Wonder That Was India
4.5
1,037 Ratings & 74 Reviews
₹599
User Images
All Reviews for Wonder That Was India
4.5
1,037 Ratings &
74 Reviews
  • 5
     689
  • 4
     238
  • 3
     62
  • 2
     17
  • 1
     31
4

A wonder indeed!

Was not much interested in buying a history of India written by a non Indian. My friends studying history recommended the book and I just thought of giving it a try. I had certain apprehensions regarding the content that it would be another affront on the culture and tradition of Ancient India by apathetic official writers of colonial age. Was I mistaken? Yes and big time. Had I maintained my prejudice, I would have lost a wonderful opportunity to understand and take pride in my own culture.
...
READ MORE

srinath iyer

Certified Buyer

15 Mar, 2012

50
27
Report Abuse
5

best book for ancient india

this book is useful for UPSC history optional, not necessary for preliminaries. whoever wants to know about ancient indian history,this book is like a bible for them. eminent historians like romila thappar quote's from this book. but i feel, as the book is too old and many research have been carried out in the past 2 decades,you cant find details regarding recently excavated archaeological sites and new theories.
READ MORE

shashank

Certified Buyer, New Delhi

11 Mar, 2014

23
11
Report Abuse
5

dig into your past and wonder that was india:)

Brilliantly written* by A.L.Basham, who taught the Noted Historian Ms Romila Thapar...a must read for every Indian...delivered express speed by Flipkart in New Delhi(w/o bubble packing:(...my dad and i are rekindling our book reading and adding on to our home library from Flipkart...as always i wish they give 30-40-50% discount on ALL BOOKS so we can order more...at least two-books-a-week:):):)...*=with some mistakes which my Sanskrit Scholar Dad noticed i.e translations of Sanskrit and Hind...
READ MORE

manish dixit

Certified Buyer

12 Jul, 2012

16
9
Report Abuse
1

Not worth spending a penny

Not so good book. Started with much expectation and found the old rant of english men.
Most of his proposition has been proven wrong through modern archeology, dna tests and linguistic.

Even most of the points that have been made were not based on reasoning and evidence available even in those days. Most of the matter is prejudiced and based upon Christian Theology and perception.

There are much better books on the same topic, one can go through 'Relegion as knowledge' etc
READ MORE

Ankur

Certified Buyer

30 Oct, 2013

11
14
Report Abuse
5

Incredible India Revisited :)

This book is more than just a historical reference or a stock of events. It is a work of religious research and understanding of the historical times which are presented quite intelligently knitted together. Reading this book is like visiting a museum where one can see and feel, such is the magic of the content of this book that you would feel that your are almost there.


Detailing is good at places and unnecessary text is avoided as well. A good read for students on history/scholars and as...
READ MORE

Lalit Sangar

Certified Buyer

8 Aug, 2012

3
2
Report Abuse
5

The best book i have read

My dad had bought this book long ago and i got a chance to read it in 2003.Even today I remember things i had read in this book.It book gives an insight into the way indian culture developed over the centuries.A must read book for everyone !!
READ MORE

Prashanth Paramahans

4 Jan, 2012

3
2
Report Abuse
4

Really Nice

Could be called as " father book " of ancient history of India.
READ MORE

vyshakh Gopinadhan

Certified Buyer, Palakkad

16 Feb, 2019

1
0
Report Abuse
5

Brilliant

You'll love it
READ MORE

Pown kumar

Certified Buyer, Thiruvannamalai

25 Jan, 2018

1
0
Report Abuse
5

Just wow!

Amazing book good read for everyone irrespective of you r a student or not.
READ MORE

Snehlata Jha

Certified Buyer, Guna

8 Oct, 2017

0
0
Report Abuse
5

The Best to start with...

If you are interested in Indian History and wants to start with an honest & attractive account of ancient Indians, then A L Basham is a perfect man to start with.
READ MORE

Harshawardhan Singh

Certified Buyer, Kolkata

18 Jan, 2015

1
0
Report Abuse
Page 1 of 8
Back to top