Cart (0)
Digital Cart (0)
Transcend MP870 8 GB MP3 Player: Home Audio & MP3 Players

Reviews of Transcend MP870 8 GB MP3 Player

'Top Reviews' lists the most relevant product reviews only. Show ALL instead?
Showing 1-10 of 50 reviews
★★★★★
★★★★★
20 Aug 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Cheap but Impressive

First of all, my appreciation to the ever prompt flipkart services. kudos to them i got it in 3 days. I got it in a neat package. Looks pretty good. this is my 2nd player from transcend. It has pretty good features for such a price. I quickly pushed some tracks into it to check it, let me tell you the ear phones are awful. Instead i used my Philips ear buds (got them for Rs.850) which worked superbly. The best thing about this player is its User Edit EQ and the SRS WOW HD is simply awesome.

Line in recording and the voice recording are good too. I really don't care about other features like pic,vid or ebook. Who watches them on this tiny screen at a low resolution.

Finally.....my verdict 4/5
Design....4/5
Audio Playback...4/5
Recording.......3.5/5
Features.....4/5
Price..5/5

97% of 30 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
27 Nov 2011
Excellent Value for Money

I did not buy this product from Flipkart. Bought it locally from a store when it first came out.

I've had this model for three years now. Still works great. The earplugs have worn out a bit with time and yet they function very well. The battery lasts for at least two days with 7 to 8 hours of use each day. Does not get hot. Does not have software issues. Decent sound and picture quality. I have dropped it dozens of time. Once, it even dragged on the road for a bit because it fell out of my bag while i was riding my bike and the ear plugs stuck on the zipper. Despite the abuse, it had no cracks or problems. Never given me any problems, in fact.

If you want something simple to store your pics and for music and movies on the go, i highly recommend this one. It's cheaper than most of the other branded crap out there, very sturdy, and has a lot more memory than is usually offered at this price. The ear phone jack is universal so you can use your better quality ear phones if you don't like what comes with it. My only gripe is that the cord of the ear phones is too short. Otherwise, i give it two thumbs up.

94% of 17 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
20 Sep 2011
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Excellent service

Very satisfies with the service offered.The product was delivered within 24hrs..it was surprising.

Overall the player is good..but i found the sound to be bit low if somehow really likes high pitch.Also the responce is bit slow if the memory is close to full...

9 of 10 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
16 May 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
For what its worth

I had first ordered for a Zebronics Mupic player which was horrible, Flipkart has an amazing return policy, All I did was call them and they showed up at my door in two days and picked it up and credited the amount back to my wallet.

I then researched the website & ordered for this one.

I got it earlier today. Very compact, Strong looking, Comes with a silicon cover, screen-guard, neck-strap, Line-in cable, USB cable and earphones,.. The earphones suck but the player is good. has a built in speaker as well. Sound quality is very good, Video quality is also very good, I have a samsung android phone and the quality of video is almost similar, just that the size of the screen is smaller.

Recording is very good, In-Line recording helps you rip off music from FM and also Internet radio on Shoutcast if you connect it to your phone,.

Battery life is good, Have been using it for the past 6 hours and its still at full charge.

The only reason why I'd give it 4/5 instead of 5/5 is because it takes time to play a song once you select one from a folder. When you go to the next/previous song, It happens instantly like an apple ipod but when you select a song for the first time in a folder(each time u choose to play a song from a folder), It takes nearly 10-15 seconds for the song to start playing.

All in all, I'm happy with the product and highly recommend it.

6 of 7 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
22 Mar 2012
Decent Mp3 player for a good price

Firstly, I would like to thank Flipkart for providing some excellent delivery. I got this flat in 24 hrs time which is outstanding when we consider online ordering of products. Secondly, the flipkart website keeps improving with new features, which is again keeping it ahead of its competition.

The MP870 is a good mp3/mp4 player option. It holds in the hand as much as a normal mobile phone. It comes with a rubber protection for the exterior body. The display size is very good for something of this price from transcend. The videos are a bit slow to load, but do get played. The audio is good and so is the voice recorder facility. I particularly chose this model for the voice recorder option. The link in option is also cool and the audio output without the ear plugs is decent. All in all, a good mp3 player for this price with packed features.

Pros
1. The number of features provided in this device is excellent. Audio, Video, Photos, Slideshow, wallpaper, Voice Recording, FM Recording, Inline recording and much more.
2. The audio quality is pretty good but may be the ear plugs can be changed for better clarity.
3. Handy device tha does not slip through your hand. It comes with a neck tag
also, incase you want to have it tagged to your neck.
4. Price. I researched the net and found mp3 players with voice recorder options available from Sony and Phillips for nothing less than Rs 6.5k. So, this is a very good deal compared to all those, if you are looking for this budget one.
5. He has the delete option for files as well which is very good.
6. 8GB storage capacity is simply superb for this price.

Cons
1. The buttons are a bit rigid. May be they will get better once I use them more. It only arrived today.
2. User Interface can be improved a bit.
3. Video playing sometimes is slow. I tried playing mp4's not the regular avi's.

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
19 Oct 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Good Music Quality at Cheap Price... But sure has it's drawbacks

I bought this almost a year ago (from FLIPKART), as a backup to my iPod classic (also 8GB). I have been using it since and while it obviously doesn't compare to the iPod, it's a great mp3 player at its price.

