Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Samsung Omnia W I8350: Mobile

Reviews of Samsung Omnia W I8350

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 211 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
12 Mar 2012
Awesome buy

if u are finding problem in transfering file using zune den No need of using zune.
U can use the phone as usb drive without zune by doin following steps:
1.Open Windows Registry Editor by typing regedit in your start menu
2.Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESYSTEMCurrentControlSetEnumUSB
3.Perform a search for ZuneDriver
1.The search should yield a result similar to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESYSTEMCurrentControlSetEnumUSBVID_045E&PID_04EC&MI_006&27ffd631&0&0000Device ParametersWUDF
4.Click up one level to the Device Parameters key
5.Change ShowInShell from 0 to 1
6.Change PortableDeviceNameSpaceExcludeFromShell from 1 to 0
7.Change EnableLegacySupport from 0 to 1
8.Change EnableDefaultAutoPlaySupport

You can now plug your Samsung Omnia 7 into your Windows PC using the supplied USB cable and it will be recognized as a USB drive and then u can transfer files without zune

100% of 16 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
21 May 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Best midrange Windows Phone

The pros for this phone are well known,lets discuss some of its cons and the REMEDY to those :)
1>FILE TRANSFER without ZUNE!!
Follow these steps to use your phone in mass storage mode:-
1.Open Windows Registry Editor by typing regedit in your start menu
2.Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESYSTEMCurrentControlSetEnumUSB
3.Perform a search for ZuneDriver
1.The search should yield a result similar to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESYSTEMCurrentControlSetEnumUSBVID_045E&PID_04EC&MI_006&27ffd631&0&0000Device
ParametersWUDF
4.Click up one level to the Device Parameters key
5.Change ShowInShell from 0 to 1
6.Change PortableDeviceNameSpaceExcludeFromShell from 1 to 0
7.Change EnableLegacySupport from 0 to 1
8.Change EnableDefaultAutoPlaySupport
You can now plug your Samsung Omnia 7 into your Windows PC using the supplied USB cable and it will be recognized as a USB drive and then u can transfer files without
zune

2>This phone SUPPORTS custom ringtones. Applications for free ringtones are available in market place for free. Don't be disheartened if anyone tells you that you have to use default ringtones only :)

3>No DivX/Xvid support.... No problem,convert your video files before you transfer them :)
[For rookies,you can use FORMAT FACTORY,a free s/w to convert. Convert in any format,just be careful that you change the encoding to any encoding except DivX or Xvid and you are good to go :)

4>MS OFFICE files CAN be transferred. You can use "PC file download" application for this cause.Other apps may be available too.

File transfer using Bluetooth is yet to be figured out but I guess this review may shift the odds in favour of WP7 :)
People forget Android,its too common,try WP7!!
[For those using android,don't settle for anything below 4.0 Ice cream Sandwich ;) ]

People,go for this phone,its display,Interface,fluidity everything is just about perfect and the power you get with
1.4 GHz Scorpion processor is unparalled!!
Yes,I'll recommend this phone!!

100% of 11 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
16 Jan 2012
In love with this phone

This comes from an early adopter and huge fan of Google's Android OS.

I have been amazed by Android's capabilities. Be it multitasking, or flash-compatibility. But where the Windows Phone just blew my minds off is by making a lot of functionalities actually usable. And how.

I used it first at a retail outlet, and I fell in love with how the UI just moved around to my every swipe and tap. It's been a week now and so far it's amazing. The UI is just incredible and knocks the socks off iOS and Android. It is blazingly fast. It switches between apps effortlessly and now my favourite pastime has become 'see if you can beat the Windows Phone.' Trust me, I am not making any friends here.

It books tickets faster than any phone here.
It accesses and posts stuff on facebook faster.
Games load faster and can be switched between easier.

And grudgingly, a few cons:
- No extendable SD Card memory. This would've been a deal breaker. But I am fine since only my iPod can carry all the songs I have. That's over 50GB of music.
- No LED notification. For one you won't be disappointed that no one's texted you.
- Whatsapp's WP version is wishy washy at the best. Sure, it functions. But not as snappy as other Windows apps. I hope it gets better soon.

Nifty touches:
Xbox Live Avatar
Live Tiles, Contact Grouping
Character seeker while typing (VERY innovative; it's a use-it-to-know-it thing; type a long sentence and long press the text field to bring out a hovering cursor)
Switching between previous images and camera mode with a single swipe
Camera button can unlock screen and open camera mode (ready in 2 seconds; kid you not)

If you are worried about the availability of Apps in Marketplace. So far, the only apps that I have missed are Google Currents and Homerun Battle 3D. So it's not that big an issue.

