Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
SAMSUNG Galaxy S II (Noble Black, 16 GB): Mobile

Reviews of SAMSUNG Galaxy S II (Noble Black, 16 GB)

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 285 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
09 Jun 2012
For all those who have the Samsung Galaxy S2

Guys and Gals... First off, there are two variants - Galaxy S2 I9100 and I9100G...

Those who have I9100G - Well I have nothing to say, but you just ended up in the wrong side of the table. I don't want to say anything about this model.

Those who own Galaxy S2 I9100 - This is the best DualCore smartphone that you can look out for. The only problem is the battery backup. But again, there are many ways to improve it. I customized in such a way, that I get 1 entire day battery backup with normal usage. Look up on the internet on the way to do it.

ICS 4.0.3 still have issues. Its not entirely bug free. I am waiting for its next update to resolve few known issues.

Also, when I did the upgrade from GB to ICS, I initially regretted as battery lasted only for 5 hours. ICS is powerful and it functions differently than the GB editions. that's why it consumes more power. It takes time to calibrate the battery as well (well wish Samsung included a 2000mAH battery). So have patience and learn about its features and functions to get the best use of it...

By the way - All Super AMOLED screens have limited life span. So don't expect the life expectancy of a NOKIA 3310.
Don't use bright and colorful screen. Go for a grey scale or less blue colored screens. Else you will end up burning some pixels in a year time.

Once again, Smartphones are for Smart People. Don't expect 100% satisfaction just out of the box. You need to learn about it and customize it.

Flipkart rocks! Keep it up!.
Thanks !! Adios!

100% of 21 users found this review helpful.
10 Jun 2011
A great phone...

Samsung Galaxy S 2 is the best android phone on the market right now. Both from a specification point of view and from a usability point of view.

Display- A gorgeous 4.3" Super AMOLED Plus display- You've got to really see it to appreciate it. It is incredibly bright, vibrant and the colours are very vivid... 800*480 resolution is a bit less in the age of qHD displays, but the Super AMOLED Plus gorgeousness more than makes up for that...

Specs- 1.2 GHz dual core application processor, Incredible graphics, crazy thin device, Gorilla glass, Expandable micro SD memory, Feather light... What more could a person ask for in a phone? If you are not satisfied, there is the 1080p 30fps video and playback. The 8MP rear camera takes great pics and the quality comes close to a low-end point and shoot. Of course it doesn't come in the league of the Nokia N8, but still, it can stand its ground.

Android 2.3.3 with an imminent upgrade to 2.3.4= awesomeness. Agreed that Samsung update history has been spotty at best but this phone is here to stay and it will receive the latest and greatest from Google.

The new touchwiz actually is a nice addition to the stock experience. There are resizable widgets and the general impression of the fit and finish-Samsung have taken their time and improved their software overlay.

The only complaint I have about this phone is the price- Samsung is really pricing this phone out of the market! That said the flipkart price is a little more just and palatable.

Also, Samsung had mentioned the Near Field Communication (NFC) hardware on their press release, but now they seem to have backtracked... Every mention of the NFC feature have vanished! It is in no way a deal breaker, but Samsung ought to give what they promised. And besides, though India may not have a lot of NFC-tech based applications, it certainly is an interesting feature for developers, of whom India is definitely not short of...

Ont he whole, the phone is a fantastic buy and if someone arranges for the money and buys this phone, they most certainly will not regret- for a long long time!

89% of 110 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
09 Aug 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Flipkart Your the BEST !!

I ordered the Samsung Galaxy S2 which was delivered to me in 3 working days like promised. However to my misfortune I received a defective piece. The device heated up like a oven on using WiFi or packet data, the camera was very bad .. guess the camera sensor was also faulty and overall the phone seemed very sluggish. The new S2 seems to work fine.

I reported the defective piece to Flipkart and they immediately arranged for the replacement which reached me on the promised date. Where else does on get such a service in India ?? Flipkart - You Rock

I am certain to make utmost possible purchases on Flipkart.

95% of 21 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
14 May 2012
Great phone!

