Time Stops at Shamli (collection of more than 20 stories from India by award-winning writer Ruskin Bond, creator of the popular books like Room on the Roof The Beauty of All My Days and many more)

Time Stops at Shamli (collection of more than 20 stories from India by award-winning writer Ruskin Bond, creator of the popular books like Room on the Roof The Beauty of All My Days and many more) (English, Paperback, Bond Ruskin)

Share

Time Stops at Shamli (collection of more than 20 stories from India by award-winning writer Ruskin Bond, creator of the popular books like Room on the Roof The Beauty of All My Days and many more)  (English, Paperback, Bond Ruskin)

4.5
793 Ratings & 61 Reviews
Special price
₹154
199
22% off
i
Available offers
  • Special PriceGet extra 22% off (price inclusive of cashback/coupon)
    T&C
  • Bank Offer10% off on Indian Bank Mastercard Debit Cards, up to ₹250. On orders of ₹2000 and above
    T&C
  • Bank Offer5% Cashback on Flipkart Axis Bank Card
    T&C
  • Buy this Product and Get Extra ₹500 Off on Two-Wheelers
    T&C
  • Delivery
    Check
    Enter pincode
      Delivery by11 Feb, Saturday|62
      ?
    View Details
    Author
    Read More
    Highlights
    • Language: English
    • Binding: Paperback
    • Publisher: Penguin Random House India
    • Genre: Fiction
    • ISBN: 9780140128420, 0140128425
    • Pages: 184
    Services
    • Cash on Delivery available
      ?
    Seller
    Skycart
    4.1
    • 7 Days Replacement Policy
      ?
  • See other sellers
  • Description

    Time Stops at Shamli and Other Stories, written by Ruskin Bond, is a brilliant collection of stories from the less known lands of India.

    Summary of the Book

    Ardent fans of Ruskin Bond know that most of the characters in his books live in humble villages and towns. They are the unsung heroes who quietly fight against their daily qualms and immense personal losses and not even gloat about it. Bond’s stories delicately bring out the grace in such innate struggles of the underprivileged, of the laymen and of the valued and honest souls. The stories are evocative in a way that they inspire us to realize that misery can be dealt with dignity, without having to create a mess of ourselves and others. Some of the poignant, melancholic and delightful stories included in this collection are The Room of Many Colours, Listen to the Wind, Whispering in the Dark, The Summer Season, Masterji, Going Home, The Fight, and The Last Truck Ride among others.

    About Ruskin Bond

    Ruskin Bond was born Himachal Pradesh, India. He is the recipient of the most prestigious Indian awards like the Padma Shri, Padma Bhushan, and Sahitya Akademi Award among other recognitions. His contribution to children’s literature in India is specially recognized by the Indian Council for Child Education. His autobiography, Rain in the Mountains is an intense account of his life and Scenes from a Writer’s Life talks about the young Ruskin. Some of his books are adapted as films and TV series, which have won many awards. Garland of Memories, Rain in the Mountain-Notes from the Himalayas, A Face in the Dark and Other Hauntings, Vagrants in the Valley and Other Poems, and Once upon a Monsoon Time are some of his other works.

    Read More
    Specifications
    Book Details
    Imprint
    • Penguin
    Contributors
    Author Info
    • Ruskin Bond's first novel, The Room on the Roof, written when he was seventeen, won the John Llewellyn Rhys Memorial Prize in 1957. Since then he has written several novellas (including Vagrants in the Valley, A Flight of Pigeons and Delhi Is Not Far), essays, poems and children's books, many of which have been published by Penguin India.He has also written over 500 short stories and articles that have appeared in a number of magazines and anthologies.He received the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1993 and the Padma Shri in 1999.
    Dimensions
    Width
    • 8 mm
    Height
    • 197 mm
    Length
    • 128 mm
    Weight
    • 155 gr
    Frequently Bought Together
    1 Item
    154
    1 Add-on
    223
    Total
    377
    Ratings & Reviews
    4.5
    793 Ratings &
    61 Reviews
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 529
    • 180
    • 40
    • 20
    • 24
    + 17
    5

    Awesome

    Extract

    Early to bed and early to rise'makes a crow healthy,wealthy and wise.
    They say it is true for humans too.

    As human beings multiply,so does their rubbish.

    I understand you want a crow
    To poison,shoot or smother
    My fond salaams,but by your leave
    Allow me then,to introduce
    My most respected brother.

