Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Tea for Two and a Piece of Cake (English): Book

Book Reviews of Tea for Two and a Piece of Cake (English)

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 142 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
17 Feb 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Bold and Refreshingly Different !

Once again Preeti Shenoy has managed to surprise me. And How! Usually authors tend to follow the same pattern of thoughts and plot for all their books but this is where Preeti stands apart from the rest.

Tea for two and a piece of cake is very different from not only her earlier works but also from the other books in the market. As she had done with her previous book, Preeti dares to go off the beaten track once again, this time to explore different facets of human relationships, be it love or friendship.

Simply yet eloquently written, the story flows smoothly, but at a very fast pace. It is a gripping tale, and you really dont want to put the book down till you reach the end. But what really sets it apart is the way she has handled and described the intense emotional journey of the protagonists. As you read on, you realize the fragility and complexity of human relationships and that sometimes relationships just don't fall into the norms and regulations prescribed by our society- and it really does not matter that they don't !

Tea for two is not your regular love story about Love lost and found. This is a very bold and unconventional book; a book that explores the fabric of human relationships and forces you to question your very beliefs and perceptions about them.

Definitely worth a read !

74% of 19 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
23 Feb 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Good Read

I am wary of reading books by Indian Authors as they seem to be trying to prove to the world how cool they are, use some hip language and slang...and they think have a masala pot boiler on their hands.
I recently picked up Tea for two ...and started reading yesterday...And before I knew it I was staying up to finish the book...The story line is not unusual but Preeti's portrayal of the characters and her language warmed me up to the book.She uses simple language, isnt dramatic and seems to have her feet firmly on the ground.
The protaganist is a woman I can identify with, someone who I could be friends with and someone who has lived her life as she wants and doesnt make excuses for herself.She lives life on her own terms, whether she wants to go on a drinking binge,partying with a good looking guy or living it up in Bali or where ever..She made her bed and she likes it that way.
No rona dhona and gyaan in this book and no looking down on this woman's morals which is what I liked...With Preeti's writing it seems like we are moving towards an India where women can do as they please and be responsible for it without having to ponder about the world looking down upon them with dismay.
The second half of the book dragged and was predictable but still it was readable.
Its definitely a recommended read on a flight journey home or on a night you want to do some light reading

6 of 7 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
15 Mar 2013
Absolutely predictable and annoying

The book was very boring and didnt even require 10% of my attention span. Its quite a good book for people who love to do 3-4 things at once. You really dont need a brain to read this and it will not enrich your life in any possible way. Absolutely not recommended beyond a one time read. Use your money wisely!

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
18 Feb 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
~Get Ready With Your Tea~

Tea for two and a piece of cake, plus, of course, conversation... These small moments are what make life worthwhile.

The book starts in Mumbai, where the lead character ?????? Nisha-the-plump-plain-Jane lives. Her life takes an audacious turn in mesmerizing Bali leading to bizarre twist of events to happen again in Mumbai. A complete roller coaster emotional ride??????
The aromatic and apt portrait of a middle class and high class Indian society is commendable. You will see this world through the eyes of Nisha. Get ready with your tea as she will go on and on and on?????? There are moments when Nisha is talking to herself in her mind?????? that??????s the best part?????? Not a single word is going to bore you.

The characters are justified fittingly in their own way. The story is fast paced. Every chapter has something to talk about making the reader wonder what will happen next. I knew how the book will end but the writing style, the narration, and the way things happened one way or the other, kept me hooked. The language is simple. She writes in vibrant colors.

Trust in me in all you do
Have the faith I have in you
Love will see us through
If only you trust in me
Why don??????t you, you trust in me?
Come to me when things go wrong

Preeti righteously says, ??????Music always adds magic to love??????. This unusual story has all the chapter??????s titles with the names of the songs. I have heard some and have a vague idea about others. It did lead me to something which we call love (in a very unusual yet appreciative / obliged way). This concept will surely be cherished by all the readers.

4 of 5 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
22 Feb 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Perfectly Unusual!

To start with, let me remember you a statement that you would have heard or read "All is fair in war and love" (from the JAB WE MET- Movie).