Perhaps the first phone I purchased solely on reading reviews; I usually take the time to check out working models of any phone I purchase and here's my feedback on this device after using it for 6 months:

Out of the box, the phone runs on Android 2.3.3 (gingerbread), upgradable via kies to 2.3.5 or 2.3.6; an ICS (android 4.0) update is round the corner.
The device is ultra-thin and ultra-light too. For comparison, my secondary device, the Nokia x1-01 is heavier than it.
The display is a SuperAMOLED PLUS display (protected by gorilla glass) , 800x480 res, with nice contrast levels and vibrant color.You have an option of tweaking the display mode to suit your preference.

The 1.2Ghz dual core Exynos processor enables you to perform almost any task with zero lag.
You also have the mali-400 GPU which is able to handle any game thrown at it with utmost ease.I've tried Asphalt 6, Shadow gun , Modern combat 3 and many more.No lags whatsoever.
The SGS2 comes with 16gb memory of which its split into 1.97 gb for software and 11.6gb for storage. The remaining space is occupied by the OS and Samsung bloatware.
It comes with one GB ram of which again 834 mb is available for use.
The Touchwiz interface, though not as attractive as HTC's sense, is much faster and snappier, with no instance of lag.
Also in the package is an 8MP camera(with 1080p recording support) which until recently , was considered as one of the best cameras in the android league. A 2mp front cam is present for those into video calling.

Call quality is quite good, voices are clear. The speaker ,though not loud, is clear with no distortion at full volume.
Certain cases for this phone interfere with the call clarity as reported by some persons I called while using them...The same may be fixed by using a bluetooth headset, or not using a case at all.
Battery life ,as is expected for a phone with such high specs, is on the lower side.Those planning a 2 day trip are advised to pack their charger along.
Various scenarios of usage vs battery life :
2-3 hours Wi-fi(active use)/1 hr - 1.5 hr 3g + 1.5 hr voice calls + 40 mins gaming + general use (display at 40% brightness)= 20 - 24 hrs battery life
2-3 hrs 3g(active use) +2 hr voice + 1 hr gaming = 10 - 15hr battery life
Just voice calls + sms , no net, no gaming = 40-48 hours battery life. (or more)
A few tips to conserve battery life : Keep screen brightness low unless required. Stick to 2g networks unless u require to make video calls or browse the net, close open apps using the task manager, disable auto-sync , auto rotate and visual eye-candy.

To sum it up, this is a really awesome device, highly recommend you to get one!

9 of 9 users found this review helpful.
08 Jun 2011
Disappointed with Battery Backup

Nice to have this phone but again battery backup is the problem... only lasts for maximum 9 hours after full charge ...
What I use in 9 hours

1 hour net surfing (including email checking),
10 mins calls,
40% brightness ,
wifi on 70% time...
phone on 3g network ...

FULLY discharged in 9 hours

73% of 248 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
24 May 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Galaxy S2 I9100 with ICS

Just got my S2 today,3 days after ordering it on Flipkart.Packaging great as usual.Got out of the box ICS(4.0.3) and model I9100(not I9100G).As a previous Android user,managing battery(tweaking) is fine and get a battery life of 1 day with medium to high usage(sync,GPS ,mobile data off while not in use)

8 of 8 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
02 Sep 2012
Please read before you buy!

This is the best phone YOUR money can ever buy.

First of all to all the users who are crying about the phones performance and battery, it is always advisable to get a little research done before you put in your money. We no longer in 80's and 90's when there were no tools available. Use the WORLD WIDE WEB a little rather and spending time behind comparing prices on other retailers.

Talking business...
I will try and talk as much as possible in a COMMON MAN's language.

I have been using this phone for last 6 months and have not encountered a single problem with it whatsoever.

It gets a little tricky!
There are two variants of Galaxy S2 available in the Market.
1) Galaxy S2 9100 (Older version - now phased out)
2) Galaxy S2 9100G (Newer version - too many stories about why it was launched)

I have used both the versions and there is a hell lot of difference in terms of performance. So please check that version you are using. Is it G or Non-G.

