Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Tamron AF 70 - 300 mm F/4-5.6 Di LD Macro for Nikon Digital SLR Lens: Lens

Reviews of Tamron AF 70 - 300 mm F/4-5.6 Di LD Macro for Nikon Digital SLR Lens

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 79 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
14 Nov 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
best lens in its price bracket!!

firstly awesome job flipkart..got it delivered on 4th day after ordering with a Diwali holiday in between.good packaging...this is my 7th buy from them! i bought this lens because i wanted to expand my zoom capability of my nikon d3100. after reading and analyzing a ton of reviews and performance analysis for lens within my budget i narrowed down my choice to tamron,sigma and nikon's own range of lens all 70-300mm. I finally went for tamron and believe me guys i made the right choice. tamaron is so much better(really much better) than other two because, 1. sharpness is excellent better than those two for surely(tested). 2. CA(chromatic aberrations) are manageable but till now i havent seen any!! @ 300mm!!.
3. focusing is a tad bit better than sigma...and nikon lens does not have the af-motor at all!!
4.i feel that af-noise is not that much at all because u will be concentrating on the subject that u wont notice it at all, but its audible though not loud.
when its fully extended its like an rpg launcher!! which can make other guys drool!! also if u are using a dx-apc cropped sensor camera then this types of lens is must have because they have sweet spot which really helps in macro...and this lens does have macro(but not true macro but its awesome!)

so should u go for it or what??

1.if u are restricted by ur budget then this is the best choice/buy u can make,seriously trust me.
2.if u are willing to pay more for a better lens u have nikon's own range and also tamron's higher version of the same which is like 15k more!!

now bad points this is for all the three lens,
1.@>200mm the sharpness becomes soft but not by a large margin. 2.@>200mm shakes are inevitable..hence u need a monopod or tripod.
3.this lens is extremely sharp around f/8 & f/11(which is good) hence in low light this struggles to perform and the pics are worse.

PS:i hope this helped to reduce ur confusion rather than adding any!! all the best.

ashik

97% of 59 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
21 Feb 2013
UNTOLD FACTS about TAMRON 70-300mm Di LD Macro Lens !!!

Many Pros & Cons have been written about this Lens so far,so I am not repeating them. I only want to share my Personal True Experience with this lens.I was a bit cautious to buy this lens as many have wriiten in their review that above 200 mm picture gets soften,shakes are inevitable, auto focus hunts...so...so...so...! Let me tell you that after I bought it ,I shot wildlife/birds photos at 300 mm & never felt softness or fall of sharpness in photos...next fact is that VR or IS or VC (vibration control) is required if shutter speed is slower than about 1/125 sec ,now do you think that wildlife photos are shot at any shutter speed below 1/125 sec???...Common just think...so any shutter speed above that will not require any VR/IS/VC facility(for this you have to pay thrice more money). ALso note that all camera companies advise to switch off VR/IS/VC option while using TRIPOD...WHY?...Bcoz it reduces sharpness of picture !!! So we can conclude that no need to pay thrice amount for VR/IS/VC ..its a mental obsession...Just keep shutter speed at above 1/125 sec & be steady , also learn how to hold DSLR...GREAT PHOTOS CAN BE SHOT AT 300 mm also ! And any Telephoto with f/4-5.6 will hunt for auto focus a bit...so it is not a problem with this only...but still it does not hunt a lot. SO I AM FULLY SATISFIED USING IT WITH MY Nikon D 5100 .

95% of 40 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
04 Sep 2012
Tamron ++

Buy this lens if you cannot afford the expensive Nikkor alternative-come with VR, but you want to enjoy getting close to your subject without moving closer.

The macro feature is just brilliant. Pictures taken from this lens in the macro mode will get adulation, lots of it.

Taking pictures of the setting sun, full moon in the sky becomes easier. USE A TRIPOD, or a still flat surface when in the 200-300mm region; handshake will hurt badly otherwise(applicable for most lenses with f4.6 aperture.

Cannot compare it with the Sigma alternative but this lens is definitely worth each paise I spent. I did not buy it from flipkart, sorry, I found a cheaper option at a local dealer but I have bought stuff from flipkart before and their service is always commendable unless in extreme circumstances.

Bottom line:

1. If you are a novice, like me, you should think of this especially if you are on a tight budget.
2. Offers great zoom, definitely during bright light settings.

P.S. @ all those who say this is a bad lens, you either do not know how to use the DSLR yet, or you are just simply doing it wrong.

100% of 14 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
20 Aug 2011
first to review
Good value

I bought this one in jan'11.
It does not have any kind of stabilization in it. Image sharpness is good, but u need a very steady hand or a tripod for getting perfect images...
It has autofocus motor inbuilt but its noisy...
Coz thats all u can get for only Rs 8k!!!

