Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Tamron AF 70 - 300 mm F/4-5.6 Di LD Macro for Canon Digital SLR Lens: Lens

Reviews of Tamron AF 70 - 300 mm F/4-5.6 Di LD Macro for Canon Digital SLR Lens

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
28 Aug 2011
first to review
This Lens is useless

i bought this lens 1 year ago..it worked fine for 3 months.after that it started giving me err-01 (contact between lens and camera is faulty)..many tamron users had same experience with this lens.

76% of 45 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
01 Jul 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Cool lens at affordable price.

Tamron f/4-5.6 Di LD Macro performed more than I expected in this price range. Loved the macro function provided and here are some images which are cropped and rest all are full frame. Although I noticed some kinda purple fringe when shooting on high contrast, chromatic abbrevation is negligieable and bokeh is very cool. Lack of image stabilization is not a big problem when u have stedy hands, a tripod and a remote to shoot without disturbing the camera on tripod BTW I clicked some pics in low light(handheld) and I got cool sharp images at long exposure upto 1/10 and I guess that is cool! In some article I read that this lens is useless and it doesn't give sharp images in shutter speed less than 1/1600 and that was just a hoax. He might be having problem with his brain in controlling his body limbs.

you can take a look at these pics I clicked with this on...

100% of 13 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
23 Oct 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Great lens for the price range

I was looking for a budget lens with decent zoom and good macro. Being an amateur, I didn't know which one to choose. A friend of mine suggested this Tamron lens. I ordered it and got it the very next day (awesome service by Flipkart). Considering the price, my expectations were not too high. But I was surprised as to how good this lens performed; especially the macro function is really good. I shot some close-up shots of some insects, flowers and birds, and they come out really nice. The zoom levels are decent. I showed it to a relative of mine, who is a professional photographer, and he said that though this is not the best lens available out there, for the price I paid, it is definitely the best deal.
On the downside, as one of the reviewer mentioned, the photos shot through this lens are a bit soft. But not much to spoil your day.

Bottom line - for the price, definitely the best deal. Especially for amateurs.

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
15 May 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Value for money..

First of all I must once again appreciate the Flipkart customer service for the prompt delivery of the lens. I was in desperate need of this product 3 days before my anniversary. Called the Flipkart Customer Support and they told me that I could get it for sure on the day of my anniversary. I was really surprised when they delivered it to me a day in advance! Great work guys! Flipkartian here forever! :)

Coming to the lens, this is a great lens on offer for its price. Captures very neat images, especially the macro shots. Very impressed with the picture quality. I would say it is perfect for its price tag.

The only thing that you may want to complain about is the zoom ring being a little tight. Hence, one would need to put in some effort to rotate it. May get smoother in the long run. Please read through the manual properly before use, as there are a couple of per-requisites that you need to meet when you switch to Macro Mode.

In short, I am very happy with my buy! If you are on a tight budget. am sure you would wanna go for it than spend on expensive Canon lens.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
Pushkaraj Deshpande
01 Apr 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Good Product from Tamron

This is a good telephoto lens from Tamron. This lens does its job of telephoto. I have not yet explored this lens to it fullest, but initial photo findings have been pretty good at the price that this lens is selling for.

I would infact say that this lens has been performing better than my Canon kit lens 18-135 (not from the telephoto perspective, but overall performance). Portrait photos are crisp and clear compared to Canon 18-135 where the photos have been "soft". The only problem that I have faced till date is the AF. It doesn't focus immediately or does not focus at all at many times. I personally prefer MF on top of AF, but sometimes (around 5-6 times which I have tried) I have had success only maybe once. Cannot expect more at this price, so no complaints. Overall I am rating this as a 4 star only for the AF issue, but rest this lens is good for amateurs like me who have just gotten into photography.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
26 Jan 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
good for the price

I purchased this lens a few months back and don't regret the decision.

Pros:
Extremely low price (i bought it at INR 7500.. the USD has moved up since then, so the price rise)
good for clicking portraits from a distance (the negative of soft focus probably does good here!)
I've managed to get some good macro shots too (though it gives you only 1:2 magnification)

Cons:
- Soft at most focal lengths
- the zoom ring makes too much noise

Of course things like fixed aperture, sharper image, smoother focusing, etc are good.. but these push the price up!

At this price, this lens does its duties well.

3 of 4 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
21 Jan 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Not necessarily a good lens

I picked up this lens from flipkart recently.

In terms of the order processing, payment and delivery, it has been excellent from flipkart side.

However, the quality of the lens itself leaves a lot to be desired. At extreme end - 300 mm- there is a visible chromatic aberration on all photos. The images at the tele end of the lens are quite soft. Also, if you want to shoot flying birds - where fast AF is required - this is not a choice. That said, the performance at wide and (70mm to 200 mm generally) is good. The macro functionality is impressive at 180mm to 200 mm range. For me, this is the only benefit as I am doubtful if I can use this as a regular lens for my bird photography requirements.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
04 Mar 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Xlnt lens under 8k

Nice lens. Though some are quoting this for the beginners, but due to lack of IS the beginners will have to toil lot to get things right. Otherwise a good lens to work with.
Service of Flipkart......is xlnt as usual. To flipkart: plz instruct your seller to stamp on the guarantee/warranty card. I never found it stamped, for all my purchases thru flipkart. Presently I bought two nos Tamron AF70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di LD Macro (for Canon DSLR) lens.
Problem is with the seller (CAMBAY). They have not stamped the guarantee/warranty card. Though I found they have opened the seal of my Tamron Lens box, to write manually the lens serial number & model (type) on the warranty card.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
09 Apr 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Nice product to start with...

When i was about to buy a lens, i had to keep in mind that am not a professional yet, nor am I rich enough to experiment with costly products. Got this lens over flipkart and no matter what people says, this product did give me an excellent service.
Does not help you capture close ranged pictures, then again, you re buying a 70-300 mm lens.!!
It does not have an image stabilizer. But to be honest if you get good enough you won't need one.
This comes cheap and quite good quality.
So if you are a beginner and want to explore the needs of 70-300 mm lens. Go ahead and try this out.
It won't put a hole in your pocket nor will it disappoint you.
What more do you need?

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
20 Jul 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Err 01 Communications between the camera and lens is faulty.

I have Canon EOS 550D, lens would work for couple of shots and than i get this error message:

Err 01
Communications between the camera and lens is faulty.
Clean the lens contacts.

Is it a third-party lens, It is a well known fact that some older lenses in particular have problems with the electronic interface with newer Canon camera bodies.

I have claimed the warranty, which turns out to be a long process, flipkart will first arrange for a return courier and after receiving the defected product, they will courier a fresh piece, so this will take more than 10 days.

and even then i am not sure if the problem will be solved!

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page1234Next Page
32 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
     Tamron AF 70 - 300 mm F/4-5.6 Di LD Macro for Canon Digital SLR Lens (Standard Lens) Price in India: Rs. 8195

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...