Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Sony Ericsson Live with Walkman - WT19i: Mobile

Reviews of Sony Ericsson Live with Walkman - WT19i

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 164 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
12 Feb 2012
AWESOME BUY...SOME CLARIFICATIONS

I would like to clarify few of the popular cons...

1. Video call not possible using GSM. Possible only through GTalk or Skype. - What moron tries video call in GSM network? 2G "DOES NOT SUPPORT" video call. It supports very primitive data rates. A data rate for a video call cannot be satisfied completely by GPRS or even EDGE. Only in a HSDPA or 3G or LTE network do u get data rates enough for smooth video call. And if someone is not using 3G and still wants to make a video call then obviously he has to use GTalk or Skype..which then becomes a data service..not a voice service.

2. RAM 512 is not used fully or Game running slow - Do you tell the handset how much RAM to use? Depending on the app, beckground apps, storage location, battery left, etc the processor decides it. Did u know a game in ph memory runs a hundred milliseconds faster than one stored in a micro SD card??!! Maybe the game itself has failed to tap all the available RAM. Its definitely NOT the handset.

3. Data sharing with PC via Wifi/Bluetooth not possible - Its perfectly posssible. sanding and receiving files via bluetooth is a breeze. Are u sure ur PC even has bluetooth dongle or in-built bluetooth? Wifi protocols and authentication must be setup properly (not like a lousy couch-potato) to do the same. Configure the darn wifi router.

4. Poor battery - Yes a 1200mAh battery is a bit disappointing. But hey have u first checked out other ph batteries in this range? How many Androids do u people juggle at the same time? If more than 1 then seriously get a Net-book. Stop wasting ur father's hard earned money.

5. Small screen - Well do u guys want a freaking 42-inch LED on ur darn phone???? That too at 14k????

6. Android upgrade - Sony (not Sony Ericsson anymore) recently confirmed that all its Xperia handsets will support upgrade to Android 4.0 aka Ice Cream Sandwich. Guess what..LWW is the O-N-L-Y non-Xperia mobile which will supprt this upgrade. Sony is conglomerating Android 4.0 with its OS nd thats why its takng a bit time. But hey, atleast u can upgrade...others can't!!!

7. Motorola Defy is better - All crap. A 800MHz poop with ancient Android 2.1 aka Eclair cannot truly be compared to 1GHz and Android 4.0 aka Ice Cream Sandwich (yes i can get that old guy). Well lets say Moto just Rolled over and died.

8. Media Player supports only mp4, 3gp, wmv - Well which freaking handset supports mkv,avi,vob,dat,mpg etc??? Stop misleading people. Everyone downloads a media player for those. Thank god its Android. Symbian does not even has a decent media player.

9. Bad camera, bad snaps in low light - Its a wonderful camera. Do u expect DSLR like snaps with 5MP? If yes then get a DSLR instead. What is the flash for if u dnt use in low light? A lot depends on the darn photographer!! Just think..will Karan Johar let u film (that is shoot on camera) his movie? Why not? Lolz.. Get real.

Any more..???

91% of 150 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
01 Feb 2012
Awesome Supercool gr8 Value Phone

I bought this phone yesterday ....I dont have any regrets buying it.
Pro :
1.Phone is super cool.

2.Timescape UI is excellent.

3.Touch Screen is extremely respnsive

4.Sound quality is mind blowing. It is too loud when u use xLoud.

5.Few ppl say sound distorts in xLoud....i dint hear any distortion.

6.Sufficient internal memory u get to use around 296 MB.

7.Phone is lightening fast with 1 Ghz Scorpion processor.

8.All apps u will need r avalaible though i had o download Documents to go as it doesnt give u a document editor.

9.I wont agree that display is dull.
U get a walkman worth rs 3000 free which will not make u miss even sound of a "pin drop".

10.Call voice quality is very clear.

Con:
1.Battery drains quite quickly ....more than expected...but this is a problem in all smart phones ...so i cant really call it a con. but i m disapponited with the battery.

2.Camera qualtiy is avg. Though is 5 MP i felt as if its 3.15 MP

8 of 8 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
10 Jan 2012
Walkman Spirit, Android Inside

Fact 1: Samsung Galaxy Ace has been tenaciously holding on to the mid-range for quite some time now.
Fact 2: Sony Ericsson Live with Walkman is keen to change that.

A list of specifications that would put most top-dogs of yesteryear to shame is a good base to start from. Indeed, Sony Ericsson Live with Walkman comes with mouthwatering hardware (and latest android software) considering the price tag hanging over it. Add to it the planned upgrade to ICS and it probably becomes a seemingly irresistible package, or does it? The pros and cons will put us in a better position to answer that.