The music quality is good, has 11 equalizer modes (2 customizable) & 7 shuffle modes. It receives FM quite well and you can save stations. The headphones that come with it are good but not the in-ear type. This means that it leaks a lot of noise. I have used it mostly with Sony in-ear canal headphones & a Phillips headphone. The performance varies from one to another and you might have to reset the equalizer for each.
It supports up to 32GB of external memory, so it???s quite useful if u want to store a large library. (Be warned that it displays all songs from all folders together).
The mp4 playback is surprisingly good & you can connect it via USB & play from it like a regular pen drive (it shows 2 separate drives for internal & external memories).
It???s NOT good for storing pictures or reading eBooks (IT DOESN???T SUPPORT PDF FORMAT & YOU CAN ONLY VIEW NOTEPAD FILES ON IT).
It takes a long time to get full charge. Also, it only recharges via USB & there is no USB charger in the box.
MY VERDICT ??? Go for it if you want a cheap mp3 player with external storage but don???t be expecting miracles. After all, keep in mind its price tag.

3 of 3 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
24 Jul 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Good Product . Nice Audio Quality

I bought this device from WS Retail. My second purchase from this retailer on Flipkart.
About this device:-
1.Excellent Battery Life.
2.Monstrous internal memory. I mean 8 GB is more than enough if only media files are to be considered. Plus it has support of external SD card upto 32 GB too.
3.Audio quality is very good for this price. I think only next to I Pod devices considering its price.
4.Ear Phones are decent. With good quality. In Ear buds could have been there but still no problem with audio experience. Its quite good. The only problem there is, sound leakage at higher volumes. Ear Phones are good for all frequencies. Bass could have been better but given price range with memory of device it is still good. For better bass experience of songs prefer other earphones/headsets with good bass.
5.Supports most of the media file formats specially FLAC for audio. Its good to hear to lossless audio at this price with 8 GB memory.

In the nutshell its a very good device pegged at this price for 1. 8 GB memory+support to external memory too, 2.Good battery life, 3.Good Sound quality, 4.Decent earphones.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
25 Feb 2014
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Best deal for the price -- really worth it !!

Firstly, hats off to Flipkart for their prompt service in delivering the product. Their impeccable style of delivery makes them best in the online store. Secondly, though this product is bit cheap compare to other mp3 players and as well as ipod , but I found this product is the best ever deal one can get. If one wants to be really worth it paying for any product then this is it, as it has very good quality in sound and as well as clarity.

This has additional features like storing pics and it's very nice to have something like this. And there has been a lot of talk about the bad quality of ear phone but when I listened the music at first I was impressed and I don't really see any problem with the ear phone at all, however, if one needs some extraordinary effect of the music then they should upgrade as I cannot compare this with something like creative, bose etc... Last but not the least, the device is as cool as it fits well inside your pocket and no hustle at all unlike with the other devices, so i'm sure most of the people will like it.

0 of 0 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
11 Jul 2013
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
MP3 Player Comparison of Transcend MP630, MP330, MP870

# There were two Rec environments to choose in MP630, meeting and memo. The recording in MP330 & MP870 is between these two Rec environments of MP630. There is some bass enhancement while recording through internal mic in MP330 & MP870. Bass enhancement not checked in "Line in" of MP330 & MP870, it must be present. The feature of external mic in MP630 is really good which is absent in both MP330 and MP870. Recording in MP330 is done at 64Kbps wth Linein or mic, in MP630 at 352Kbps with Line in and 176Kbps with Mic (internal or external), in Mp870 at 256 Kbps with Line in and 128Kbps with mic.
# While transfering files/data via USB MP870 is fastest amongst MP610, MP330, MP630, data trasfere takes place with almost same speed in MP330& MP630
# When comparing the response time in MP630 & MP330 & MP870, MP630 is fastest and MP330 is slowest be it navigation, playing files, saving the recordings etc.
# Surprisingly MP630 is unable to play files recorded in MP870 where as MP870 and MP330 Plays files recorded in all the three MP:- 870, 630, 330
# Listening to music is good in MP-330, 610, 630, 870 but best in MP870, when compared with MP-330, 610, 630, 870
# One good feature in MP870 is the option of either data transfer or Play when charging.
Navigation requires some practice, it would have been good if one button specifically provided for home screen.

0 of 1 users found this review helpful.
★★★★★
★★★★★
30 May 2012
The 'certified buyer' badge indicates that this user has purchased this product on flipkart.com.
certified buyer
Good for its price maybe, but could be better

I bought this item as a gift for someone. I went for this coz I have used Transcend mp3 player since 2006, when a two line lcd with AAA battery 2GB mp3 player of Transcend used to cost around Rs 5K. Now these gadgets became cheap, players like iPod (and touch) came into picture, competition increased. At the same time the technology became available to China market too; as a result of that we see enormous number of brands selling mp3 players of different price range and accordingly quality. Now for this particular thing,

I choose it based on my previous experiance, but I am sorry to say that it failed to keep my expectations.

-My 2GB transcend mp3 player (which still works) of 2006 has way better sound quality than this 2011 product, but it has above average sound quality if you pair it with a better headphone/earphone.
-Menu navigation is not as intuitive as its competetors.
-8GB inbuilt memory is a good part in this price and having a slot for expantion is excellent.
-Build quality is also average and feels very plasticy.
-Nothing bad about the FM and its reception.
-supplied headphone is the first thing to discard if music is your soul.
-one good thing to say, it never hangs like some of the Creative and Cowon players does.

Will recommend this only if you are an occational music listener and do not want to spend much for that. Other wise better go for sony or similar.

0 of 1 users found this review helpful.
Previous Page12345Next Page
50 items found. Showing upto 10 items per page.
     Transcend MP870 8 GB MP3 Player (White) Price in India: Rs. 3699

PAYMENT METHOD

POWERED BY
Loading ...