Do try a Windows Phone hands-on to know what I've been talking about. There is very little chance that you will be disappointed. I know I wasn't.

85% of 47 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
09 Jan 2012
U wanna Buy a phone at 18k range..this is it.

I am writing this review after an scrutinizing analysis on phones for 15-25k and i ended up buying this phone,Lets make it easy by adding my views by specs for your info.
OS:Very refreshing and no flaws,best part is i am tired of looking at android devices all over.
Display: One word"Super Amoled display with corning Gorilla glass" i am blown away with the display.
Touch: Flows like water, thanks to the 1.4GHZ processor.
Lag or latency: None observed in last one week,Amazing processing speed.
Camera: Terrific shots in the day light,and flash works like magic.
no more worries about the pics in night.
design: good and handy..but not a monster screen like S2.fits in hand beautifully.
Build quality: no sqeeks but back cover is very cheap,thin plastic sheet,but if you dont open it frequenly u have no problem,coz it sits perfectly.
music:makes it better looking with Zune player.and sound quality is competitive.
loud speeker: Does the job for me. and ear piece is crystal clear.i like this feature a lot coz this a phone.
Connectivity: Hands down to WIFI u pair it once then never in your life as it connects itself whenever the network available.
Apps: I am not an apps master but useful apps.
Rating:8.5/10
3 months i was in the market to buy a phone with 25k budget,i bought this one after checking it in the samsung store.If u have the budget and taste buy the beauty, u wont regret i promise.

Finally thanks to Flipkart....U guys are amazing.

84% of 32 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
04 Jan 2012
An Affordable Window

Windows Phone OS has relatively very strict requirements. Keeping that in mind, Samsung I8350 is as cheap as windows phones will get (atleast until Windows Phone Tango has arrived). Nevertheless it flaunts a 1.4 ghz scorpion processor, 3.7 inch SuperAMOLED screen and a metal body. Not bad, Samsung!
The OS on the other hand is not as versatile as, say, Android, but it may come as a breath of fresh air to some. Simple, fast and beautiful. However over-dependence on Zune, no Bluetooth file transfer, relatively less apps and no true multi-tasking can’t be overlooked.
Pros:
1. Albeit being at the bottom of the food chain (for Windows phones), the cpu and gpu(1.4GHzQualcomm MSM8255Snapdragon CPU, Adreno 205 GPU, 512MB of RAM) don’t scream it. On the contrary, they are as good as any windows phone out there.
2. 3.7” SuperAMOLED is one gorgeous piece of hardware (It has pentile matrix though).
3. 8gb inbuilt storage.
4. Mobile Office looks as good as it has ever on any OS.
5. Metal back gives it a sturdy and premium feel.
6. 5MP snapper does well in decently lit environments
Cons:
Most cons would be due to limitations of the OS as has been listed earlier and is obviously common to all windows phones.
1. Other than those, the video recording is not something to boast about.
2. The speaker is relatively quiet.
Competition:
The most obvious alternative is Nokia Lumia 710. Lumia phones have an edge over other Windows phones in having nokia drive. 710, however, is all plastic and has a ClearBlack LCD(not AMOLED). But its price may fall in coming months.
HTC Radar comes with a 3.8” S-LCD and 1 ghz scorpion processor, and as of now, is priced higher than Omnia W I8350. If price is not a constraint, you can probably go all the way up to Nokia Lumia 800, if you find its polycarbonate body irresistible.
Omnia W I8350 faces two hurdles. One is the hype that Nokia has created during its launch of the Lumia duo. It is almost Nokia Lumia or any other OS sans windows. The second and as important is the presence of many Android alternatives at this price. Sony Ericcsson Ray and Sony Ericcsson Neo V from the Sony family and more importantly Samsung galaxy R I9103 with its dual core processor may well be worthy competitors.

78% of 55 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
24 Feb 2012
Windows 7.5 and Omnia w, a great combo

Recently baught this phone with lot of hesitation leaving the hot Android. I do not regret with windows mango. Infact its awesome.
Facebook/twitter are very tightly integrated with Contacts and pictures. I would say its a great social networking phone.

And about Omnia w, the AMOLED rocks. its really awesome. and the processor is fast.

