Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX150 Point & Shoot Camera: Camera

Reviews of Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX150 Point & Shoot Camera

Have you used this product?

Rate it now.
'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
06 Dec 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
SUPER AWESOME CAMERA !!! GO FOR IT BLINDLY !!!!

This is one of the best cameras in this price range-no other manufacturer comes even close.I have used this camera for 2 months, these are my observations-----
1)It has a sony bsi cmos sensor+ awesome sony g lens-the photos and videos are simply great-clarity and color reproduction is just fantastic. I am an average camera user, this camera was meant for someone like me who doesn't know very much about cameras n photography but uses it for important occasions, celebrations, events like birthdays, picnics etc. you just need to press the shutter button-no worries at all, it is meant for novices like me.
2)The camera focuses like a pro(pic and video) -very fast and accurate, the time between 2 consecutive shots is very minimal (about 1 sec-I am using class 10 sd card) so you can keep clicking and you wont miss any special moment of your small child as the camera responds and focuses very fast.
3) Video is great and sharp-avchd and mp4 formats in 1080 p quality ,the mic picks up sound very nicely.
4)Camera connects to pc very easily no issues extremely easy to download my pics n vids to the computer.
5)Low light performance is pretty good because of the special HDR mode, taking crisp close up macro pics is also possible, image stabilization is awesome for pics n vids. 10 x optical zoom is great and 40 x digital zoom beyond that surprisingly maintains A LOT OF clarity-you can zoom even in video mode.
6)The flash is pretty decent but some special modes like intelligent auto plus dont really require a flash to take a good picture, the camera automatically takes 2-3 quick consecutive snaps and joins them to make one sharp & clear composite picture-so YOU DON'T NEED TO KEEP USING THE FLASH WHILE TAKING PICS OF OTHERS LIKE SMALL CHILDREN N IRRITATE THEIR DELICATE EYES WITH THE HARSH FLASH.
Finally, I dont use panorama mode a lot but it really is effortless.This camera is so awesome, for some documents or newspaper clippings or business cards etc, i dont use a scanner to store it, I simply click an easy, sharp n precise picture with this camera to store the data.
I can keep going on and on but i will finish here by saying this beautiful gem of a camera has no issues at all and is better than any canon , nikon or samsung at this price, and i would suggest that you guys go for this without any worries whatsoever if you plan to buy this as your family camera & if you want to leave all the setting headaches & technicalities & tough decision making of taking good pics & vids to your camera-this camera will never disappoint.

100% of 16 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
29 Jul 2012
Excellent Camera- Zoom, Clarity, Handy & good for low light photography

Why I bought this camera?
1) Zoom- 10X Zoom, 40x Digital Zoom (up to 20x clear zoom) and 18.2 MP
2) Clarity- Superb and many options/scene selections/shoot modes
3) Exmor R CMOS Image Sensor - offers great clarity in low light photography (very less do you need to use flash)
4) Handy- Fits your pocket, you can take this anywhere you go and it wont bothers you.
5) The various modes will help us to get excellent picture clarity even if the external conditions are not suitable

Few facts
1.) Price is more because of Exmor R CMOS, but really worth it if you don't want to miss a beautiful moment at night/low light conditions.
2.) When you use the special modes, it takes few seconds for the final picture to get displayed, we may think quick shots are not possible, but the camera has various continuous shot options which can help you capture all moments without even missing any. Also normal mode is available which delivers instant picture.
3.) There is a model which offers 10x Zoom and 16.1 MP at a lower price but does not have Exmor R CMOS Image Sensor and some other features this camera has.

This camera has many other features; you can read it in the additional information section.

I am very much satisfied with this camera and the picture it delivers. Thanks to Sony!!!

4 of 5 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
26 Dec 2012
brilliant low light performance

it was a sudden decision that im gonna buy a point n shoot... i was saving for a d3100, but i needed a camera urgently for a trip, so after about 4-5 days of research, i bought the wx-150.

here are a quick pros n cons i found about this model:

pros:
1. low light performance: quality at ISO's as high as 8000 (thats eight thousand, and not a typo) blew me away. i did read on reviews that its good, but did not expect it to be this good. and if u have a tripod... MAN! ur gonna LOVE capturing night lights... !

2. optical image stabilizer : i was skeptical of all these huge zoom ranges point n shoots had to offer... body shake at higher focal length was always my concern, but iv taken shots at 10x optical zoom, and the resulting image has still been sharp, even at 100% crops. all thanks to its stabilization engine.

3. nearly non existent shutter lag

4. superb video quality and also u can also take a fixed number (10, if i remember correctly) shots at full resolution while capturing video.

