Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Spice Mi-425: Mobile

Reviews of Spice Mi-425

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 58 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
08 Jun 2012
first to review
Elder Bro of Karbonn A9

Guys dis is same Karbonn A9 phone with little bit tweaks here n der...MI 425 has 4" display Karbonn A9 has 3.8"...A9 has 1600 MAH battery MI 425 has 2000 MAH....A9 has 1GB internal memory Mi 425 has 140MB only bt can be expanded to 32GB.....Spice has promised for ICS update.....Other specs r same like Karbonn A9....So by paying 200/-Rs extra u will get little bigger display n huge battery bt less internal memory....Hope i have helped n clear doubts of many ppl....

86% of 28 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
12 Aug 2012
The most pathetic phone..

I bought my Spice Stellar on June 12 after going through lots of reviews and comparing the specs with every other available phone. From the critics reviews and user reviews, I was more than convinced that this was the best available at this price range.
Post buying experience(my thoughts):
1st 10 days - Samsung S2(with price 3 times more)is probably the only competitor of this phone.
Next 10 days - Probably I should have waited for few more days before buying this phone.
Present Situation - Is anyone there to buy my phone for Rs. 2000/.
I sincerely would say everything about this phone is fine but the only problem which will make your life miserable is the
Hanging problem - If you speak for half an hour or if you play for 1-2 hrs, the processor starts getting slower and within hours it hangs. You need to reboot it every 10-20 hours.
No task manager on planet would help you. I believe this con over rides every other pros of this handset.
I would advise users to post their experience only after using a handset for a certain period of time.

75% of 16 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
08 Jun 2012
Awesomr

This phone is awesome. This phone is so packed with features that it gives its competition a run for their money. The pricing is just right under Rs. 10,000. Apps work really well and games like angry birds work just fine. The only problem is that the home screens cannot be viewed using pinch to zoom. But pinch to zoom works really well on web pages. The screen is fine but not brilliant. Youtube videos look nice and clear.

Pros:
Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) OS
5 MP Primary Camera
0.3 MP Secondary Camera
Dual SIM (GSM + GSM)
4.1-inch Capacitive Touchscreen
1GHz Scorpion Processor
32 GB Expandable.
Good battery Life

Cons:
Screen is not sharp and colours lack depth.
Homescreens cannot be viewed at a single glance.
Only 140mb of internal storage.

Al in all the phone is really nice to use. This is my first Android phone and i'm loving it. If you want this phone, Just go for it. You cant go wrong.

100% of 11 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
20 Jun 2012
Good for the price asked

After skipping waiting for the mi-500, went for this one. Had purchased it last week. For the eight grand I paid, it is a decent phone. Camera is ok. The large 4.1" display could have been better (only 256k) though it is not bad by any means. Build quality and feel is great and the UI is snappy though feels a little half-baked at times. If only manufacturers would give stock GB/ICS with their phones.

Should have been shipped with a screen guard. The supplied screen guard has specs printed on it so you have to take it off.

Also, I'm in the market for a cover/case, so looking at other 4.1" phones whose accessories I can use with this one.

Bottom line: Great for your first android phone. Especially for people not wanting to go for puny 2.8, 3, 3.2 inch entry level phones with pathetic resolutions (Yes I'm talking about you, Samsung), this Spice is a very good buy. Waiting for ICS update (as promised)

10 of 10 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
30 Jun 2012
A compelling device at the price point and range of features it offers

I purchased this one about 2 weeks back. Till now I did not face any problem at all. Its amagingly fast. Under 10K this is the only device that promises ICS upgrade as of today. Its a breeze running apps on this device. Battery backup is decent. With device fully charged up, continuously on Wifi and fiddling with phone for most of the time and using internet, it lasted for almost 24 hours. So turning off Wifi and with occasional usage, it will certainly give you more mileage.

The only concern that I have with it is the low internal memory (150 MB). Even though you can expand it by inserting a micro SD card and move applications to it, some applications do not allow you to do that. So after installing 15-20 apps, you have to be very picky about the new application that you want to install. You have to check if it allows you to move it to SD card or not.

You can get around this problem by rooting the device. But that has its own implications, in the process you might brick your handset. But people have been able to successfully root and unroot it. You can google it and get the links and more info about rooting.

Given the price point and features it offers, you can just go for it. If internal free memory is a real concern, then its your call.

4 of 5 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
01 Jan 2013
It's a class product...

This is my 6th mobile after Nokia,Samsung,Byond, and Micromax and it has no competitor in this price range and better than micromax and byond. Remember this phone has GSM/CDMA for Sim 1 slot and GSM capabilities for Sim 2 slot.There are some pros and cons..

Pros:
Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) OS and can upgradable to Icecream 4.0.(Please take backup before upgradation)
5 MP Primary Camera with flash and 0.3 MP Secondary Camera
Dual SIM (GSM/CDMA + GSM)
4.1-inch Capacitive Touchscreen and the touch is pretty good.
1GHz Scorpion Processor
32 GB Expandable.
Very good battery Life
Great music experience(use Wave II headset to get a booming music)
Will find Service centers almost everywhere.