Pros:
1. A 1 ghz ARMv7 processor coupled with 512 mb ram is rare for an android device at this price. It sure assures smooth handling of the OS.
2. Adreno 205 gpu.
3. Planned ICS upgrade is a huge plus. It means your phone is highly unlikely to get outdated in the next year or so.
4. HD video recording (although not perfect, it is way better than what most competitors have to offer).
5. Walkman lives true to its name, provides excellent audio output.

Cons:
1. The screen is smallish, has poor contrast and inadequate viewing angles.
2. Video player handles only mp4 and 3gp format (the stock video player). It can handle 720p videos though.
3. The all plastic build and 14.2 mm waistline do not scream premium. To be fair, it was never meant to be a premium device after all.
4. Battery backup is uninspiring.
5. 320 mb internal memory is a painful restriction. It means you cannot install a lot many apps (as quite of them have to be installed on the phone memory itself).

Competition:
At the end it is about getting your priorities right. If you want the latest android on a good processor on the cheap, look no further.
The most obvious alternative would be the Ace duo. Samsung galaxy Ace has been selling well. It has a 800 mhz processor and 256 mb ram. Its internal memory is low as well. Video recording is as worse as it gets but it has 0.3” more screen estate. Ace plus will now be rolling out soon. It ups the ante with a 3.65” screen and a 1 ghz processor combined with 512 ram.

Nokia 603 comes in a similar price and with very competitive hardware too. The HD video recording on board 603 is far better, as is the Nokia Clear Black Display screen. Although it beats Sony Ericsson Live with Walkman on many other counts as well, Android ICS and Symbian Belle are not quite in the same league.
Nokia 700 is another alternative with a 3.2 inch AMOLED CBD display and very attractive profile. HTC Wildfire S is also worth a mention.

78% of 23 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
25 Feb 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Best phone at this price.

Bought this phone from flipkart. Got in just two days. Its 4Gb card in the box not 2Gb. Its written wrong here. I got 1 headphone also as an early bird offer. Headphone is just average quality. Its been 3 weeks since i bought this phone.

Pros:
1. Stylish. Not box model like samsung.
2. Good screen resolution. Its nice to see videos and for gaming.
3. Has got front cam. None of the phones in this price range give it.
4. Good stereo speakers. There is no much distortion at high volume as others say.
5. Touch is too good. Very smooth and light touch is only required.
6. It can be upgraded to android 4(ICS).
7. Home screen is stylish and sony corner shot cuts are amazing.
8. Menu can be easily arranged and with a pinch on screen while in home screen will give you a shaggy overview which looks really good.
9. It has flash player.
10. 1Ghz, 512Mb RAM(300Mb only usable)
11. HD recording, led flash
12. 3D panorama recording.
13. GPS, Wifi, 3g, email.
14. Song stops automatically when headphone is removed. So that other wont have any disturbance, if headphone get removed by chance.

Cons:

1. Poor battery backup. Just 7-8hrs with display brightness full, even with less use. With reduced brightness(less than half) it gave about 16hrs. With Battery dr. installed i am getting 2 days with minimal use and slightly more than 1 day with average use. Thing is none of the android phone give better than this. I should say backup is better compared to other android phones of this range. Go for nokia if you need backup.
2. Screen is small. But the keypad is comfortable, both qwerty and T9. Keys have enough spacing.
3. Earphones are not good. It does not have effect and it dont have any music keys.
4. Even though it is a walkman, it dont have music buttons such as play/pause, next etc. It only has volume key. And there is no custom equalizer in its default music player.
5. Internal memory is low(320Mb). None of the android phone at this price range has memory more than this. I believe all other phone at this range has only around 160Mb.

Overall best phone at this price range. Go for it. It has got all the features that you need.

5 of 5 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
14 Feb 2012
SE LWW - GR8 Pick.

Hello All,
Firstly I've been using this mobile for 2 weeks now.
This phone rockssss...
Music is awesome... Earphones provided with it are gr8.
4gb memory card is okay... You can go with it and if you need more space then of-course buy higher space mem. card.

Ok one big problem everybody facing is BATTERY BACKUP.
Yes, It's a problem in it. May not a problem actually, It's just that android phones tend to consume more power with all the background app going on...

What I have done is, Downloaded a batt. saving app and automatic app killer app.

Now with these two apps I listen to music around 3-4 hr(on my earphone), some half hour of gaming and daily routine 1-1.5 hr to talking with one full charge...

N yaa for better batt. backup charge your phone full (or 98% - 99%) then take it out from charging for some time around 15 mins then charge it again full... Your batt. will give more backup...