5. last but not least , macro n background defocusing : u get background blur comparable to a kit lens on a dslr, if not smoother. and macro? u have to buy a whole different (rather expensive) lens to get the same thing on a dslr that u get on the wx-150.

cons:
1. lack of manual controls, especially shutter speed controls : i really miss shutter priority here... or anything close to it even. shutter speed is completely auto... i havent even found something akin to a "sports" mode which wld let u shoot at faster shutter speeds. options like "background defocus" and the macro(which is fully auto too) etc take care of the bokeh-ish part.. but nothing there for controlling shutter speeds. this is my main complain about this camera.

however, despite the lack of manual options.. which can be a bit hefty for those looking for greater control, the ISO performance of the wx-150 and its image quality and sharpness, especially at the telephoto end makes this camera a winner in my opinion. i tried the coolpix p310 too, but its low light quality and sharpness does not compare to the stellar wx-150. the p310 has a f/1.8 aperture at the wide end true, but the wx-150 gives u performance all through the focal range, and not just the wide end.
this , combined with the VERY MUCH usable 10x optical zoom range, made me choose the wx-150 over the coolpix p310, and im loving it thoroughly!!

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
25 Aug 2012
Very Very Good Automatic camera

I searched for a light weight pocktable camera with good zoom and low light performence. Finally I bought this little camera (not from flipkart) and very much satisfied with the picture. With its CMOS sensor, low light picture looks great. The price of the camera is slightly on higher side for this. Its low light handheld mode give me super sharp still picture with full 10X zoom without tripod. The video recording also superb, with stereo sound that creat dolby digital effect. I will not repeat the specification but after using it for more than 15 days and taking the printout of the picture i can highly recomended this camera who are looking for light weight camera with fully automatic setting and great performance.No shorcomming with this sony camera. only the issue wth the button size is small and battery door is not solid build. After using Kodak 7 megapixel camera, I become a sony fan.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
05 Oct 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
my dsc wx 150


I was looking for a decent camera for the coming DURGA PUJA eve.I was not restricted to only point & shoot camera -I also checked that mirror less and dslr,advance point and shoot too.My criteria was just easy to handle ,small size and good image quality as well as good battery life with a little bit of zoom.My only option was SONY for point and shoot..SONY RX series cameras have sharp features but can't afford zoom.Mirror less camera requires extra expensive lenses.As this camera was for my family I could not go for dslr as they are not user friendly.If I was to buy dslr I would have gone for canon 1100D with 18-55mm and 55-250mm lenses.

After a long research I opted for wx150.Next my concern was from where to buy this camera Sony Center or online store.After comparing the prices form Sony site and other online shopping sites FLIPKART was cheapest.My friends told me that there is no need to worry about buying online electronics product as FLIPKART is reliable and WS RETAILER is very reliable seller form FLIPKART.

So finally I placed the order and wanted to pay by debit card as there was 5% extra discount .Unfortunately I could not make the transaction as my debit card permits only below 10,000rs. at a time. So I had to opt for COD for 11115 rs.

Delivery was quick always as it is .To my surprise, the camera is very tiny just like a mobile phone and it fulfills all of my criteria-I have explored all of its feature and fully satisfied .

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
25 Jun 2012
Sony WX150, cute little camera waiting to be explored..



I recently bought this camera though not from Flipkart. After lot of deliberation b/w Canon IXUS 230 and Sony WX150, finally I went ahead with this one for its compact size, 10X zoom, exciting features like panorama/3D etc. and most importantly the ease of use.

Here is my initial report after using the camera for last few days, --

Positives :
- Size : Nice pocket size, perfect 10 for its compactness ! Quite handy for casual users..
- The image quality with flash is excellent. Most of the time I have used auto mode and it is doing it's job perfectly.
- The movie quality is quite good and one touch button on the back is really handy. Plus you can shoot picture while in movie mode without any negative effect on movie quality.
- Battery can be charged using USB too. It comes handy if you have a USB port in your car music system's Aux & you wnat to charge it on the go.
- Panorama mode is fun and lets you shoot 180 degree ..

Not so good :
- Sometime, I found the images to be little darker even while using flash. On some occasion, the sharpness was not as good if shooting without flash and either object or your hand is slightly shaky...
- The 3D feature is good but worthless without a 3D TV to watch it on..
- I found camera speed to be little slow, sometimes slow enough to miss a perfect moment. Read somewhere that one might need a class 10 memory card for fast read/write so may be that explains since the one you get with this camera is class 4.

Not tried yet :

- Battery life : will come to know after some more usage..Expecting it to be average based on other reviews
- Various Shooting modes : Have not got a chance to explore various shooting modes yet..
- Memory Card Size : Would probably need a higher capacity (16GB) due to high MP & also HD movie takes good amount of space.

Overall I am quite happy with this purchase and small wriggles I found so far might have some solution I guess. Next thing is to look for a option for second battery & charger...