Cons:
Only 165mb of internal storage. (low for such type of pones but application can be stored into SD card).

I brought this phone 6 months back with INR 11000 and since then there is no complain from my side related to this product. Guys remember if you are comparing this with other cheap products then you are making mistakes as I already have some cheaper ones.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
24 Jan 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Good Value for Money

This phone is not the best on the planet. Nor is the price. I have been using this phone for quite a while and enjoyed it. I tried to root it and then install a jailbreak ROM which really ruined it. The service center experience was not the most optimal but was not far from decent either. They didn't really get back at me because I had replaced the stock ROM and rooted the phone - which would typically void the warranty. They did the service within warranty and also needlessly replaced the display without any cost to me.

Pros
Great processor speed for the price.
Yes it does get slower with continuous use, any task manager worth its salt can solve this issue though. I use ATM and am happy with it.

Good RAM.
You need to free up once in a while but good RAM and very workable.

ICS upgrade is sweet.
ICS upgrade is really sweet. Enhances user experience and many phone with much higher cost still have to make do with GB.

Dual SIM!
Yea! Dual SIM at the price of a single SIM value for money phone! And the voice and reception quality is top-notch. Haven't had any complaints there at all.

Camera
Not the best in the world. If you are a typical Nokia loyalist, like me, you will be disappointed. However beats almost any other camera phone. Better than most of Samsung and Motorola cameras.

Cons
Build Quality
Not the best. Easily looks worn out after 4 months.

Internal Memory
Perhaps the biggest pain point. There are hacks and workarounds for this though.

Stock Launcher
A huge turnoff. It's really ugly and unwieldy.

Splash Video and sound
A huge turnoff. It's really ugly and unwieldy.

As you can see the cons are minor and irritants only. The pros far outweigh the cons and I go with a 5 / 5 just because of the price point.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
23 Jul 2012
Very Good phone within your budget

After waited long (around 1 month) for spice MI-500 (i dont know why its taking so much time to come to market as it launched around 1 month back.) i purchased spice mi425. options with me were iball Andy 4d(low battery backup and brand is not so much known into the phone market. though slim and metallic feel is there) and Karbon A9 (which has same config except it has 1 GB internal memory but drawback is only 1350 Mah battery and device gets some problem as per blogs on internet which can be fixed).

In spice MI425 every thing is best as price like 10K.
- 4.1 capacitive screen though resolution is not best like high end smart phones but its definitely good (in brand like samsung it will cost u ~20K min)
- 2000 mAh battery (i observed battery back is very good)
- processer, camera wont disappoint you.
- Only thing is internal memory. it is not sufficient you need to install one program which can move apps from Phone to SD Card. but not all apps can be moved i.e. Google maps, gmail, NQ, etc.
You can root it to move default apps to move in SD card. i havent tried it yet. but you can google it.

In Total its good to buy it to get feel of android 4" inch touch
phone in 10K only!!!!!!!!!!

1 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
19 Dec 2012
Decent buy, although has a few issues

Decent phone at the price point but comes with a few issues.

Major Cons:

1. The music player does not work with ear phones plugged in. (I am not a audiophile and hardly listen to songs)
2. Cannot dial or receive a call with the ear phones plugged in. (Major problem when you are taking long calls or interviews). I use Samsung's earphones, although i think that should not be the cause of the issue.
3. I am not a tech enthusiast. Don't really install apps neither do i play games. But still the interbal memory is quite low and keeps prompting me the disk is low on space. This is annoying. I graduated from a basic phone which i used for texting and calling to this smart phone which i use for news and email in addition. My requirement for memory is so low that i use a 512MB SD card and has nearly 400MB free but still the internal memory issue is bothering me.
4. I use Wifi most of the time. However, occasionally when i need to use internet on 2G the phone does not connect. It needs me to reboot.
5. Disappointed by the delay in the ICS update that was promised. I hope that would resolve most of the above issues.

Major Pros:

1. I thought the huge battery was a plus point when i bought it in October 2012. However, we have many devices at this price point with the same or bigger batteries

Rest all are common features that come in phones around this price.

1 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
24 Sep 2012
Good phone but bad screen and customer service from Spice

I bought this phone last month. The phone is good in specs but has a really fragile screen. Drop it once from height of 3-4 feet and its gone. I accidentally dropped it on the day of purchase and the screen cracked. There is no proper protection available in the market as yet for this phone. The spares are not available with the authorized service centres and they say, it will take 20-22 days to get the screen replaced as it will go to the company. Also, the warranty of the whole phone voids the moment there is even a small damage to the phone. The build quality of the phone is not good, you need to use a nail to open the battery covers and your nails leave marks every time. If you are playing a game and leave the phone idle, the phone reboots after some time. It hangs quite often while going to standby. Also same problem with maps, if you are using maps and screen goes dark, it doesn't come live again.. you will have to remove battery and restart it. Over all the phone is 'ok' except these problems. I am still wondering how will I manage without the phone for 20-22 days when I give it for screen replacement. Any ideas?

1 of 2 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page123456Next Page
58 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
     Spice Mi-425 (White) Price in India: Rs. 7599

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...