The Joy of X
Get notified when this item comes back in stock.
Share

The Joy of X  (English, Paperback, Strogatz Steven)

4.1
12 Ratings & 1 Reviews
₹399
499
20% off
Sold Out
This item is currently out of stock
Author
Read More
Highlights
  • Language: English
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Atlantic Books
  • Genre: Mathematics
  • ISBN: 9781848878440, 9781848878440
  • Pages: 240
Description
Award-winning Steven Strogatz, one of the foremost popularisers of maths, has written a witty and fascinating account of maths' most compelling ideas and how, so often, they are an integral part of everyday life. How should you flip your mattress to get the maximum wear out of it? How many people should you date before settling down? How does Google search the internet? Why does the stock market swing so often, and so wildly? Maths is everywhere, often where we don't even realise. Award-winning professor Steven Strogatz acts as our guide as he takes us on a tour of numbers that - unbeknownst to the unitiated - connect pop culture, literature, art, philosophy, current affairs, business and even every day life. In "The Joy of X", Strogatz explains the great ideas of maths - from negative numbers to calculus, fat tails to infinity - with clarity, wit and insight. He is the maths teacher you never had and this book is perfect for the smart and curious, the expert and the beginner. It is suitable for readers of Ian Stewart's Professor Stewart's "Cabinet of Mathematical Curiosities", Alex Bellos' "Alex's Adventures in Numberland", Marcus de Sautoy's "The Number Mysteries".
Read More
Specifications
Book Details
Imprint
  • Atlantic Books
Publication Year
  • November
Dimensions
Height
  • 210 mm
Length
  • 148 mm
Ratings & Reviews
4.1
12 Ratings &
1 Reviews
  • 5
     5
  • 4
     5
  • 3
     1
  • 2
     0
  • 1
     1
5

Great Book

This is one of the great book I have ever had, first time enjoyed the mathematics in life. Author simplified the subject to a great extent.
READ MORE

Rajkumar Hooda

Certified Buyer, Jaipur

Mar, 2014

0
0
Report Abuse
Have doubts regarding this product?
Safe and Secure Payments.Easy returns.100% Authentic products.
You might be interested in
Applied Sciences and Other Technologies Books
Special Offers
Shop Now
Society and Culture Books
Special Offers
Shop Now
Other Children Books
Top Offers
Shop Now
School Textbooks
Special Offers
Shop Now
Back to top