Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Norwegian Wood (English): Book

Book Reviews of Norwegian Wood (English)

Have you used this product?

Rate it now.
'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
20 Jan 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Awsome

I got introduced to Haruki through a friend of mine who absolutely swears by his books. Norwegian Wood is the second book that i read of this author. Savoured this book lil by lil so as not to finish it too soon. But the final part of the book was the best one. At the end of the book, I felt like I have experienced "life" in its entirety through this book. The various fallacies of human nature, the contradictions that are constant in our minds are brilliantly portrayed in this book. Though what you get out of this book is entirely personal and relative and depends how you can relate to your experiences in life.
Reading such a novel is an experience that no one should deny oneself.

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
04 Nov 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Soulful

This is one of Murakami's best works. It was profoundly deep and touching. I could relate to every emotion described, and the feelings of every character was intense.
There was the usual Murakami's Metophoric touch to it. The book leaves you with lingering thoughts which just becomes a part of you.

A must read!

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
26 Apr 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
A captivating capsule of adolescence !

i started reading this book , after a few pages i stopped reading,
instead , ended up living the book.

the protagonist's character is one which everyone could relate to.
the varying degrees to which the three main characters , take life seriously , is beautifully etched.

the magical metaphors used , metamorphose into stunning and seductive scenes in your mind.
there's something in this book for everyone and everything in this book makes you think of that special someone !

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
26 Nov 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Stunning

This was my first book by Haruki Murakami, and I loved it through and through. It's awesome, evocative, fabulous, beautiful, ... I'll fall short of words in praising the book. In short it's one of the best books I've read.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
12 Aug 2011
first to review
Peaceful Read

This is a sheer beauty by Murakami. It's a tranquil journey of a Japanese teen, involving lots of patience and realizations.

You are automatically teleported to follow the story. A must read.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
16 Jan 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Not upto the Expectation

A nice read. I could relate to every emotion described, and the feelings of every character was intense. But in between I felt that in between the story was moved to some other way which exaggerate the story.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
31 Dec 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
The music of words

This is a love story....but behind the veil of a love story there is a deeper author asks a deeper question. What is really the boundary between the sane and the insane. He goes on to show that it is indeed not clear and distinct just as the boundary between reality and imagination and theme which percolates all of literature.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
10 Aug 2012
a nostalgic feeling..

its very rare that one finds such a book..i got to know about this book by chance..once i started to read it..i found it strange..but i couldn't put down the book..it was so gripping..the emotions felt by the characters are surreal..takes us into a nostalgic walk through someone else's eyes..like a dream..it captures us..
this is the first book that i read of Murakami.. truly remarkable..

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
04 Jun 2012
the ordinary people are made extraordinary by Murakami with his daring narrative style

this was my first Murakami read and i was intrigued right from the first page. a simple story is made brilliant by the author's skill of telling a story in a daring manner. post-colonial in tone, with an ordinary college boy as the hero without any heroic attributes, the minute details of the simple lives and events told with rare boldness make it an interesting read.most of all, the 'one-of-a-kind' narrative style deserves appreciation.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
07 May 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
I once had a Girl.....

This is how goes starting lines of "Norwegian Wood" .This is my first Murakami book......and boy did I loved it!!! The fact that "Norwegian Wood" is also one of my favorite song made it icing on the cake.
Sometimes you may wonder why people read such type of stuff but then I know the answer if not these type of books then which ones we will read? Absolutely a must read for all especially young males this book catches all the emotions of young and restless mind.I can't wait to read all other Murakami's Work!!!

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page12Next Page
11 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
    Book: Norwegian Wood (English) by Haruki Murakami
    ISBN Number: 0099554542, 9780099554547, 978-0099554547
Were these reviews helpful?
Yes
No
Thanks for your vote!
Please write your feedback before submitting.

PAYMENT METHOD

Loading ...