All Reviews
    Overall 
    4.5
    174 Ratings &
    12 Reviews
    • 5
       114
    • 4
       42
    • 3
       16
    • 2
       0
    • 1
       2
    5

    Magnum Opus

    The eminent historian Ramachandra Guha's latest book, 'Gandhi Before India' will radically alter our understanding and appreciation of one of the greatest human beings to have ever lived. Based on a wealth of new and original research, this magnum opus explores the dramatic and profoundly moving experiments of the iconoclast truth seeker, Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi.
    READ MORE

    Francis Kuriakose

    Certified Buyer

    6 Oct, 2013

    13
    2
    Report Abuse
    5

    Gandhi Before India

    Really a good read about the man whom we know as the father of our nation.
    It gives a detail about how this man became the Mahatma as we know him now.
    Great write sir!
    Flip kart packaging, again, superb!!!
    READ MORE

    Kishore

    Certified Buyer

    13 May, 2014

    2
    0
    Report Abuse
    5

    magic

    another one added to the tally of guha's magic .comprehensive analyst.great work!!!!!!
    tribute to bapu on his birthday.a complete whole set of Gandhi giri embedded in to the pages of this fine work
    READ MORE

    SHUBHENDU SHARMA

    Certified Buyer

    6 Oct, 2013

    4
    3
    Report Abuse
    3

    Good but not captivating

    I expected it to be a masterpiece like India after Gandhi, so may be, I was left a little disappointed. It gives a fair account about our struggles in the African Nation and the spirit of patriotism shown by the various countrymen who helped the cause from time to time. This book takes us through the journey of Gandhi from a struggler to a person of repute. Do not expect anything, and you shall enjoy.
    READ MORE

    Tarun Bagri

    Certified Buyer

    2 Jun, 2015

    0
    0
    Report Abuse
    3

    Nice

    Thorough history of Gandhi before coming to India. One should not expect much of later phase, because there is none. Gives new insight, found it good.
    READ MORE

    Flipkart Customer

    Certified Buyer

    26 Dec, 2017

    0
    0
    Report Abuse
    5

    Great insight!

    Bought this after reading Mr. Guha's India After Gandhi. Initially thought this wouldn't be as interesting as India After Gandhi, but I was pleasantly surprised. Mr. Guha has expertly chronicled Gandhi's early life before he returned to India and joined the Indian freedom struggle. This book has certainly enhanced my appreciation for the life, work and importance of Gandhi. Something I hope the rest of my current generation gets a chance to be aware aware of as well.
    READ MORE

    Viv O

    Certified Buyer

    12 Nov, 2014

    0
    0
    Report Abuse
    4

    Know real Gandhi and making of Mahatma

    Guha was able to show us how Gandhi transformed from a young Gujarati lawyer to a Mahatma through the perspective on Gandhi and his initiatives in various aspects of life, politics, human relations, religion, etc. from his followers, his critics, his friends and foes, contemporary biographers. A book which provokes you to do what Gandhi did. A book which shows naked nationalism, selflessness, love for dignity to all, a courage par excellence and a movement (Passive resistance) which changed t...
    READ MORE

    Ankur Pogula

    Certified Buyer

    12 May, 2014

    0
    0
    Report Abuse
    5

    Mind Blowing

    One of the best book I have ever read. I started reading it by thinking that it will take ages for me to read the entire book. But the information was so interesting that I could not stop myself from reading it and finished it within weeks. A must read for Mahatma Gandhi lovers.
    READ MORE

    Dipankar Biswas

    Certified Buyer

    28 Mar, 2014

    0
    0
    Report Abuse
    5

    Worth reading

    Another well researched book from Ramchandra Guha. Although its a biography from a historian, it is not like one fact after the other. It reads in flow. No jargon. A worth reading for all those wanting to understand making of Gandhiji.
    READ MORE

    Raghunandan Velankar

    Certified Buyer

    28 Mar, 2014

    0
    0
    Report Abuse
    5

    Must read book...

    Without doubt this is the best book written about Gandhiji's life prior to his return to India..
    Ramchandra guha is one the most insightful historian this is a thoroughly researched and well written book.. And coming to Flipkart services, I am just loving it..
    READ MORE

    Vikram Patil

    Certified Buyer

    3 Feb, 2014

    0
    0
    Report Abuse
    Page 1 of 2
    Back to top