationship looked so normal that you definitely will be engrossed until you complete. Its a treat to read.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
10 Jul 2013
Simply awesome masterpiece!

This book is beautifully written, and I really enjoyed the characters and identified with their struggles. This is a moving story about love and friendship and first relationships. I really enjoyed it and I’m looking forward to reading more of Murakami’s work.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
16 Jan 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Not upto the Expectation

A nice read. I could relate to every emotion described, and the feelings of every character was intense. But in between I felt that in between the story was moved to some other way which exaggerate the story.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
31 Dec 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
The music of words

This is a love story....but behind the veil of a love story there is a deeper author asks a deeper question. What is really the boundary between the sane and the insane. He goes on to show that it is indeed not clear and distinct just as the boundary between reality and imagination and theme which percolates all of literature.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page12Next Page
16 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
    Book: Norwegian Wood (English) by Haruki Murakami
    ISBN Number: 0099554542, 9780099554547, 978-0099554547

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...