    'even the crow sings better than Uncle'said the boy.
    A truthful boy;but all he got for his honesty was a whack on the head from his uncle.
    READ MORE

    Anwesha Panda

    Mar, 2012

    18
    1
    Report Abuse
    5

    Brilliant

    Very good book for children. Ruskin Bond has always been considered as one of the best children's books authors. Shipping was fast and condition of book and packaging was great.
    READ MORE

    Manish K R

    Certified Buyer, Patna

    Sep, 2017

    5
    0
    Report Abuse
    5

    Mind-blowing purchase

    It is an amazing book, well written. Another gem from Ruskin Bond. I cried reading the first story 'The Funeral'. Such are the stories, full of simplicity, innocence and little nuances of human. The small town life is incredibly described. A must buy
    READ MORE

    Trupti Jamalpure

    Certified Buyer, Mumbai

    Mar, 2018

    3
    1
    Report Abuse
    5

    Terrific purchase

    Too good quality.I am heavily satisfied with the quality. And the delivery was also good.
    READ MORE

    Ratul Singha

    Certified Buyer, Madhyamgram

    Nov, 2019

    6
    0
    Report Abuse
    4

    About

    ONLY for Ruskin Bond Lovers.....................................
    READ MORE

    Sagar Negi

    Certified Buyer, Rishikesh

    Aug, 2016

    7
    1
    Report Abuse
    5

    Mesmerizing!

    Rusking's writing is as simple as rain drop's touch. The touch does have a feeling and you may not deny its sensation. It is tidal, tickling, tying. Of course time stops at shamli but you'll be unstoppable when you take a ride with Pritam Singh and Nathu in The Last truck Ride.
    Most Beautiful surely does make you to search at least inside whether The Fight complementing with humorous aspect of friendship. Masterji helps you to bring back your lost smile.
    With many heart warming, potential s...
    READ MORE

    Vishal Shrivastwa

    May, 2012

    12
    4
    Report Abuse
    5

    Classy product

    Good binding and content
    READ MORE

    Arnab Sarkar

    Certified Buyer, Kolkata

    Sep, 2021

    2
    0
    Report Abuse
    5

    Super!

    Nice book for beginners and who love ruskin bond
    READ MORE

    Anmol Thapa

    Certified Buyer, Ghaziabad

    Dec, 2020

    1
    0
    Report Abuse
    4

    Worth the money

    Good book service was also good but hte packing could have been better. The book quality was nice. But one of the edge of the book was wrinkled. Otherwise the page and font quality is amazing. But the font small for sure
    READ MORE

    Dipti Jani

    Certified Buyer, Ahmedabad

    Oct, 2020

    1
    0
    Report Abuse
    5

    Highly recommended

    Superb!
    READ MORE

    Soumajit Das

    Certified Buyer, Garulia

    Mar, 2020

    1
    0
    Report Abuse
    +
    All 61 reviews
    Questions and Answers
    Q:what kind of book this is ? how is the paper quality? does this book have book mark ?
    A:This is a series of Short Stories from the author's life. It'll make you feel nostalgic. Paper quality is good but does not have book mark.
    Nirban Bose
    Certified Buyer
    6
    0
    Report Abuse
    Read other answers
    Q:How many short stories are there in this book ??
    A:21 stories
    Tapas Biswas
    Certified Buyer
    2
    0
    Report Abuse
    Q:is the book with pictures?
    A:No
    Anonymous
    Certified Buyer
    2
    2
    Report Abuse
    Q:Is it easy to read??
    A:Yes a good one
    Flipkart Customer
    Certified Buyer
    1
    0
    Report Abuse
    Q:How many pages it has?
    A:180 pages in total
    Flipkart Customer
    Certified Buyer
    0
    0
    Report Abuse
    Read other answers
    Q:does it has book mark with it?
    A:No
    PRISMKOCHI
    Flipkart Seller
    0
    0
    Report Abuse
    Read other answers
    Q:will it supply book mark with it?
    A:no
    Anonymous
    Certified Buyer
    0
    0
    Report Abuse
    Q:what is the book really about , which topic ??
    A:This volume brings together the best of Ruskin Bond’s prose and poetry. For over four decades, by way of innumerable novels, essays, short stories and poems.
    SPECTRALE
    Flipkart Seller
    0
    0
    Report Abuse
    Read other answers
    Q:Does it include a free bookmark?
    A:Yes it does
    satya parida
    Certified Buyer
    0
    0
    Report Abuse
    Q:Can a 9 yr girl read this book
    A:no .. Typical ...and .. difficult word with phrases are used ... which make it difficult to understand .....it is only for the adolescent age guys...
    Abhishek Singh
    Certified Buyer
    3
    3
    Report Abuse
    Safe and Secure Payments.Easy returns.100% Authentic products.
    You might be interested in
    Other Literature Books
    Min. 50% Off
    Shop Now
    Society And Culture Books
    Min. 50% Off
    Shop Now
    Religion And Belief Books
    Min. 50% Off
    Shop Now
    Plays
    Min. 50% Off
    Shop Now
    Back to top