Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Norwegian Wood (English): Book

Book Reviews of Norwegian Wood (English)

Have you used this product?

Rate it now.
'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
20 Jan 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Awsome

I got introduced to Haruki through a friend of mine who absolutely swears by his books. Norwegian Wood is the second book that i read of this author. Savoured this book lil by lil so as not to finish it too soon. But the final part of the book was the best one. At the end of the book, I felt like I have experienced "life" in its entirety through this book. The various fallacies of human nature, the contradictions that are constant in our minds are brilliantly portrayed in this book. Though what you get out of this book is entirely personal and relative and depends how you can relate to your experiences in life.
Reading such a novel is an experience that no one should deny oneself.

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
04 Nov 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Soulful

This is one of Murakami's best works. It was profoundly deep and touching. I could relate to every emotion described, and the feelings of every character was intense.
There was the usual Murakami's Metophoric touch to it. The book leaves you with lingering thoughts which just becomes a part of you.

A must read!

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
26 Apr 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
A captivating capsule of adolescence !

i started reading this book , after a few pages i stopped reading,
instead , ended up living the book.

the protagonist's character is one which everyone could relate to.
the varying degrees to which the three main characters , take life seriously , is beautifully etched.

the magical metaphors used , metamorphose into stunning and seductive scenes in your mind.
there's something in this book for everyone and everything in this book makes you think of that special someone !

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
26 Nov 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Stunning

This was my first book by Haruki Murakami, and I loved it through and through. It's awesome, evocative, fabulous, beautiful, ... I'll fall short of words in praising the book. In short it's one of the best books I've read.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
01 May 2015
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
A cult book from Japan, which could have been a story of any urban society if not for Suicides

I enjoyed reading this book a lot, probably one of the very few that I consider as un-put-down-able but not for it's language or the thoughts and ideas but just for the fast track pace in a love story where Murakami was more of a surgeon than an author, cutting well developed characters out of the book with two or three lines. Nice and novel style, I liked it. Very beautifully created the natural atmosphere of the sanatorium, the places they went out for walks and fun. The emotions were high strung but equally brought down to the earth like a free fall without remorse or attachment.
I am still trying to figure out, the exact placement of the Watanabe (the main character and the narrator) who is probably somewhere in Germany around 17 years later... the book ends without any mention to this.

Just one thing that I am finding it more and more, in his books is the fixations about suicides. His latest book Colourless too has the similar suicide back ground.

Highly Recommend reading for its real portrayal of Japanese people and their emotions, beautiful landscapes and pace.

Shashi
Om Namah Shivaya

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
18 Apr 2015
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Norwegian Wood

Beautiful book. It is like poetry, but only in prose passages. The flow is smooth, the transitions flow beautifully.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
Pramod
23 Jan 2015
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
the best book to start the murakami experience!

fell in love with this book after the first 4 pages. and it just keeps getting better. the writing is beautiful, and the writing just puts the character right in front of you - makes you feels what they're supposed to be feeling. Looking forward to 1Q84 now!!!

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
09 May 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
norwegian wood: an unforgettable story

i bought this book from flipkart and read it within few days but for some reason i didn't like this book, i checked out it's reviews and they indicated that the book is wonderful,funny etc. but i just can't beleive it. so i decided to read this book again and i was amazed, i was able to understand every part of this book clearly, i can understand the feelings of pratogonists and i found it funny too, when i read this book for first time, my mistake was that i mistook toru watanabe's love as lust and i didn't understand what this book was trying to make me understand. it's a beautiful book and i love it's story a lot, many people say that they can't enjoy it because of it's metaphors and it's dark but i read this book 2 times and i am going to read it again. it's one of the best works of haruki murakami and he is the world's greatest author.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
21 Feb 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
One of the best books I've read

I have read at least four to five books of Murakami before Norwegian Wood. I can say without any exaggeration that this is Murakami at his finest. Reading any of Murakami's books simulate your mind and soul, this one maybe more than the others.. There are so many quirky, poignant and wonderfully relatable moments in this book.. All written in the simplest prose.. You would not regret this buy!

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
03 Jan 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Excellent dealing with human realtionship

This is the second book from Murakami, which I read. I'm simply amazed with the flow of the story. Murakami has great strength in visualizing us with his narration. I 'm able to relate to the places , the underground eateries, bar and so on. The contradiction within self and the different relationship looked so normal that you definitely will be engrossed until you complete. Its a treat to read.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page12Next Page
19 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
    Book: Norwegian Wood (English) by Haruki Murakami
    ISBN Number: 0099554542, 9780099554547, 978-0099554547
Were these reviews helpful?
Yes
No
Thanks for your vote!
Please write your feedback before submitting.

PAYMENT METHOD

Loading ...