Togather with mango, omnia touch never lags. Actually only after using this phone, i am feeling that some of the Android out there are slow... believe me... i am feeling it... anybody will feel it...

Verdict: Awesome phone.... if u are not a great fan of android you should go for it. Even if u are a fan of android, still you should try Mango before rejecting this one...

7 of 7 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
04 Feb 2012
If you love different and new and want a safe bet , buy it

[OS]
First of All , Windows Mango Xperience is so new , different , fresh that you will spend a lot of days xploring you spent device just like your first gadget love .
Live Tiles give th
[Display]
Add to this Xperience Samsung's amazing Super Amoled Display and it just what you want in a phone .
Sometimes i just put call on speaker phone and stare at the screen , turn it to 180deg and there is no lack on visibility . Super Amoled gives great pleasure in viewing HD Movies ,Youtube .I saw Hurt Locker , XMen First Class ,Friends with Benefits all HD .

[Games]
It is great Middle Level Gaming Experience on a phone if you know what i mean .
Thanks to 1.4 GHz proc and XBOX .
Purchased NFS undercover and Assassins Creed and got totally addicted to the exprience .
Phone never hung , crashed while playing NFS at Full throttle for long hours .

[Look and Feel]
Metallic look and Sleek Form give it a Professional look also and i can easily boast it in my office .

[MS office]
Very Easy to use and very helpful in daily and official live ehwn combined with Skydrive

[Camera]
Okay if u already have canon or nikon at home .Great for day light shoots , bad for dark times of the day .

[disappointments]
No mass-storage , Not every Mp3 in your can be your ringtone until it is < 1MB of duration 40s .

[Doubts]
Whether it will be upgradable to Apollo version due in 4th quarter this year .

[Whether to buy from Flipkart ]

Definitely yes , although a freebie is available in some other sister sites .

7 of 7 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
27 Dec 2011
first to review
Much better choice compared Nokia-Lumia

This has Super AMOLED - one of the best available displays (better than Lumia 800 and 710).
It has a secondary camera for Video call which is not there in Lumia
and importantly it is less priced compared to Lumia's.
Nokia, you don't have any more chances to get the market share again that you lost already.

72% of 138 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
29 Dec 2011
Gud phone with few cons

Main disadvantages:
Non-expandable storage
No mass storage
Zune-only file management and sync
No Bluetooth file transfers
No Flash (nor Silverlight) support in the browser
No DivX/XviD video support (automatic transcoding provided by Zune software)

78% of 49 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
18 Feb 2012
Best Windows phone under 20K hands down

If you are looking for a WP 7.5 Mango phoneunder then this is it.
With the price drop, Lumia 710 cant even compete.
Since its a windows phone it will have all the drawbacks and advanteges of the WP 7.5 Mango OS.

Heres my assessment: 4/5. 1 point deducted for the sound and video quality and no mass storage mode.

Pros.
1. Silky smooth beautiful UI
2. Novelty Value.
3. Very customizable with infinite windows tiles.
4. Impressive battery life.
5. Very good social networking suite.
6. Excellent hardware, at this price range no Android phone
can offer you such specs.
7. Excellent multitasking.
8. Smooth Gaming with no hangs.
9. Decent still imaging.
10. Bing search is excellent
11. Very good browsing experience and email synchronization.
12. Mobile MS Office (full version).
13. Super amoled display with gorilla glass.
14. Looks classy.
15. No threat of Virus attacks as of now.

Cons.
1. Only 8gb inbuilt non expandable storage (skydrive offers 25 gb more and office documents can only be transfered through skydrive but I did see an app with a work around for this but havent tried it yet)
2. Zune required to add any media content. Very limited formats for video.
3. Custom ringtones should be only 40 seconds long and less than 1 mb in size(need to change genre of mp3 to 'Ringtone' in zune).
4. Sound quality below average even with the headphones.
5. My home key button doesnt respond everytime its pressed (needs to be pressed very hard..but could be a problem with my device only)
6. Limited apps but you will get all the popular ones.
7. No bluetooth transfer of files but can connect bluetooth headset.
8. Video quality is ok but nothing out of this world.
9. No free navigation software.

*I didnt face any issues wit wifi connectivity and havent tried 3g yet. Havent had any problem playng media off the net from youtube and soundcloud.

Overall I'm completely satisfied. If you want a Windows phone then this is it.

6 of 6 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page1234567Next Page
211 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
     Samsung Omnia W I8350 (Metallic Black) Price in India: Rs. 15200

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...