Miss Jane

Miss Jane  (English, Paperback, Brad Watson)

Be the first to Review this product
₹355
399
11% off
Hurry, Only 4 left!
  • Bank OfferExtra 5% off* with Axis Bank Buzz Credit Card
    T&C
  • Delivery
    Check
    Enter pincode
      Usually delivered in6-7 days
      ?
      Enter pincode for exact delivery dates/charges
    View Details
    Author
    Read More
    Highlights
    • Language: English
    • Binding: Paperback
    • Publisher: Pan Macmillan UK
    • Genre: Fiction
    • ISBN: 9781509834334, 1509834338
    • Edition: 2017
    • Pages: 288
    Services
    • 10 Days Replacement Policy
      ?
    • Cash on Delivery available
      ?
    Seller
    ASInternational
    3.4
    Announcement
    Seller changed. Check for any changes in pricing and related information.
  • View more sellers starting from 269
  • Description
    The acclaimed author of Last Days of the Dog-Men and The Heaven of Mercury brings to life a forgotten woman and a lost world in a strange and bittersweet pastoral; a life of quiet nobility and dignity lived against the background of the American century. For readers of Lori Lansens' The Girls, Fannie Flagg's Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café and Robert Seethaler's A Whole Life.
    'As unexpectedly beguiling as it is affecting.' Daily Mail
    Since his award-winning debut collection of stories, Last Days of the Dog-Men, Brad Watson's work has been as melancholy, witty, strange, and lovely as any in America. Inspired by the true story of his own great-aunt, he explores the life of Miss Jane Chisolm, born in rural, early-twentieth-century Mississippi with a genital birth defect that would stand in the way of the central "uses" for a woman in that time and place-namely, sex and marriage.
    From the country doctor who adopts Jane to the hard tactile labor of farm life, from the sensual and erotic world of nature around her to the boy who loved but was forced to leave her, the world of Miss Jane Chisolm is anything but barren. Free to satisfy only herself, she mesmerizes those around her, exerting an unearthly fascination that lives beyond her still.

    About the Author

    Brad Watson Teaches creative writing at the University of Wyoming, Laramie. His first collection, Last Days of the Dog-Men, won the Sue Kaufman Award for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters; his first novel, The Heaven of Mercury, was shortlisted for the National Book Award, and his second story collection Aliens in the Prime of Their Lives was shortlisted for the PEN / Faulkner Award for Fiction.
    'Watson's talent is singular, truly awesome; he reminds me of Raymond Carver, Flannery O'Connor, Chris Offutt in his bravery, his unflinching willingness to look at what might set others running.' A.M. Homes
    'Superb... Watson... has a great heart, and this great heart has made him a great writer.' Independent
    Read More
    Specifications
    Book Details
    Imprint
    • Picador
    Publication Year
    • 2017 July
    Book Type
    • Fiction Book
    Contributors
    Authored By
    • Brad Watson
    Additional Features
    Age Group
    • 18 - 99 Years
    Dimensions
    Width
    • 5.1 inches
    Height
    • 7.7 inches
    Have doubts regarding this product?
    Safe and Secure Payments.Easy returns.100% Authentic products.
    Back to top