Ps. It has macro mode in 180-300mm

94% of 17 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
26 Apr 2012
good in this price range , For beginners

was actually looking for something in the 200mm range and decided that for under Rs10000.
I would give this lens a try (not much to loose if I didn't like it). As I just recently purchased this lens I haven done much serious work with it yet but I am quite satisfied with the test shots I've taken espically if I stay below 200mm. Even the test shots I took at 300mm (on a bright clear day) were good.

For it's macro feature, once you get it into it's macro mode it does take some nice shots (note: a tripod is a must for macro shots at these focal lengths). Then the challange is getting the lens out of macro mode, luckly I was home because I had to go find the bloody book to figure out how to exit the macro mode.
Bottom line, if you're looking for a lens with a working range of 70-200 with the ocasional foray above 200mm this lens is a good value.
Do read it .
Very good image quality for an inexpensive lens, better than the Nikon and Canon equivalents. Well worth using. Build quality better than you have a right to expect at this price point and image quality is pretty decent.
PROS: -
Cheap , Very good at f8, small and light,great DOF
CONS : -
Slow AF , Image quality at 200-300mm,CA´s, but only in very contrasty situations, easy to remove in PS
CA = chromatic Aberration.

I am enjoying it . Buy and give it a try :)

6 of 6 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
02 May 2012
Tamron 70-300mm Great Budget Telephoto Lens

I have Tamron 70-300mm for nearly a year and I always prefer this lens over 18-55mm Kit lens. In outdoor, it gives pretty good result. Indoor photos are bit average. But It never disappoints for Telephoto scenes. Tele Macro is fine, But unfortunately I haven't used much.
You can't use this lens so closer to any object for Macro (as we use 18-55mm). Because It's focal length starts from 70 which means the camera should have some distance. Also you can't expect Wide Angle Shot with this lens.

Overall this Lens is Great and recommended. Don't expect only with this lens you can shoot for any shot. It's a TelePhoto Lens not All-Rounder (Actually in DSLR there is no All-Rounder lens : You've to buy different kinda for different situation).

9 of 10 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
18 Jul 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Professional Quality pics if you know how to...

As many have reported earlier
This lens is great for the money you pay. I've taken many great photos with it on vacation and around town. It is also very compact and light. While it is not an ideal lens to shoot Birds in Flight due to its slow auto-focusing it is great for general photos and portraits.

Pros:
1. Potential for Great Pics
2. Light waighted
3. Auto-focus on D3100 as lens have inbuild motor
4. Got free hood and hoya filter
5. Added extra 1:2 macro
6. Both gr8 Bokeh and "BHOKALI" effects ;)

Cons:
1. Relatively slow autofocus than expensive competition < Bearable
2. Relatively noisy than expensive competition < Bearable
3. Not an ideal lens to shoot Birds in Flight < U can if u prefocus etc.
4. Dont have VR but nikons lence with VR sels for about 25K :O
5. Needs Tripod above 250 mm

Bottom Line 5 stars since it allows you to take Pro level pics at a bargain

Tips for better photography:

1. Try portraits with full zoom you'll get excellent bokeh effect
2. Get a tripod if you want that moon and the pollen of the flower in your sensor.
3. Learn extensively this lens will pay its price only if you know how to use it.

Happy Shooting ;)

4 of 4 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
28 Sep 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Go for it !!!!!

If you are beginner and looking for 70-300 mm lens with a limited budget, this one is excellent. I brought this 2 weeks back and used it my recent outing, great pics, esp with macro mode. I'm quite happy with this lens.
It is bit noisy during auto focus & sometimes get stuck with 250mm focus, but I can't complain much. It is value for money.
Thanks to Flipkart for quick deliver [within 2 days] with good packing :)

5 of 6 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
17 May 2013
Best value for money

I bought it locally, they are giving at a lower price (son't provide the bill :) )

You have bought your first DSLR and already blown a lot of money on that, the stock 18-55 is restricted on range, so you want to add some zoom to your lens...if you are budget conscious but still want to try wildlife, potrait photography better start with this one.
It may be cheap but it does what's it's supposed to do.
First of all about VR and all that stabilization stuff, somebody below has said correctly, shoot with shutter speed 1/125 and more, it will be taken care of.
Most of our photography we do anyways in daylight, so maintaining that shutter speed with some ISO changes will not be an issue.
For Macro, it's good for flower close-ups only, it will not magnify the fly's eyes for you, but as it's a bonus I will not complain. For Macros though a tripod is recommended( which is applicable for most of the Macro lenses)
If you have used the 18-55 only till now, you will get more flexibilty an doptions while using this for potraits.
All in all I highly recommend it for first time buyers

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
22 Dec 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Used it On Nikon D5100 !!!!

Amazing product and faster delivery by the Flipcart, but didn't like the packaging done by the flipcart as it was very loose and lens could have got damaged.

I used it on Nikon D5100 and got amazing results from this lens. Just go for it if u need a high zoom at low cost and with better image quality :)

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page1234567Next Page
79 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
     Tamron AF 70 - 300 mm F/4-5.6 Di LD Macro for Nikon Digital SLR Lens (Standard Lens) Price in India: Rs. 7500

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...