Talking about camera... Nice pics when subject is bright or you if are shooting outside... Cool video recording,,, no lags...

Touch is really responsive, smooth scrolling.

Concluding my review with a note - If you are thinking to buy a new phone in high mid range then search no more, Buy this phone.

:)

4 of 4 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
30 Jan 2012
Unparalled Performer in its CLASS!! :)

The Main Reason i gave 5/5 is THIS IS THE BEST IN ITS RANGE.

1.Dont complain about the battery back up.Unless u r living in a place with no electricity, battery is not an issue. it gets fully charged in under 2hrs. Even iphone gives u abt d same.

2.Dont Complain abt screen quality and viewing angles. I could see clearly in the noon sunlight. Plus its overshadowed only wen placed side by side with other mobs.I chkd with Xperia neo V. Negligible diff. TOUCH SENSING - Brilliant

3.Xloud- shows DISTROTION

4.Ease of use - quite complicated( cos i am new to android, hopin that i will get to know it in a weeks time. I COULDNT FIND THE MMC FOLDER)

5. BROWSER - FASTER than iphone 3Gs

6.HEADSET quality - REAL GOOD. Try the demo video file.

7.Apps are amazin.. Talk to asst etc are funny and great

8.U 'll need to DISABLE DATA TRANSFER once u r done with browsin, else constant data transfer is done, i dunno if it'll cost u cos mine is postpaid. Waitin for my bill.

9.CAMERA- i consider this as an al feature in a phone so i am satisfied. VIdeo Recordin-REMARKABLE.

10.MOST of the PHONE's Features req INTERNET. But GPS/NAV/ all are xceptiona;y accurate

11.LACK Of DEDICATED CALL ANSW button makes it hard. U need to tap 4times to make a call.

12.Facebook/Google Integration-GREAT feature even if u havent saved a contact his name displays if he has ed his no in FB.

THIS IS ALL I CUD REMEMBER for NOW.... Will write a detailed review in a weeks time.

HOPE IT HELPED

4 of 4 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
02 May 2012
5 stars for the phone, other than the battery performance

the phone is extremely well designed ,both in hardware & software.
however, there is always space for improvement, & nothing is perfect, n it can never be so.
this phone is fast, as smooth as water surface.
touch is v v sensitive & responsive.audio output is loud , clear & sharp.
audoi is equally good compared to 2.1 sp[eakers of my DEll XPS 15 laptop.camera quality is good, but a mobile is a mobile , do not compare camera of a mobile phone with a dedicated powershot camera .internal memory is more than enough ,it is actually 294 mb when i switched on the phone, rest is pre occupied by OS & other pre installed applications.
but that much of memory is also more than enough.
use apps 2 sd to move ur application to sd card, n it will free much space.
most of the applications can be moved to sd card completely.others , major part could be moved to sd card.however it all depends on the developer of the application how he has designed it tht it could be moved to sd card or not.thts not a problem with phone or android.
interface is also easy & convinient.
the only issue is of battery.it runs out fast,
however if u take a few pre cautions, u ll run the phone for longer.
but since i get everything out of this phone, i love it n dont mind the battery issue.
what i had expected, i gt .
as far as flikpart services are concerned, its gud.however due to lack of proper communication between flikpart & bluedart courier, i had to suffer a lot & gt the delivery quite late, after so may hassles.

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
15 Jun 2012
AWESOME PHONE IN MID ANDROIDS

I AM USING THIS PHONE SINCE A MONTH AGO ITS WORKS AWESOME THE ONLY PROBLEM IS INTERNAL MEMORY OTHERWISE PHONE IS 5/5 ...

I would like to clarify few of the popular cons...

1. Video call not possible using GSM. Possible only through GTalk or Skype. - What moron tries video call in GSM network? 2G "DOES NOT SUPPORT" video call. It supports very primitive data rates. A data rate for a video call cannot be satisfied completely by GPRS or even EDGE. Only in a HSDPA or 3G or LTE network do u get data rates enough for smooth video call. And if someone is not using 3G and still wants to make a video call then obviously he has to use GTalk or Skype..which then becomes a data service..not a voice service.

2. RAM 512 is not used fully or Game running slow - Do you tell the handset how much RAM to use? Depending on the app, beckground apps, storage location, battery left, etc the processor decides it. Did u know a game in ph memory runs a hundred milliseconds faster than one stored in a micro SD card??!! Maybe the game itself has failed to tap all the available RAM. Its definitely NOT the handset.