The Film makers say "We have conceived the movie in a different dimension and blah blah blah".but those movies would have got one more spicy item dance and unwanted scenes. There would be few movies which actually mean it. We love it and the makers do mean what they say and this applies to this book

Before reading the book, I had no idea about the story.As I have read all preeti shenoy's books, I beleived that "this is gonna be something unusual" and It was. You would heard about this word "Triangular love story". I should say this "A Cup of Tea and Piece of cake" is a right angled triangular love story :) and you would know it at once you have read the book. The story has two parts and they are narrated with extra-ordinary situations with perfect vocabularies.

This Story revolves around Nisha,Samir,Aakash,some friends and Tea (:)). Nisha should be a girl we would identify in our neighbourhood.A girl who loves to be loved.A girl who loves his work and little emotional towards it

6 of 9 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
28 Jun 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
An OK read

Preeti shenoy writes nicely. But the plot is not novel.Its a typical modern indian movie plot.I liked her first novel "34 bubblegums and candies".Even the second one was fine".But the third one "Tea for two and a piece of cake does not have a twist in story line. It is a regular story.It would have been better if she would have written more about why the modern Indian generation are not giving values to a relationship and using it only for S------.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
17 Jun 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Very well narrated story!

I got this book ordered from Flipkart and as usual they gave me a quick delivery within 1 day.

I have previously read other books from the same author and they were brilliant. So I decided to read this novel and it lives upto the reputation.
I finished reading the entire book in just 2 days. The story is so well narrated I couldn't keep the book down. At the end of each chapter you are left with the curiosity to know what happens next. Its not like one of those books where you have to keep a dictionary next to you to understand the meaning of the sentences. The author has used very simple English in a very effective way.

I have indeed enjoyed reading this book.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
07 Jun 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Some books just leave an impact

I was at the doctor's clinic and saw this girl reading "Tea for two and piece of cake". Being a literature person I could not resist asking her to give me the book just to scroll.

I read like a page and was glued, ofcoure the next best option was to buy it from Flipkart, I loved the reviews about this book and trust me its an awesome read.

There are some books which look like movies and surely this is one masterpiece. I am not into coffee table book reading but Priti Shenoy has made me one and I am happy :-)I just could not keep the book down and read it like a maniac.
Worth every rupee spent!

The next best thing I did was order "Life is what you make it"

Great Job Priti! I am your fan.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
18 Mar 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
A good read but lost the plot somewhere

Sometimes what we do for time pass turns out to be a profession in long term. This book of preeti shenoy is totally different compared to other fiction stories which revolve around love; this book of her reflects the current state of almost every woman who loses her identity after marriage.

I like the songs which preeti has used at appropriate situations and also the character of Mrs. B & Akash they play their part perfectly along with Tanya who is a good daughter and doesn??????t trouble her mom at all. Only thing which I didn??????t appreciate was Akash from being a good friend slowly getting involved in sex and later it turned out to be a live-in affair.

It was a story of every girl who doesn??????t know what she needs from life after marriage...They get so much engrossed in their day to day life that they didn??????t have time for each other which later turns out to be a sour relation. It also shows how much important communication is between two couples which Samir & Nisha lacked.

Lot of decisions which Nisha took was instant and not well thought out, something which doesn??????t work in reality. It??????s interesting how she fights to survive with two kids. Preeti somewhere lost the plot although Nisha was able to get her identity back. Overall it was a good read although it could have been best. I would rate it 4 out of 5.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
13 Mar 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Great read.....she's done it again!

A lot has been said about the story so I'm just gonna talk about my experience with the book..
I have read all of Preeti Shenoy's books and placed an order for this one on flipkart before its release. The book arrived and as soon as I opened it, I was overjoyed to find that I'd received a copy signed by the author herself!
Well about the book, I know it has been said a lot of times in the other reviews but to state the obvious....this IS the kind of book you cannot put down without reading it from cover to cover! As soon as I finished it I was hungry for more....Can't wait for her next book already!
A great read for the women out there and a good insight into a woman's mind for the men....

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page1234567Next Page
142 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
    Book: Tea for Two and a Piece of Cake (English) by PREETI SHENOY
    ISBN Number: 8184002793, 9788184002799, 978-8184002799

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...