1 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
12 Nov 2012
Nice camera

I was looking for Sony Cybershot DSC WX 50, but then in the shop I decided to see what difference a 10x zoom makes over 5x, and seriously it was a huge one. Though WX50 has bigger aperture, but for a smaller aperture on WX150, for same details Sony has packed 18 Mega Pixel - I guess. I saw the details in WX50 (one of my flat mate has it), is no different from WX150. There is a bit bigger screen giving me a better view. One thing, pictures on screen looks brighter and more vivid than it would on screen. Basic editing using Picasa or GIMP make pictures much better. I tried Nikon's S6300 (I guess), but then ended buying this one, for it had better focusing speed and size, looks better. Can't comment on image quality of Nikon as I have not seen it on computer screen. Given an understanding of light conditions around, images will come out great.

One thing, please do not expect images to be anything close to DSLR and it will be all fine. The images are good, perfectly usable for A4 prints - no more.

PS: I didn't buy it here.

1 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
09 Sep 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
this is one of the best camera

i purchased this product
it is just deliver in 3 days
so i give 5/5 rate
This is one of the best cameras in this price range-no other manufacturer comes even close.I have used this camera for 2 months, these are my observations-----
1)It has a sony bsi cmos sensor+ awesome sony g lens-the photos and videos are simply great-clarity and color reproduction is just fantastic. I am an average camera user, this camera was meant for someone like me who doesn't know very much about cameras n photography but uses it for important occasions, celebrations, events like birthdays, picnics etc. you just need to press the shutter button-no worries at all, it is meant for novices like me.
2)The camera focuses like a pro(pic and video) -very fast and accurate, the time between 2 consecutive shots is very minimal (about 1 sec-I am using class 10 sd card) so you can keep clicking and you wont miss any special moment of your small child as the camera responds and focuses very fast.
3) Video is great and sharp-avchd and mp4 formats in 1080 p quality ,the mic picks up sound very nicely.
4)Camera connects to pc very easily no issues extremely easy to download my pics n vids to the computer.
5)Low light performance is pretty good because of the special HDR mode, taking crisp close up macro pics is also possible, image stabilization is awesome for pics n vids. 10 x optical zoom is great and 40 x digital zoom beyond that surprisingly maintains A LOT OF clarity-you can zoom even in video mode.
6)The flash is pretty decent but some special modes like intelligent auto plus dont really require a flash to take a good picture, the camera automatically takes 2-3 quick consecutive snaps and joins them to make one sharp & clear composite picture-so YOU DON'T NEED TO KEEP USING THE FLASH WHILE TAKING PICS OF OTHERS LIKE SMALL CHILDREN N IRRITATE THEIR DELICATE EYES WITH THE HARSH FLASH.
Finally, I dont use panorama mode a lot but it really is effortless.This camera is so awesome, for some documents or newspaper clippings or business cards etc, i dont use a scanner to store it, I simply click an easy, sharp n precise picture with this camera to store the data.
I can keep going on and on but i will finish here by saying this beautiful gem of a camera has no issues at all and is better than any canon , nikon or samsung at this price, and i would suggest that you guys go for this without any worries whatsoever if you plan to buy this as your family camera & if you want to leave all the setting headaches & technicalities & tough decision making of taking good pics & vids to your camera-this camera will never disappoint.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
15 Aug 2013
Better than wx200

I am yet to receive the camera as ordered it yesterday only. I checked out this camera at a local store today as couldn't wait anymore to hold it in my hands.
This one is really awesome. Only regret is that i wanted it in blue or black color but both the colors were not available with flipkart. so i went for red one. (only option)

The biggest pro is 10x optical zoom for sure.
iautomatic feature lets you capture best pics without bothering about different adjustments.
Display is acceptable as visibility in bright sun drops considerably.
You can take pics while making video, which is a big plus.
It is compact and can be easily kept in ur pocket also. But the size is too small and i was so conscious for not slipping it off my hands while having a look at the store.

Overall it is an awesome camera in this price range. I compared it with WX200, only difference i could make was lack of wi-fi. But for my surprise, wx200 had only 2.7 inch lcd while wx150 has 3 inch display.

Last but not the least. Use 8 gb or 16 gb class 10 memory card (95 mbps read speed) instead of the one provided with the product i.e 4 gb class 4 memory card.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
13 Sep 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Its an Awesome Camera!!

I ordered this camera after a lot of research for a good camera as well as online sites for least price for it. My main requirements were:
1. Low Light Shooting
2. Price should be in Budget

In both the requirements this camera falls superbly. The Things I liked about it:
1. Awesome Low light Pics (ISO upto 12800 does it perfectly)
2. Lightweight, Easy to carry
3. Very Competitive Price
4. Blur-free Shots
5. Good battery Life (>400 Photos on single charging)
6. Interesting Modes to take Pics (I loved the Part Photo mode)

And as usual, the service by Flipkart was awesome. Withing 3 Days I got my order in a very nice packaging. Also, The Price for this camera on Flipkart was lesser than all other online shopping websites :)

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page123Next Page
30 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
     Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX150 Point & Shoot Camera (Black) Price in India: Rs. 11700

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...