3. Data sharing with PC via Wifi/Bluetooth not possible - Its perfectly posssible. sanding and receiving files via bluetooth is a breeze. Are u sure ur PC even has bluetooth dongle or in-built bluetooth? Wifi protocols and authentication must be setup properly (not like a lousy couch-potato) to do the same. Configure the darn wifi router.

4. Poor battery - Yes a 1200mAh battery is a bit disappointing. But hey have u first checked out other ph batteries in this range? How many Androids do u people juggle at the same time? If more than 1 then seriously get a Net-book. Stop wasting ur father's hard earned money.

5. Small screen - Well do u guys want a freaking 42-inch LED on ur darn phone???? That too at 14k????

6. Android upgrade - Sony (not Sony Ericsson anymore) recently confirmed that all its Xperia handsets will support upgrade to Android 4.0 aka Ice Cream Sandwich. Guess what..LWW is the O-N-L-Y non-Xperia mobile which will supprt this upgrade. Sony is conglomerating Android 4.0 with its OS nd thats why its takng a bit time. But hey, atleast u can upgrade...others can't!!!

7. Motorola Defy is better - All crap. A 800MHz poop with ancient Android 2.1 aka Eclair cannot truly be compared to 1GHz and Android 4.0 aka Ice Cream Sandwich (yes i can get that old guy). Well lets say Moto just Rolled over and died.

8. Media Player supports only mp4, 3gp, wmv - Well which freaking handset supports mkv,avi,vob,dat,mpg etc??? Stop misleading people. Everyone downloads a media player for those. Thank god its Android. Symbian does not even has a decent media player.

9. Bad camera, bad snaps in low light - Its a wonderful camera. Do u expect DSLR like snaps with 5MP? If yes then get a DSLR instead. What is the flash for if u dnt use in low light? A lot depends on the darn photographer!! Just think..will Karan Johar let u film (that is shoot on camera) his movie? Why not? Lolz.. Get real.

4 of 5 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
12 Apr 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Hits and Misses

I am new to smartphones. The decision to buy this phone has been not a good one. My budget was 13-15K and i finally zeroed down on SE Walkman and Motorola Defy Plus. Now the biggest confusion was caused when almost every website reported talk time of 12 hours on a 1200mAH battery. Well i dont think thats possible. What worked in SE's favor was the processor and ICS update. Any way here is what i have observed since i bought the phone.

1. Touch interface is up to the mark and so is the display.
2. Sound quality (music and video) is pretty decent and voice clarity is also good.
3. Messaging interface is deeply confusing. Its a conversation threaded view and No option to have separate lists like sent, outbox, drafts. Curiously if i send to multiple numbers, i get combined thread view as well as each message for each number separately. its like as if i sent the message twice to each number.
4. Now this may be an isolated case and i may need a solution for this. I tried connecting to Google Play store (android Market) using my 3G SIM but it did not connect. Then i used WI-Fi and it connected. Now whenever i have my data connection active google play does not connect and shows no connectivity even though browser works and internet is working. it only connects on WI-FI. So ridiculous and absurd.
5. One more thing, wen battery is low and my 3G is on, even the browser does not connect. i have seen this several times.
6. Of course the battery backup is hardly for one day even though all i do is talk for abt 1-2 hours and message a lot when in office. No music,videos and games used, yet i know that battery wont even last half a day if i use it for moderate gaming.
7. Every time i open the menu, it prompts me for sorting the applications. Cant seem to stop it.
8. I have observed one more flaw. When signal strength is zero and it keeps trying to find a network, battery drains on super speed ( in one such instance it drained 50% wen signal was not available for 4 hours).

So my verdict is that this phone is for people who just want calls, sms and browsing with occasional gaming and music and who have no problem in carrying battery chargers with them in their cars and offices. This phone is not for people with big fingers and who want decent battery back up. I will be using this phone for about 6-9 months before replacing it.

I agree the most smartphones do not offer good battery backup, but at least thought should be put in to optimize the product for price sensitive buyers like us. I hope the ICS update sorts out the software issues. And i hope Phone manufacturers offer option of paying extra for a larger capacity batter.

4 of 5 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
22 Dec 2012
LIVE ?..........Its dead all the time

I wonder why ths phone was live ! I have been using this for month and i found it all the time dead ,, even if it have got nice screen and touch response and a very good sound quality they are off no use without much battery back up time ...

My phone is live only for 5 hrs if left in idle condition and will drain out in 1 hr if used heavyly And the phone is kinda slowing down with its new update to ics

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page1234567Next Page
164 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
     Sony Ericsson Live with Walkman - WT19i (Black) Price in India: Rs. 13450
Were these reviews helpful?
Yes
No
Thanks for your vote!
Please write your feedback before submitting.

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...