Now there is no difference in looks, price or specifications of the phone.

But when we deep dive in the the REAL TECHNICAL ASPECT, there two phone have different PROCESSORS and GPU.

Galaxy S2 9100:
This is the phone every hardcore android enthusiast would love to use at least one.
> The processor for this phone runs at the full allotted capacity 1200 MHz.
> Has a better 3D performance.
> Better performance and no lags on multitasking.
> Heats up a little on a heavy usage.
> Poor battery life compared to the other counterpart (9100G)

Galaxy S2 9100G:
Now this is the Greatest Smartphone for an ORDINARY MAN.
Yes, it would suit you if you have a fairly low usage and not a HD Game Freak!

> Compared to its counterpart, this phone seems to be CLOCKED/LOCKED at 1000 MHz, hardly runs at its full capacity
> Inferior 3D performance
> At times tends to lag and freeze
> A slightly better battery life
> Doesnt heat up

For people who crib or cry about battery life, there are some applications available which will help you get a better battery life.

The best one so for with over 10000000 downloads through Android Market, JUICE DEFENDER is best thing to save your battery. Help the developers and once you are comfortable BUY the paid version.

Be it a software or a hardware (phone), spend some time to learn it before you cry about it.
Remember guys these smart phones are just like mini computers, so surf the www and learn the tweaks.

Overall I would rate this phone a 5 for its sheer performance and value for money!

92% of 13 users found this review helpful.
22 Jul 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Greatest smartphone ever: Goes Dead

The worlds greatest smartphone ever? It was. I loved it for a month. Now it lies dead. switch it on and give it 10 secs and it hangs. In case it doesn't, give it some time in your pocket and you will notice that it has got shutdown automatically and won't start until you pull out and replace the battery.
Apparently I'm not the only one facing such issues with the phone. searching on google made me realize there are others around the world who face the same issues.

6 of 6 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
13 Oct 2011
Samsung Galaxy S2

Samung Galaxy S2 Review

Pros:

1) Super Fast Processor

2) 1GB RAM one more plus

3) Excellent Display (Adjusts display brightness according to conditions).

4) Excellent User Interface for phone calls and Android apps.

5) Camera is Good.

6) Music System Rocks (SRS Effect)

7) 16gb Phone storage is good

8) Touch wiz 4.0 is really good; I feel it’s equal to Apple. (It’s Butter’ly smooth)

9) Battery Backup is good.

1) Best in smart phone category (Considering the display Size of this phone)

2) Battery Backup Depends on Signal Strength, WIFI usage, 3G/2G Connectivity

10) Most Android apps are free unlike apple apps.

11) 180 degree viewing angle

12) Browser is Damm fast

13) Multi-tasking is one of the greatest features. (Unlike apple)

14) HD movies are Dammm Good.

15) Video Recording is also good. (Video Quality)

16) we can carry additional battery (unlike one battery in apple which is fixed)

17) Excellent wizard to switch on of switch of GPS Navigation/WIFI.

18) Identifies your location in Google map with super fast processor.

Cons:

1) Don’t expect HD photos using this camera.

2) Email client is complicated.

3) It takes some time to understand user interface. (Not as easy as apple).

4) Would have been good if the class is scratch proof.

5) Charging of battery taking a bit of time.


Rating:4/5

77% of 22 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
01 Nov 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
the phone is amazing and comes with excellent flipkart service`

the phone is the best in the market
ts amazingly fast
and the phone battery is just amazing
auto brightness -on
wifi -on
gps-on
auto rotation-on

when i first received the phone i didnt charge it only
i just started using it out of the box
battery last excatly 10hrs 5 min

amazing and really after charge hope it will stay more

i dnt play games although in my device
hope u guys can take home something with that review

5 of 5 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page1234567Next Page
285 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
     SAMSUNG Galaxy S II (Noble Black, 16 GB) Price in India: Rs. 18999
Were these reviews helpful?
Yes
No
Thanks for your vote!
Please write your feedback before submitting.

PAYMENT METHOD

Loading ...